Numerous Rock And Metal Guitarists To Take Part In Fundraiser For Jason Becker

Numerous rock and metal guitarists will be teaming up to raise money for legendary guitarist Jason Becker, who has been battling ALS for over 30 years. The fundraiser will take place throughout March and April and it will be hosted by DragonForce‘s Herman Li.

Here’s what the fundraiser will include:

“1) A livestream telethon-style fundraiser on Twitch: special guests will appear on Herman Li’s Twitch channel to play, jam and participate in fan-generated challenges with all money raised going directly to Jason’s medical trust. Over $13,000 has been raised so far. Visit or for a full schedule of livestream guests.

2) Artists will donate signed guitars, merch and other rare items which will be sold via a special Reverb shop to benefit Jason. Details to be announced.

3) Three of Jason’s most important guitars will be auctioned off later this year, including the guitars seen on the covers of “Perpetual Burn”, “Speed Metal Symphony” and the original “Numbers” guitar played by Eddie Van Halen. Details to be announced.”

Here’s the musicians that will be taking part:

  • Marty Friedman (ex-Megadeth)
  • Steve Vai
  • Joe Satriani
  • Steve Lukather (Toto)
  • Mark Tremonti (Alter Bridge, Tremonti)
  • John Petrucci (Dream Theater)
  • Kiko Loureiro (Megadeth)
  • Tosin Abasi (Animals As Leaders)
  • Nita Strauss (Alice Cooper)
  • Orianthi
  • Devin Townsend
  • David Ellefson (Megadeth)
  • Michael Angelo Batio
  • Guthrie Govan
  • Tim Henson (Polyphia)
  • Alex Skolnick (Testament)
  • Albert Lee
  • Matt Heafy (Trivium)
  • Zoltan Bathory (Five Finger Death Punch)
  • Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (Sons Of Apollo, ex-Guns N’ Roses)
  • Satchel (Steel Panther)
  • John 5 (Rob Zombie)
  • Gus G (Firewind)
  • Nili Brosh (The Iron Maidens)
  • Jason Richardson (All That Remains)
  • The Dooo
  • Jared Dines
  • Ola Englund (The Haunted)
  • Steve Terreberry
  • Tyler Larson (Music is Win on YouTube)
  • Cole Rolland
  • Thomas McRocklin
  • Rusty Cooley
  • Mattias IA Eklundh (Freak Kitchen)
  • Sam Totman (DragonForce)
  • Chris Broderick (Act Of Defiance, ex-Megadeth)
  • Lari Basilio
  • Sophie Lloyd
  • Federico Mondelli and Fabiola Bellomo (Frozen Crown)
  • Alex Lee (Holy Grail)
  • Stevie Salas
  • Elliot Easton (The Cars)
  • Mika Tyyska
  • Daniel Dekay (Diemonds)
  • N&M Creation

Li commented:

“I’ve been a huge fan of Jason Becker since I was young, and it’s one of the biggest honors of my life to be able to help organize this tribute and raise money for him. I still have a Jason Becker poster in my studio in London. It’s been very inspiring to see everyone coming together to celebrate Jason.”

Becker added:

“I am so grateful for all the love and support everyone has given to me and my family. As far as selling my guitars being sad, and that I shouldn’t have to do it, I just want you to know that isn’t how I feel. It makes me happy to see others playing my music. I feel good about passing on my guitars, thinking they mean something to others. I can’t play them now, but other folks can. That’s a good thing. And, I want myself and my family not to have to worry about money, if possible. Thank you for all the love, I send it right back to you.”

Halestorm, Tesla, Etc. Members To Perform During “Rock To Remember” Virtual Concert

Gibson Gives and Guitars For Vets have announced a special “Rock To Remember” virtual concert to raise money for music programs for U.S. military veterans who are suffering with PTSD. The event, which will be hosted by Jared James Nichols, will stream tonight (November 11) at 7:30 PM, CT and it will feature: Don Felder, Big & Rich, Joe Bonamassa, Phil X and The Drills, Travis Denning, Lee Roy Parnell, Orianthi, Halestorm’s Lzzy Hale and Joe Hottinger, Meghan Patrick, Frank Hannon (Tesla) with JT Loux Band, Jimmy Vivino and Friends, Meghan Linsey and Tyler Cain, Honey County, Bones Owens, Nick Perri and The Underground Thieves, Laine Hardy and many more. Several U.S. veteran graduates of Guitars For Vets programs will also perform.

Orianthi Premieres “Impulsive” Video

Orianthi (ex-Alice Cooper, etc.) has premiered a new video for her new song “Impulsive.” This track is from her new album “O,” which will be released on November 6. Orianthi commented:

“‘Impulsive’ is a fun track. I wrote it pretty fast with my friend and producer Marti Frederiksen. The video was was a blast to make at the Dollhouse in Los Angeles with the great director Jim Louvau.”

Orianthi Premieres New Song “Sinners Hymn”, Reveals Details For New Album “O”

Orianthi (ex-Alice Cooper, etc.) has premiered a lyric video for her new song “Sinners Hymn.” This track is from her new album “O,” which will be released on November 6.

“O” Track Listing:

01. “Contagious”
02. “Sinners Hymn”
03. “Rescue Me”
04. “Blow”
05. “Sorry”
06. “Crawling Out Of The Dark”
07. “Impulsive”
08. “Streams Of Consciousness”
09. “Company”
10. “Moonwalker”

Orianthi said the following about the new record:

“The album ‘O’ is a very inspired album….kept things pretty raw and didn’t overthink it. Marti [Frederiksen, producer, mixer, songwriter] and I wanted to create a unique sound and vibe with every track and we experimented a lot with synths and different guitar tones. Lyrically, a lot of this record comes from life experience and other people’s stories. It’s going to be so fun to play these songs live.”

Sebastian Bach Working On New Song With Orianthi

Sebastian Bach (ex-Skid Row) has revealed that he is working on a new song with Orianthi (ex-Alice Cooper, etc.) for his new album. He tweeted the following:

Orianthi also tweeted about the track:

Zakk Wylde, Bumblefoot, Etc. Cover Disney Songs For “Disney Super Guitar” Album

Zakk Wylde (Ozzy Osbourne, Black Label Society), Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (ex-Guns N’ Roses), George Lynch (Dokken, KXM, etc.), Paul Gilbert (MR. Big), Orianthi, and more have all contributed to a new album called “Disney Super Guitar.” The effort features the guitarists covering various Disney songs, and it can be purchased via Amazon.

“Disney Super Guitar” Track Listing:

01. Zakk Wylde – “Beauty And The Beast” [Beauty And The Beast]
02. Paul Gilbert – “Under The Sea” [The Little Mermaid]
03. Tak Matsumoto – “When You Wish Upon A Star” [Pinocchio]
04. Mike Orlando – “A Whole New World” [Aladdin]
05. Orianthi – “Someday My Prince Will Come” [Snow White And The Seven Dwarves]
06. George Lynch – “Hellfire” [The Hunchback Of Notre Dame]
07. Richie Kotzen – “Can You Feel the Love Tonight” [Lion King]
08. Jeff Watson – “Colors Of The Wind” [Pocahontas]
09. Phil X – “Chim Chim Cher-ee” [Mary Poppins]
10. Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal – “Reflection” [Mulan]

Alice Cooper Parts Ways With Orianthi, Welcomes Nita Strauss

According to Blabbermouth, Alice Cooper has parted ways with guitarist, Orianthi. He has chosen Nita Strauss (The Iron Maidens, Femme Fatale) as her replacement. Strauss will be joing Cooper this summer, as he tours in support of Motley Crue on their Final Tour.

(Image of Cooper from his Instagram, Image of Strauss from Revolver)

(Image of Cooper from his Instagram, Image of Strauss from Revolver)