Russell Allen On Adrenaline Mob: “I Don’t Think It’s Ever Gonna Be Able To Continue”

During a recent appearance on “Breaking Absolutes With Peter Orullian,” Adrenaline Mob singer Russell Allen said that he doesn’t think the band will ever return. His comments come close to four years after the fatal traffic accident that claimed the lives of bassist David Zablidowsky and tour manager Janet Rains.

Allen said the following when asked if Adrenaline Mob will make a comeback:

“I don’t think it’s ever gonna be able to continue. There might be something where… I wouldn’t mind revisiting some music ideas that maybe we can do something… I’m never gonna say I’ve closed the door on making music again in that style.”

He also added:

“There’s just so many things that were supposed to happen with Dave and that group that I just don’t see myself being able to do that in a live sense in terms of touring and stuff without having to… I’m just not there yet. Let’s see how it goes after I get this other stuff going and see where I’m at and maybe I can think about that.

This is a lifelong scar for me and something I’m gonna have to wear. And I’m very conscious of the effect that it has on the families of those that we lost and what that means for them and what the band means to those people. And I’m very, very aware of that, and that’s something that I’m not gonna dishonor anybody’s memory by doing something that I feel might upset that. So it’s gotta be something that everybody’s cool with, and mostly me.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Ex-Nightwish Singer Tarja Turunen To Tell Her Story In “Singing In My Blood” Book

Ex-Nightwish singer Tarja Turunen is planning to release a new book, titled “Singing In My Blood,” later this year via Rocket 88. You can find more details regarding that HERE. Turunen commented:

“Singing is in my blood. Ever since I was a little girl, I have enjoyed performing … but not being able to be on stage in 2020, I spent a lot of time looking through photo albums, seeing all those happy scenes of childhood, growing up and making music, getting to know my fans and travel the world recording and performing, having fun; those memories fill this book. In ‘Singing In My Blood’, I tell my story about making music and share lots of personal photos. It’s a big, 200-plus-page hardback filled with photographs that comes in two, deluxe versions.”

Akiavel Premiere “Comrade” Video

Akiavel have premiered a new video for their song “Comrade.” This track is from their latest album “Væ Victis.”

Vocalist Auré said the following about the song, which is based on the serial killer Andrei Chikatilo:

“When I decided to write on this killer I knew it wasn’t going to be easy… He is for me one of the most violent monsters. Above all, he targeted children…

When I was in front of my blank page, as I did for the other songs, I was watching reports on Andreï Chikatilo. It hurt me a lot. I was angry too.

I’m a mom. I couldn’t help but think that it could happen to anyone…Then I had an idea. If our children could be their voices. I wrote a chorus to make it easy to sing. I wanted us not to forget these poor victims…When the song was written, I hugged my son very hard against me. I had tears in my eyes. I asked him if he wanted to participate in a tribute to the missing children. He immediately agreed. We did the test and it gave me chills.

For the video clip, I printed the real photos of the victims and the real search notices. I hope we have respected their memories. While denouncing the atrocities of this monster, we do not forget the victims.”

[via Decibel]

Old Man Gloom Using Saws, Axes, Drills, Etc. During Sessions For New Album

Old Man Gloom have been using some interesting items to create the percussion for their album. Aaron Turner commented on that, while also sharing some photos:

“Old Man Gloom / album 10 / phase 1 / hammered log percussion, chainsaw drones, ax snare, free weight tom drills, blanket kit, gravel march bpm, saw flexion, no riffs.”

[via The PRP]

White Stones (Opeth) To Release New Album “Dancing Into Oblivion” In August, Premiere “Chain Of Command” Video

White Stones, the death metal project featuring Opeth bassist Martin Mendez, have announced that their new album “Dancing Into Oblivion” will be released on August 27. A video for the effort’s first single, “Chain Of Command,” can be found below, along with the cover art and track listing.

“Dancing Into Oblivion” Track Listing:

01. “La Menace”
02. “New Age Of Dark”
03. “Chain Of Command”
04. “Iron Titans”
05. “Woven Dream”
06. “To Lie Or To Die”
07. “Freedom In Captivity”
08. “Acacia”

Mendez said the following about the new record:

“It’s a mix of feelings during the lockdown, feelings that go from fear to uncertainty as well as going through the confusion when you don’t know about the future and you feel almost as if time has stopped. Musicians might be the last who will be back to work and we don’t have any signs of a sooner return, which makes for a huge uncertainty.

I have a family and I have to take care of them. This situation creates a feeling of discomfort which you can feel on the album. Otherwise it’s been nice having so much time at home with the family and those small and peaceful moments are also in the music.

I’ve chosen to include some interludes between the songs so there is a higher contrast and it makes it easier to appreciate the different feelings throughout.”

He also added:

“It’s difficult to define the style of this album. I don’t like to tag the music. This is metal for me. It has elements of my interpretation of death metal but it has other, conscious influences from other genres too. It shows me as musician and displays my music taste within the restlessness of trying to do something different.

The first one I wrote was ‘Chain Of Command‘, where I had the idea of writing more daring songs than on the previous record where I restricted myself and didn’t want to play anything too technical, I just wanted to create something that was easier on the ear. In this one I wanted to do something slightly more elaborate and technical, musically, to add some color.

The first influence I had for ‘Chain Of Command‘ was from a John Coltrane & Wilbur Harden album, while in ‘New Age Of Dark‘ the influence came listening to Deicide, so the influences are really quite varied across this record.”

Earth Groans & In Search Of Solace Announce September Tour

Earth Groans and In Search Of Solace have announced a fall tour together. The dates for that run can be found below.

Tour Dates:

09/02 Fargo, ND – The Aquarium
09/03 Minneapolis, MN – The Cabooze
09/04 Milwaukee, WI – Cactus Club
09/05 Champaign, IL – Audiofeed
09/06 Bloomington, IL – Nightshop
09/07 Ferndale, MI – The Pleasant Underground
09/08 Indianapolis, IN – Hoosier Dome
09/09 Louisville, KY – Germantown
09/10 Nashville, TN – The End
09/11 Memphis, TN – Growlers
09/12 Springfield, MO – Odyssey Lounge
09/14 Haltom City, TX – Haltom Theatre
09/15 Oklahoma City, OK – 89th St
09/16 Kansas City, MO – The Rino
09/17 Des Moines, IA – Leftys
09/18 Sioux City, IA – Four Winds Fest

Helloween Premiere “Best Time” Lyric Video

Helloween’s “Pumpkins United” lineup, Michael Kiske, Kai Hansen, Andi Deris, Michael Weikath, Sascha Gerstner, Markus Grosskopf, and Daniel Löble, have premiered a lyric video for their new song “Best Time.” This track is from the band’s new self-titled album, which was officially released today (June 18).