Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello Gets Knocked Offstage By Security During Toronto, ON Show

During Rage Against The Machine’s July 23 show in Toronto, ON, Tom Morello was accidentally tackled by security. The incident happened after a fan ran onstage while the band were performing “Killing In The Name.” The security were trying to catch the concertgoer when they knocked the guitarist offstage. Vocalist Zack de la Rocha briefly stopped the show before Morello returned to the stage to restart the song. You can see fan-filmed footage of that below:

All That Remains’ Phil Labonte Calls Out Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello For Using Vladimir Lenin Quote On His Signature Guitar Pedal

All That Remains frontman Phil Labonte has slammed Rage Against The Machine guitarist Tom Morello for including the words “sometimes history needs a push” on his signature Jim Dunlop wah petal. For those unaware, that quote is from Vladimir Lenin, a revolutionary who became the founder of the Russian Communist Party. Labonte tweeted the following about Morello’s decision to use the phrase:

[via The PRP]

Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello To Receive “Spirit Of John Brown Freedom Award”

According to Billboard, Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine) will be presented with the “Spirit of John Brown Freedom Award” during a ceremony at the John Brown Farm State Historic Site in Essex County, NY on May 14. Choreographer Tiffany Rea-Fisher and visual artist Karen Davidson Seward will also be receiving the honor.

Martha Swan, the executive director of the historic site’s friends group, commented:

“The Spirit of John Brown Freedom Award was created by the freedom education and human rights project John Brown Lives! to honor individuals and organizations whose work invokes the passion and commitment of the 19th-century abolitionist who dedicated his life to the cause of liberation and full human equality.”

She also added the following about Morello:

“[He’s] a troubadour and political activist who deploys his art and energy on behalf of freedom fighters everywhere, from striking nurses and teachers, to domestic workers and Black Lives Matter organizers, to veterans against war — he extends his solidarity to every impulse toward peace and justice.”

Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine) & X Ambassadors Release Cover Of Tom Waits’ “Come On Up To The House” As Part Of Spotify Singles Series

Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine) has teamed up with X Ambassadors for a cover of Tom Waits’ “Come On Up To The House.” The track is currently available on Spotify as part of their Spotify Singles series. Notably, the single also includes an alternate version of Morello and Ben Harper’s “Raising Hell.”

Listen To “Machinery Of Torment” From Upcoming Netflix Movie “Metal Lords”

A new song, titled “Machinery Of Torment,” from the new coming-of-age metal comedy “Metal Lords” is now available to stream. That track was composed by the film’s executive producer Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine). As previously reported, “Metal Lords” will hit Netflix on April 8.

Watch Trailer For New Netflix Movie “Metal Lords”

A new trailer has been released for the new Netflix movie “Metal Lords,” which is set to debut on April 8. The coming-of-age metal comedy was written by D.B. Weiss, who produced the film alongside Greg Shapiro. Weiss’ fellow “Game Of Thrones” showrunner David Benioff and Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello also served as executive producers on the film. The movie was directed by Peter Sollett (“Nick And Norah’s Infinite Playlist”) and it stars Jaeden Martell (“Knives Out”, “It”), Isis Hainsworth (“Misbehaviour”, “Emma”), and Adrian Greensmith.

Morello told Billboard the following:

“I grew up in a small, cloistered, conservative suburb where my musical tastes ran against the grain of almost everybody else in school and certainly all of the teachers, so this is something I can very much relate to. It’s a story of kids trying to get their first band together and having a dream, but perhaps not having the technical ability or the artistic vision to make that dream real. Or do they?

For me, it harmonizes in a lot of ways with the real story of so many kids who are locked in these suburban hells and the key to get out is an electric guitar or drums or rock and roll music. The music shows a way to transcend this stifled daily existence, to try to be something better, be something more authentic and true than what’s handed to you by your surroundings.”

Listen To Tom Morello’s New Album “The Atlas Underground Flood”

Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine) has officially released his new album “The Atlas Underground Flood.“ The effort, which features members of Metallica, Rush, Idles, X Ambassadors, and more, can be streamed below:

Tom Morello Premieres New Song “The Maze” Featuring Andrew McMahon

Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine) has premiered a new song titled “The Maze.” This track features Andrew McMahon and it will appear on Morello’s new solo album “The Atlas Underground Flood” (out December 3).

Tom Morello, Ace Frehley, Etc. To Perform At Alice Cooper’s 19th Annual “Christmas Pudding” Concert

Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine), Ace Frehley (ex-KISS), Ed Roland (Collective Soul), Mark McGrath (Sugar Ray), and Felix Cavaliere (The Rascals) will be joining Alice Cooper during his upcoming “Christmas Pudding” concert. That event will take place at the Celebrity Theatre in Phoenix, AZ on December 4. Cooper commented:

“As always, Solid Rock is putting together a show with new and classic headliners. The uniqueness of this concert is that you’ll never see this caliber and variety of artists on the same stage again. Come join our ultimate Christmas party and help support the teens at The Rock Teen Center!”

Tom Morello To Release New Album “The Atlas Underground Flood” In December, Shares Three New Songs

Tom Morello (Rage Against The Machine) will be releasing a new album, titled “The Atlas Underground Flood,” on December 3. The effort will feature a number of guests including members of Metallica, Rush, Idles, X Ambassadors, and more.

“The Atlas Underground Flood” Track Listing:

01. “A Radical In The Family” (feat. San Holo)
02. “Human” (feat. Barns Courtney)
03. “Hard Times” (feat. Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim Jones, and Chipotle Joe)
04. “You’ll Get Yours” (feat. X Ambassadors)
05. “I Have Seen The Way” (feat. Alex Lifeson, Kirk Hammett, and Dr. Fresch)
06. “The Lost Cause” (feat. Manchester Orchestra)
07. “The Maze” (feat. Andrew McMahon In The Wilderness)
08. “Ride At Dawn” (feat. BreakCode)
09. “Raising Hell” (feat. Ben Harper)
10. “The Bachelor” (feat. Idles)
11. “Parallels” (feat. Jim James)
12. “Warrior Spirit” (feat. Rodrigo y Gabriela)

Morello commented:

“‘The Atlas Underground Flood’ finishes what ‘The Atlas Underground Fire’ started. ‘Fire and Flood’ are my ‘London Calling.’ Admiring The Clash at their apex moment, I sought to make a double album where artistic intent supersedes genre. I aimed to forge a central curated vision to tie together a sonically fearless, wild, and wide-ranging musical ambition with a tremendous cast of collaborators. And of course, there are many guitar solos.”

Three tracks from the record, “Human” (feat. Barns Courtney), “Raising Hell” (feat. Ben Harper), and “Hard Times” (feat. Nathaniel Rateliff, Jim Jones, and Chipotle Joe), can be found below: