Original Venom Guitarist Mantas Wants Band’s Classic Lineup To Reunite To Celebrate 40th Anniversary Of “Black Metal”

During a recent Facebook Live session, former Venom guitarist Jeff “Mantas” Dunn (Venom Inc.) talked a bit about the 40th anniversary of the band’s 1982 album “Black Metal.” Notably, the musician also mentioned that he would be open to reuniting with the group’s classic lineup to commemorate the milestone.

Mantas said the following:

“I’ll never retract anything I’ve said, because I’m sorry but it’s true. Regardless of what him or him thinks, it’s true; it’s just as simple as that. I’m not gonna go out there and blatantly talk a lot of bollocks like one of us did. What I’ve said is absolutely true, and I’ve put it in print — into the book as well. It’s there. It’s absolutely true. But we’re at that age now — I’m 60; Bray’s, like, 61; Conrad’s what — 58, 59? We’ve just been through a massive fucking pandemic where nobody’s done anything. We’ve got fucking a war in Europe at the minute. [All the issues we’ve had with each other], it fucking pales into insignificance; it’s fucking bollocks.

Like I say, I’ll never fucking say ‘sorry’; I’ll never fucking turn around and go, ‘Yeah, well, I didn’t fucking mean that.’ What I said was fucking true. But we missed the 25th anniversary. We didn’t celebrate the 30th anniversary. And it’s, like, for a band who had such a fucking impact… And, again, my friends, I still find it difficult to take in myself, people saying…

When I did the interviews for the 40th anniversary of ‘Welcome To Hell’ — there’s another anniversary we fucking missed; nothing done about it; it just passed. But the thing was, I got these interviews in, and people were saying to me, ‘You just don’t realize the importance of what you did.’ I don’t, because I suppose we were so close to it. I’ve said it a million times — I was just a fucking kid writing tunes in my fucking bedroom living with my mom, and I was lucky; people fucking dig them.

But it’s, like, could we not just fucking celebrate this for once? I mean, fucking hell — I’ve already died once. And fucking you haven’t got long, and you haven’t got long, because I know what you’ve fucking done to yourselves.”

He also added the following about Venom Inc.’s plans to perform “Black Metal” in full during the October 2 date of this year’s Keep It True festival in Würzburg, Germany:

“When the Keep It True thing came along, I thought, ‘Yes! Yes! I’m gonna fucking do it.’ Because no one fucking else is. Nobody else is gonna go out there and celebrate this fucking album — monumental fucking album. It should be fucking celebrated.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Watch “Venom: Let There Be Carnage” Star Tom Hardy & Director Andy Serkis Play “Venom Symbiote Or Death Metal Band?”

During a recent segment for IGN, “Venom: Let There Be Carnage” star Tom Hardy and director Andy Serkis played a game where they had to decide if a name belonged to a symbiote or a death metal band. You can check out that clip below and watch the movie in theaters on October 1. Notably, Venom Prison were among those mentioned in the game and they tweeted the following about it:

Bullet For My Valentine Release “Venom” Spiced Mead

Bullet For My Valentine have teamed up with Lyme Bay Winery once again to create another band branded mead. The latest collaboration is a spiced mead called “Venom” and it can be purchased at bfmvmead.com. The following was said about the 10% ABV beverage:

“A second mead made especially for the popular rock band Bullet For My Valentine. This Mead is a honey ferment flavoured with spice, hints of cinnamon and nutmeg for a tingling sensation and a bite of heat. Very moreish.”

Super7 Release New Slayer & Venom Action Figures

Super7 have released some new variants of their Slayer and Venom action figures. This includes a new “Born Of Fire“ version of Slayer’s “Show No Mercy” minotaur figure and a glow in the dark version of Venom’s “Black Metal“ figure. You can purchase those HERE.

[via The PRP]

Judas Priest, Dropkick Murphys, As I Lay Dying, Etc. Set For 2021 Wacken Open Air Festival

The first 10 bands have been announced for the 2021 Wacken Open Air festival in Germany. The event will take place on July 29-31 and it will feature: Judas Priest, Hämatom, Dropkick Murphys, As I Lay Dying, Rose Tattoo, Tarja, Lordi, Death SS, Venom, and Moonspell.

Venom To Release Early Demos Collection “Sons Of Satan”

Venom will be releasing an early demos collection titled “Sons Of Satan” on August 28. The effort, which was previously included in the band’s “In Nomine Satanas” box set, will be available on CD, double splatter vinyl, and digitally. Pre-orders can be found HERE.

“Sons Of Satan” Track Listing:

01. “Angel Dust” (Church Hall Rehearsals 1979)
02. “Buried Alive” (Church Hall Rehearsals 1979)
03. “Raise The Dead” (Church Hall Rehearsals 1979)
04. “Red Light Fever” (Church Hall Rehearsals 1979)
05. “Venom” (Church Hall Rehearsals 1979)
06. “Sons Of Satan” (1980 Impulse £50 demo)
07. “In League With Satan” (1980 Impulse £50 demo)
08. “Angel Dust” (1980 Impulse £50 demo)
09. “Live Like An Angel” (1980 Impulse £50 demo)
10. “Schizo” (1980 Impulse £50 demo)
11. “Venom” (1980 Impulse £50 demo)
12. “Angel Dust” (Impulse Studio 1980 demo)
13. “Raise The Dead” (Impulse Studio 1980 demo)
14. “Red Light Fever” (Impulse Studio 1980 demo)
15. “At War With Satan” (1983 Impulse Studio demo)

Super7 Release Venom “Black Metal” Action Figure

Super7 have released a new action figure inspired by the cover art for Venom‘s 1982 album “Black Metal.“ You can purchase that HERE. The company commented:

“Super7 is honored to add heavy metal pioneers Venom to our 3.75″ ReAction Figures music collection! The ‘Black Metal’ demon comes on a cardback that commemorates the influential 1982 album. The figure is based on the concept given to Super7 by the band’s founding member Cronos.”

Watch Original Venom Guitarist Mantas Perform “Satanachist” With Behemoth Frontman Nergal

Original Venom guitarist Jeff “Mantas” Dunn recently joined forces with Behemoth frontman Adam “Nergal” Darski for a quarantine performance of Venom’s “Satanachist.” You can see footage of that below:

Super7 To Release New Slayer, Venom, Anthrax, Etc. Action Figures

Super7 will be releasing new action figures inspired by Slayer, Megadeth, Anthrax, Motörhead, Venom and more. The company shared some photos of those toys from the 2020 American International Toy Fair in New York. Super7 previously released a number of other rock/metal figures inspired by Iron Maiden, Slayer, Ghost, King Diamond, Motörhead, Misfits, etc.

Once Human, Possessed, Etc. Added To 2020 70000 Tons Of Metal Cruise

More bands have been added to the 2020 70000 Tons Of Metal Cruise. The cruise, which is set to take place on January 7-11, will sail from Florida to Cozumel, Mexico and back and it will now feature the following: Aborted, Aeternam, Aether Realm, The Agonist, Archon Angel, At The Gates, Atheist, Axxis, Bloodbound, Brujeria, Candlemass, Carach Angren, Cattle Decapitation, Cruachan, Dark Matter, Edenbridge, Einherjer, Emperor, Epica, Ereb Altor, Exodus, Finntroll, FirstBourne, Flotsam And Jetsam, Ghost Ship Octavius, Grave Digger, Haggard, Havok, Ihsahn, Incantation, Kampfar, Kissin’ Dynamite, Leaves’ Eyes, Michael Schenker Fest, Moonsorrow, No Raza, Novembers Doom, Omnium Gatherum, Once Human, Origin, Orphaned Land, Possessed, Ross The Boss, Seven Witches, Soen, Sortilège, Spoil Engine, Stam1na, Striker, Suffocation, The Faceless, Devin Townsend, Toxik, Trollfest, Venom, Vio-lence, Whiplash, Wilderun, Wintersun, Without Waves, and Zero Theorem.