Metal Allegiance To Cover Black Sabbath’s Self-Titled Album During Halloween Show In Chicago

Metal Allegiance have announced that they will be performing Black Sabbath’s 1970 self-titled debut album in full during a special Halloween (October 31) show at the Bottom Lounge in Chicago, IL. However, it’s worth noting that David Ellefson (Megadeth) and Mike Portnoy (ex-Dream Theater, etc.) do not appear to be taking part in this concert. The other core members, Mark Menghi and Alex Skolnick (Testament), will perform with Bobby Blitz (Overkill) and Brann Dailor (Mastodon). Crobot, Weapons Of Anew, and Metalfier will open.


“Black Sabbath: The Vinyl Collection 1970-1978” To Be Released In September

Black Sabbath will be releasing a nine-LP box set titled “Black Sabbath: The Vinyl Collection 1970-1978” on September 6. The set will be limited to 3,000 numbered copies and it will come with 180-gram vinyl pressings of the band’s eight studio albums from 1970-1978, a new “Monomania” mono singles collection, a 7″ single featuring “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)” and “Wicked World” (previously unreleased in North America), and reproductions of the original tour books from the era.

Here’s all the contents:

“Black Sabbath: The Vinyl Collection 1970-1978”:

Album Listing:

* “Black Sabbath” (1970)
* “Paranoid” (1971)
* “Master Of Reality” (1971)
* “Vol 4” (1972)
* “Sabbath Bloody Sabbath” (1974)
* “Sabotage” (1975)
* “Technical Ecstasy” (1976)
* “Never Say Die!” (1978)

“Monomania” Track Listing:

Side One:

01. Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me) *
02. Wicked World
03. The Wizard
04. Iron Man (Edited Version)

Side Two:

01. Paranoid
02. Into The Void (Edited Version) **
03. Sabbath, Bloody Sabbath (Edited Version)
04. It’s Alright
05. Radio Spot For Black Sabbath

7″ Single (45rpm)

“Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)” b/w “Wicked World”

* previously unreleased in North America
** previously unreleased

Pre-orders can be found on Amazon

[via Blabbermouth]

Whitfield Crane (Ugly Kid Joe) To Perform Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne, Etc. Songs With Orchestra Of Doom

Whitfield Crane (Ugly Kid Joe) will be teaming up with the Philarmonia Australia Orchestra for some Australian Orchestra Of Doom shows. The concerts, which will be held at the Melbourne Palais Theatre on December 3 and the Sydney Darling Harbour Theatre on December 7, will find Crane performing songs from Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne, and more.

Crane commented:

“Orchestra Of Doom is all analogue, all flow and poetry in motion. We don’t have Marshall stacks, just a 35-piece orchestra and something beautiful flowing through us all; this is a special thing with a life of its own.

“How does it feel to be playing with an orchestra? It feels terrifying, but the energy and excitement makes everyone feel alive and at its heart is Black Sabbath — it’s the perfect storm!”

Geezer Butler On The Possibility Of A One-Off Black Sabbath Reunion: “I Wouldn’t Say Never”

During a recent interview with Classic Rock, Geezer Butler was asked about the possibility of a one-off Black Sabbath reunion. The bassist responded by saying he “wouldn’t say never,” but did caution that he “can’t imagine it ever happening.”

Butler said the following about a possible reunion:

“If it came up, I wouldn’t say never. I can’t imagine it ever happening, but then I said that about the Sabbath tour, and it happened, so who am I to know?”

He also added:

“I haven’t seen Ozzy at all. I’ve seen Tony and Bill at a couple of awards things we’ve done, and me and Tony stay in touch through e-mails, but that’s about it. But it’s good between us. It’s like having brothers. You don’t have to be in touch.”

Watch The Smashing Pumpkins Cover Black Sabbath’s “Snowblind” With Myrkur

During Smashing Pumpkins’ June 16 set at the UK Download Festival, the band were joined onstage by Myrkur for a cover of Black Sabbath’s “Snowblind.” You can see footage of that below:

Ozzy Osbourne Says Bill Ward Should Have Been Involved In Black Sabbath’s Final Tour

When Black Sabbath went out on their final tour, they did so without Bill Ward, who claimed he was not offered a “siganable contract.” At the time, Ozzy Osbourne also claimed the drummer was not physically fit enough to handle the trek. Now, during a recent interview with Kerrang!, Osbourne seemed to have changed his mind, saying Ward should have been involved in the tour.

Osbourne said the following when asked why he didn’t enjoy Black Sabbath’s final tour:

“I didn’t like the fact that Bill Ward wasn’t there, for a start. People put that down to me, but it wasn’t me, honestly. We didn’t have the fucking time to hang around, we had to get going, but I’m sorry it didn’t work out with Bill. Tommy [Clufetos] did great, but the four of us started this, and it should have been the four of us ending it. Those final gigs in Birmingham were bittersweet because you think of how far we came, and how much we did, and it would have been good to have shared that together. Maybe one day there’ll be one last gig, I don’t know.”

He also added the following when asked if it was difficult going back to the band after doing his own thing for years:

“Yeah, it was a bit difficult at times, but we’re all older men now, and we got on with it. It’s not ‘Ozzy Osbourne and Black Sabbath,’ it’s Black Sabbath, and I’m just one quarter of that. Sometimes it feels like people want me to be less ‘Ozzy’ at times, but I can only be myself.”

Zakk Sabbath To Cover Black Sabbath’s Self-Titled Debut Album In Full

Zakk Sabbath, the Black Sabbath cover band featuring Zakk Wylde (Black Label Society, Ozzy Osbourne), Rob “Blasko” Nicholson (ex-Rob Zombie) and Joey Castillo (ex-Queens Of The Stone Age), have announced that they will be releasing a tribute to Black Sabbath‘s 1970 self-titled album on February 13, 2020, exactly 50 years after the original album was released. The effort will be called “Vertigo” and the group plan to record it live on analog in a single 24-hour period. A film crew will also be on hand to document the process. The release will be limited to 500 vinyl (with digital download), CD, and DVD packages. However, they have already sold out and the band have no plans to make it available commercially or digitally.