Tony Iommi Mixing Black Sabbath’s Final Shows For Possible Live Album & Documentary

It looks like Black Sabbath may be releasing a new live album featuring their final shows along with a new documentary. Tony Iommi, who is currently mixing that material, told the following when asked about it:

“We’ll actually be doing a documentary. My job at the moment is to have a listen to what we’ve done.”


Tony Iommi On Black Sabbath Following Their Final Tour: “I’m Sure We Might Do A One-Off Show Somewhere”

Black Sabbath just wrapped up their final tour, but it may not actually be the end for the band. Tony Iommi was recently interviewed by Planet Rock and said that he wouldn’t rule out one-off shows or maybe even future recordings,


Iommi on touring:

“I’m going to miss playing on stage because that has been my whole life, the band and playing on stage. I like [playing on stage] and I’m sure it’s not going to end like that; I’m sure we might do a one-off show somewhere.

“It’s just the touring for me — it’s time to stop roaming the world and be at home for a bit… I’m still going to write and put stuff out.”

On if Black Sabbath is done recording:

“No, I don’t think we’ve ruled anything out apart from me not wanting to tour any more on that scale, but who knows, we may do something. We haven’t spoken about it. That’s another thing — we haven’t talked about anything, really, that’s to do with what’s going to happen afterwards. But I’m sure something can happen somewhere.”

He also added:

“It’s nice just to take some time off and really think about it. I’ve been offered quite a lot of stuff at the moment. It’s quite exciting. There are lots of different things coming in, things I would never have thought, to be honest. It’s all there and needs some thought. I don’t want to rush into anything.”

“Thing is, when you’re touring, you’ve got to go out for six, eight, twelve months or whatever and you’ve got a schedule that you have to do. Now… if I want to do some TV for a month, I can do that.”

[quotes transcribed by Blabbermouth]

Black Sabbath Wrap Up “The End” Tour In Birmingham, England

Heavy metal legends Black Sabbath have officially wrapped up their final tour with one last show at the Genting Arena in Birmingham, England tonight (February 4). You can see some footage and the setlist from the concert below:


01. “Black Sabbath”
02. “Fairies Wear Boots”
03. “Under the Sun / Every Day Comes and Goes”
04. “After Forever”
05. “Into the Void”
06. “Snowblind”
07. “War Pigs”
08. “N.I.B.”
09. “Hand of Doom”
10. “Supernaut / Sabbath Bloody Sabbath / Megalomania” (medley)
11. “Rat Salad” (with Tommy Clufetos drum solo)
12. “Iron Man”
13. “Dirty Women”
14. “Children of the Grave”


15. “Paranoid”

Ex-Black Sabbath Keyboardist Geoff Nicholls Passes Away

Keyboardist Geoff Nicholls, who played with Black Sabbath from 1979-2004, has tragically passed away at the age of 68. His death came as a result of his battle with lung cancer.


Tony Iommi said the following:

“I’m so saddened to hear the loss of one of my dearest and closest friends Geoff Nicholls. He’s been suffering for a while now with lung cancer and he lost his battle this morning. Geoff and I have always been very close and he has been a real true friend to me and supported me all the way for nearly 40 years. I will miss him dearly and he will live in my heart until we meet again.

Rest In Peace my dear friend.

Ozzy Osbourne also commented:

“Geoff Nicholls was a great friend of mine for a long time. He will be greatly missed. I’m very saddened at the news.”

Geezer Butler added:

“Very sad to hear of old friend and Sabbath keyboard player Geoff Nicholls passing. RIP Geoff.”

The band’s former drummer Bill Ward posted a statement as well:

“My family and I are very sad to learn of Geoff’s passing. He was a caring, kind and loving man; a great musician, always supportive and generous with musical input. Our condolences to his family, his friends and fellow band mates. RIP Geoff. Thanks for all you gave us.
– Bill”

Black Sabbath’s “The Ultimate Collection” To Recieve North American Release In February

Black Sabbath previously released a new box set titled “The Ultimate Collection“ on November 18 in Europe. Now, that release is set to be released in North American On February 3.


Track Listing:

01. Paranoid
02. Never Say Die
03. Iron Man
04. Black Sabbath
05. Children Of The Grave
06. Fairies Wear Boots
07. Changes
08. Rat Salad
09. Sweet Leaf
10. War Pigs
11. Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
12. Hole In The Sky
13. Symptom Of The Universe
14. Spiral Architect
15. Rock ‘N’ Roll Doctor
16. Dirty Women
17. Evil Woman, Don’t Play Your Games With Me
18. A Hard Road
19. Lord Of This World
20. Into The Void
21. Behind The Wall Of Sleep
22. Snowblind
23. Tomorrow’s Dream
24. The Wizard
25. N.I.B.
26. Electric Funeral
27. Embryo
28. Killing Yourself To Live
29. Am I Going Insane
30. Wicked World
31. It’s Alright

Lump Found In The Throat Of Black Sabbath’s Tony Iommi Was Not Cancerous

It was previously revealed that Black Sabbath’s Tony Iommi was set to undergo surgery to get a lump removed from his throat. Now in a new interview with Planet Rock, Iommi revealed that the lump was fortunately not cancerous.


He said the following:

“Well, I had the treatment when I got back from South America I went in for the throat [operation]–they found a lump at the back of my sinus in the throat and we had to have it checked in case it may have been cancerous.

But it turns out it wasn’t, which I found out on Christmas Day, which is brilliant! So far [I’m all good.] I daren’t say that–I’ll probably fall down the stairs now!”

It is also worth noting that Iommi’s lymphoma is still in remission.

Black Sabbath’s Tony Iommi Writes Arrangement For Birmingham Cathedral

Black Sabbath’s Tony Iommi has written an arrangement, titled “How Good It Is,” for the Birmingham Cathedral. Iommi contributed the music, while Very Reverend Catherine Ogle, Dean of Birmingham contributed the lyrics.

Iommi said the following:

“It’s great to be involved with the Cathedral and doing something for it. When Catherine mentioned it, it felt like a nice thing to do, to be able to give something to the city.”

More info cam be found at