Watch Anthrax’s Joey Belladonna Cover Dio’s “Holy Diver” With Members Of Drowning Pool

During the ongoing ShipRocked cruise, Anthrax’s Joey Belladonna joined members of Drowning Pool onstage for a cover of Dio’s “Holy Diver.” You can find some footage of that performance below:

Iron Maiden, Evanescence, Puscifer, Etc. Releases Set For 2021 Black Friday Record Store Day Event

The full list of special releases for this year’s Black Friday Record Store Day event (November 26) has officially been revealed. You can find that HERE. A list of various rock/metal releases can also be found below.

Rock/Metal Releases:

  • Aerosmith – “1971: The Road Starts Hear” (LP/Cassette)
  • All Them Witches – “Live On The Internet” (3XLP)
  • Blackberry Smoke – “Stoned” (LP)
  • Alice Cooper – “Brutal Planet” (2XLP)
  • Crobot – “Rat Child” EP (Vinyl)
  • Dio – “Holy Diver” (LP Picture Disc)
  • Dio – “The Last In Line” (LP Picture Disc)
  • Evanescence – “Evanescence” (LP)
  • Fleetwood Mac – “Alternate Live” (2XLP)
  • Billy F. Gibbons – “Hardware” (CD)
  • The Reverend Horton Heat – “We Three Kings” (LP)
  • The Jimi Hendrix Experience – “Paris ’67” (LP)
  • Iron Maiden – “Iron Maiden” (LP Picture Disc)
  • Judas Priest – “Best Of Judas Priest” (2XLP)
  • King’s X “Please Come Home … Mr. Bulbous” (LP)
  • James LaBrie – “Elements Of Persuasion” (2XLP)
  • LA Guns – “Waking The Dead” (LP)
  • Motörhead – “The Lost Tapes, Vol. 1 (Live In Madrid 1995)” (2XLP)
  • Mr. Big – “Lean Into It” (LP)
  • Night Ranger – “Somewhere In California” (LP)
  • Ozzy Osbourne – “No More Tears” (12″ Picture Disc)
  • Poison – “Flesh & Blood” (LP)
  • Puscifer – “Billy D And The Hall Of Feathered Serpents: Puscifer Live at the Mayan Theatre” (7″ Vinyl)
  • Puscifer – “Existential Reckoning: Live at Arcosanti” (LP)
  • Gavin Rossdale – “Wanderlust” (2XLP)
  • Saigon Kick – “The Lizard” (LP)
  • Smith/Kotzen – “Better Days” (Vinyl)
  • Joe Strummer – “Johnny Appleseed” (12″ Vinyl)
  • Tesla – “Mechanical Resonance” (LP)
  • Twiztid – “I Tried 2 Warn U” (7″ Vinyl)
  • Nancy Wilson – “You And Me” (2XLP)

[via Loudwire]

Killswitch Engage Score New Gold & Platinum Records In The U.S.

Killswitch Engage’s single “My Curse“ off their gold-certified 2006 album “As Daylight Dies“ has officially been certified gold and platinum by the RIAA. On top of that, the band’s cover of Dio‘s “Holy Diver“ and the title track of their 2004 album “The End Of Heartache” have both gone gold as well.

Z2 Comics To Release New Comic Book Based On The Cover Art For Dio’s “Holy Diver”

A new comic book based on the cover art for Ronnie James Dio’s “Holy Diver” is tentatively set to be released in summer 2021 via Z2 Comics. The book is being written by Steve Niles and it can be pre-ordered HERE.

The following description of the comic was shared on

“Behold: the Holy Diver graphic novel – an original storyline inspired by one of heavy metal’s most iconic album covers. Penned by acclaimed horror comics writer Steve Niles (30 Days of Night), the book will tell the tale behind the events leading to the powerful moment captured on the cover of Dio’s debut album—definitively addressing 30 years of fan speculation. Why is the priest being thrown into the ocean? Who is truly the villain in this scenario?

All of these questions are exclusively answered for the first time within the 120 pages of this graphic novel.

The Deluxe Edition of the graphic novel includes:

* Hardcover Graphic Novel
* Exclusive Vinyl Picture Disc Reissue of the classic album ‘Holy Diver’
* 3 never before seen ‘Holy Diver’ inspired Art Prints
* Limited edition hardcover slipcase for graphic novel

The Standard Edition of the graphic novel includes:

* Softcover graphic novel

Writer & Artist Credits:

* Written by Steve Niles
* Interiors illustrated by Scott Hampton
* Cover (pictured) illustrated by Bill Sienkiewicz
* Alt. Cover (not yet revealed) illustrated by Becky Cloonan”

Ronnie’s widow Wendy Dio said the following:

“Steve Niles tells the story behind the album cover ‘Holy Diver’, a story about how you can’t judge a picture by the way it appears, which is what Ronnie wrote many times in his songs; that you have to see inside the person and not judge them by the way they look or by what they wear. Together with Scott Hampton’s amazing artwork, they tell the story of ‘Holy Diver’, and I know Ronnie would have given his stamp of approval on this great graphic novel.”

Z2 publisher Josh Frankel also commented:

“We have managed to work with some of the greatest legends in both comics and music, and a Dio graphic novel with a cover by the great Bill Sienkiewicz perhaps sums that up best. This is one of the most iconic heavy metal album covers in history.

We are honored to pay tribute to the originator of the universal sign of the music that he has inspired since he first took the stage with Black Sabbath 40 years ago. Working with Wendy Dio directly to ensure it is true to his vision is the next best thing to working with Ronnie James Dio himself, and we have hit a new high note with this one!”

Niles added:

“I’m so excited to be writing this book. I hope I do Ronnie James Dio justice.”

Watch Machine Head’s Robb Flynn Cover Slipknot, Deftones, System Of A Down, Etc. Acoustically

During the June 26 edition of his “Acoustic Happy Hour” series, Machine Head’s Robb Flynn performed covers of Slipknot‘s “Snuff,“ “Deftones‘ “Change (In The House Of Flies),“ System Of A Down‘s “Aerials,” Dio‘s “Holy Diver,“ Staind‘s “Outside,“ and more. You can watch that set below:

Anthrax’s Joey Belladonna Joins Killswitch Engage Onstage For Cover Of Dio’s “Holy Diver”

During some of their recent shows together, Anthrax’s Joey Belladonna joined Killswitch Engage onstage for a cover of Dio’s “Holy Diver.” Check out footage of that below:

“A Decade of Dio: 1983-1993” Box Set To Be Released

Remastered versions of Dio’s first six studio albums, “Holy Diver,” “The Last In Line,” “Sacred Heart,” “Dream Evil,” “Lock Up The Wolves,” and “Strange Highways,” are set to be released as a new box set titled “A Decade of Dio: 1983-1993.” The set will be available on CD on July 22, and will be available on vinyl on October 4. The vinyl set will also include a 7″ single with “Evil Eyes” on Side A and “Time To Burn” on Side B.