Super Deluxe Edition Of Dio’s “Holy Diver” To Be Released In July

A new super deluxe edition of Dio’s “Holy Diver” is set to be released on July 8. The four-CD box set will come with Joe Barresi’s new mix of the album, a remastered version of the original album, unreleased outtakes, live recordings, rarities, and illustrated liner notes from Mick Wall. A clear 2-LP vinyl edition of Barresi’s mix will also be available.

Further details were shared in a press release:

“‘HOLY DIVER: SUPER DELUXE EDITION’ goes beyond the original album with a previously unreleased recording of the quartet performing live in 1983 at Selland Arena in Fresno, California during the Holy Diver Tour. Wyn Davis mixed the concert recording, which spotlights live versions of songs from Holy Diver (‘Stand Up And Shout‘ and ‘Rainbow In The Dark‘), Rainbow classics (‘Man On The Silver Mountain‘ and ‘Starstruck‘), and Sabbath staples, (‘Children Of The Sea‘ and ‘Heaven And Hell.’)

The Super Deluxe Edition also revisits the Holy Diver recording sessions to uncover unreleased outtakes for several album cuts, including unheard takes for ‘Invisible,’ ‘Straight Through The Heart,’ and a version of ‘Rainbow In The Dark‘ that boasts an alternative guitar solo. There’s also an early version of ‘Evil Eyes,’ a song that would resurface on Dio’s 1984 follow-up album, ‘The Last in Line‘. A selection of rarities rounds out the new collection with mono and stereo 7” single edits for ‘Rainbow In The Dark‘ and a version of ‘Evil Eyes‘ that was released in 1983 as the B-side to ‘Holy Diver.’”

“Holy Diver: Super Deluxe Edition” Track Listing:

CD 1: “Holy Diver” (2022 Joe Barresi Mix)

CD 2: “Holy Diver” (2022 Remaster)

01. “Stand Up And Shout”
02. “Holy Diver”
03. “Gypsy”
04. “Caught In The Middle”
05. “Don’t Talk To Strangers”
06. “Straight Through The Heart”
07. “Invisible”
08. “Rainbow In The Dark”
09. “Shame On The Night”

CD 3: “Live at Selland Arena, Fresno, CA, 1983“:

01. “Intro”
02. “Stand Up And Shout”
03. “Straight Through The Heart”
04. “Shame On The Night”
05. “Children Of The Sea”
06. “Holy Diver”
07. “Heaven And Hell” (including guitar solo)
08. “Rainbow In The Dark”
09. “Man On The Silver Mountain”
10. “Starstuck”
11. “Man On The Silver Mountain” (reprise)
12. “Don’t Talk To Strangers”

CD 4: “Outtakes, Singles & B-Sides“:

01. “Evil Eyes” (Wyn Davis remix)
02. “Don’t Talk To Strangers” (Take 1) (Joe Barresi mix)
03. “Invisible” (Take 1) (Joe Barresi mix)
04. “Invisible” (Take 3) (Joe Barresi mix)
05. “Rainbow In The Dark” (Alternative Guitar Solo Version) (Joe Barresi mix)
06. “Straight Through The Heart” (Take 2) (Joe Barresi mix)
07. “Straight Through The Heart” (Take 3) (Joe Barresi mix)
08. “Rainbow In The Dark” (7” Mono Edit)
09. “Evil Eyes” (1983 Version)
10. “Rainbow In The Dark” (7” Stereo Edit)

Comments are closed.