Lamb Of God’s Mark Morton Premieres New Song “Cross Off” Feat. The Late Chester Bennington (Linkin Park)

Lamb Of God’s Mark Morton has premiered a lyric video for his new song “Cross Off” featuring the late Chester Bennington (Linkin Park). Morton and Bennington wrote the track with producer Josh Wilbur and Oni’s Jake Oni. It also features bass and drums from Trivium‘s Paolo Gregoletto and Alex Bent. The song will appear on Morton’s new solo album “Anesthetic,” which is set to be released on March 1. Morton commented:

“‘Cross Off’ was a very free flowing and natural process. We both really loved the song from its inception and everyone that worked on it put a lot of energy and emotion into it. I feel like you can really hear that in the track, and absolutely in Chester’s performance.”


Lamb Of God’s Mark Morton Discusses Working With The Late Chester Bennington (Linkin Park)

A few months before his death, Linkin Park frontman Chester Bennington recorded vocals for “Cross Off,” a track featured on Lamb Of God guitarist Mark Morton’s new solo album “Anesthetic” (out March 1). Now, during a recent interview with Metal Hammer, Morton discussed what it was like working with the singer.

Morton said the following when asked how the collaboration came about:

“I had my people call his people! It was one of those things where we were listening to the song like, ‘Who in our world would we have singing this?’ And Chester was the name that came out.

So we almost didn’t try, because it’s Chester Bennington, he’s such a superstar. We were kind of like, ‘Come on, we can’t get him.’ But if we hadn’t tried, we wouldn’t have got him, so we tried, we got his ear, I was surprised to find I was on his radar and all, but through Lamb I was.

He heard the song and he was in. It is a really good song. I’m sorry, I don’t know if I’m allowed to say that, but it’s a good goddamn song, right?

We had to iron out a couple of things legally and all that kind of stuff, but on the creative side, he was in from the jump. And I didn’t realize how in he really was, but when he showed up I did, and that was humbling for me.”

He also added the following when asked who surprised him most in the studio:

“Chester Bennington. He just had a lot of creative input at the ready when he came into the studio. That was my initial like, ‘Wow’. He had told me he really liked the song, and we had communicated, but I’d never really hung out with Chester until when we started tracking.

I was really impressed for a guy at his level, at the place in the career he was at, someone of his stature and celebrity, to have that level of humility and commitment to come in there and treat this like it would be a Linkin Park song, or his own song or whatever.

I was pretty blown away by that. And it was immediate. Fifteen minutes after we met, we were standing over a table, one on either side, each with scraps of paper and pencil, crossing off words and trying different rhyme schemes and stuff.

And then after the track was laid out, then we took a breath and started talking about more personal stuff – real-life shit. And yeah… he surprised me the most.”

[via The PRP]

Lamb Of God’s Mark Morton Reveals Details For New Solo Album “Anesthetic”, Premieres New Song “The Truth Is Dead” Feat. Randy Blythe & Alissa White-Gluz (Arch Enemy)

Lamb Of God’s Mark Morton has announced that his new solo album “Anesthetic” will be released on March 1. The effort will feature a number of guests including the late Chester Bennington (Linkin Park), Jacoby Shaddix (Papa Roach), Myles Kennedy (Alter Bridge), and more. The album’s first single, “The Truth Is Dead,” features Morton’s Lamb Of God bandmate Randy Blythe and Arch Enemy’s Alissa White-Gluz. You can check that out below:

“Anesthetic” Track Listing:

01. “Cross Off” (feat. Linkin Park’s Chester Bennington)
02. “Sworn Apart” (feat. Papa Roach’s Jacoby Shaddix)
03. “Axis (feat. Mark Lanegan)
04. “The Never” (feat. Testament’s Chuck Billy and Oni’s Jake Oni)
05. “Save Defiance” (feat. Alter Bridge’s Myles Kennedy)
06. “Blur” (feat. Mark Morales)
07. “Back From The Dead” (feat. Buckcherry’s Josh Todd)
08. “Reveal” (feat. Naeemah Z. Maddox)
09. “Imaginary Days”
10. “The Truth Is Dead” (feat. Lamb Of God’s Randy Blythe and Arch Enemy’s Alissa White-Gluz)

Mark Morton (Lamb Of God) Says The Music He Worked On With Chester Bennington (Linkin Park) Will Be Released At Some Point

A few months before his death, Linkin Park’s Chester Bennington was working on new music with Lamb Of God’s Mark Morton and producer Josh Wilbur. Now, it appears the project will see the light of day at some point. Morton tweeted the following in response to a fan question:

[via The PRP]

Austin Carlile (Ex-Of Mice & Men) Shoots Down Rumors Of Joining Linkin Park

Austin Carlile (ex-Of Mice & Men) has shot down the recent rumors that claimed he would be replacing the late Chester Bennington in Linkin Park. The rumor started spreading after fans began making assumptions based on some footage Carlile shared of himself performing with the group during the tour they did together awhile back. After the story was picked up by Loudwire, Carlile responded saying the rumors were false. This news comes after the singer was recently released from the hospital following a surgery related to his battle with Marfan Syndrome.

Slash Recorded An Unreleased Song With Chester Bennington

During a recent interview with Variety, Slash revealed that he recorded an unreleased song with the late Chester Bennington (Linkin Park) for his first solo album. The track was actually a different version of “Doctor Alibi,” a song the late Lemmy Kilmister (Motörhead) ended up singing on instead.

Slash said the following about the track:

“When I was doing my first solo record, I worked with a lot of different people, some of whom, for whatever reason, didn’t end up on the record. One was with Chester. We did a song and Linkin Park at the time didn’t allow it to happen, so I did it with Lemmy [Kilmister]. The guy who engineered my demos sent it to me and I sent it to Chester’s family. But it was a trip cause the song [called ‘Doctor Alibi’] really speaks to his state of mind.”

He also added the following when asked if it will ever be released:

“His family has got it so it would be totally up to them. It was really good. He was awesome. It would be fine with me if they wanted to [release] it. Musically it’s basically the same as the Lemmy song, but the lyrics are really poignant.”

Linkin Park Share Written Tribute To Chester Bennington On The One Year Anniversary Of His Death

Linkin Park have shared a written tribute to their late frontman Chester Bennington. The singer passed away exactly one year ago today (July 20).

Linkin Park:

“To our brother Chester,

It has been a year since your passing—a surreal rotation of grief, heartbreak, refusal, and recognition. And yet it sill feels like you are close by, surrounding us with your memory and your light. Your one-of-a-kind spirit has authored an indelible imprint on our hearts—our jokes, our joy, and our tenderness.

Eternally grateful for the love, life, and creative passion you shared with us and the world. We miss you more than words can express.


M, J, D, R, B

– – – – – – – – – – – –



In case you or someone you know needs support, here are some resources:

Suicide Prevention Lifeline 1-800-273-TALK