Periphery Share Documentary Focusing On Their New Album “Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre”

Periphery have shared a new documentary focusing on their newly released album “Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre.” The film, which is titled “Everything Is Fine: The Making Of Periphery V: Djent Is Note A Genre,” was directed by Jeff Holcomb and it can be seen below:

Sumerian Records Spark Controversy After Blasting Annual COVID-19 Boosters

Sumerian Records, the label home of Between The Buried And Me, Black Veil Brides, Bad Omens, After The Burial, Born Of Osiris, etc., apparently have an issue with COVID-19 boosters. Various tweets, which appear to be from the label’s founder Ash Avildsen, blasted the FDA’s proposal to offer boosters on an annual basis. He also complained about vaccine requirements at live shows, even though most venues dropped the requirement awhile back.

Unsurprisingly, the comments were met with controversy and have since led to a number of exchanges:

Periphery’s Misha Mansoor chimed in as well:

[via The PRP]

Periphery Share A.I.-Generated Video For “Atropos”

Periphery have joined forces with Race Service to create an A.I.-generated video for their new song “Atropos.” That track is from the band’s new album “Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre,” which will be released on March 10.

Vocalist Spencer Sotelo commented:

“The feel of ‘Atropos’ features a push and pull between pretty/melodic and dark/chaotic sections. That gave me the idea to write about a person who lives, and leans into, a completely superficial lifestyle, and the destructive aftermath of what doing so brings about, not just in that person’s life, but in the world around them. I think the video captures the lyrical essence in its visuals really well, and I’m excited for everyone to enjoy it along with the song.”

Director Rod Chong (Race Service) added:

“’Atropos’ delves into a surreal world of darkness with a mix of live action and A.I. processed visuals, motion GFX. The irony of using A.I. to bring a music video about A.I. to life is not lost on us. Our aim was to portray humanity’s media fixation, even amidst a war-torn world, as a new form of deity emerges and gains control over us. A captivating and hypnotic result.”

Periphery Premiere New Songs “Wildfire” And “Zagreus”

Periphery have shared two new songs including “Wildfire” (feat. Shining’s Jørgen Munkeby) and “Zagreus.” These tracks are from the band’s new album “Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre,” which will be released on March 10.

“Periphery V: Djent is Not A Genre” Track Listing:

01. “Wildfire”
02. “Atropos”
03. “Wax Wings”
04. “Everything Is Fine!”
05. “Silhouette”
06. “Dying Star”
07. “Zagreus”
08. “Dracul Gras”
09. “Thanks Nobuo”

Mark Holcomb commented:

“We spent more time on Periphery V than any other release in our history. We challenged and pushed ourselves harder, and along the way we grew even closer as a band. We are so proud of the final results! I also wanted to mention how exceedingly grateful we are to our fans for being so patient in waiting for this record. We wanted to show our appreciation by giving you two songs today instead of one. We have a very busy 2023 and 2024 planned so we’ll see you on the road!”

Misha Mansoor added:

“I’m really proud of the material and it was certainly a labor of love and a tough album to make. The feeling that we were going to have to give up because it kept taking so long was so overwhelming at times, that to not just overcome it, but to feel so proud of this album has really galvanized us as a band in a way that I don’t think any other experience could have.”

Periphery To Release New Album “Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre” In March

Periphery will be releasing a new album, titled “Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre,” on March 10. The band commented:

“Yes, it’s really happening! This Thursday, January 12th, we’ll be releasing not one but two singles from our forthcoming new album, ‘Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre.’ The release of the singles, ‘Wildfire’ and ‘Zagreus,’ will be accompanied by an album pre-order. There will be 3 different LP variants available as well as a complete line of album-themed merch items. All can be ordered individually or as bundles. You can pre-save the singles here: ‘Periphery V: Djent Is Not A Genre’ is out March 10, 2023 via 3DOT Recordings.”

Trivium, All That Remains, DragonForce, Etc. Members Take Part In Fifth Annual “Biggest Shred Collab In The World”

Jared Dines has shared his fifth “Biggest Shred Collab Song In The World.” The track features the following: Mike Dawes, Jason Richardson (All That Remains), Dan Sugarman (Ice Nine Kills), Gus G (Firewind), Lari Basilio, Nick Hipa (ex-As I Lay Dying) Nita Strauss (Demi Lovato, etc.), Herman Li (Dragonforce), Tramaine, Manuel Gardner Fernandes, Marcin, Brandon Acker, Loida Liuzzi, Landon Siebens, Kiki Wong, TheDooo, Stephen Taranto, Ichika Nito, Angel Vivaldi, Hedras, Bradley Hall, Cole Rolland, Felix Martin, Rafa, Davie504, Charles Berthoud, Lwandile Prusent, Bernth, Annie Shred, Onyx Morales, Eddie Warboy, Elizabeth Cannon, Hayden Maringer, Jared Dines, I Built The Sky, Jesse Michel, Jimena Forsado, Jordan Wynn, Ola Englund (The Haunted), Danilo Vicari, Oni Hasan, Michael Angelo Batio, Matt Heafy (Trivium), Mark Holcomb (Periphery), Spiro Dussias, Brandon Ellis (The Black Dahlia Murder), Charlie Parra Del Riego, Courtney Cox (The Iron Maidens), Corey Smith, Luca Stricagnoli, Andromida, Nik Nocturnal, Noah Crenshaw, Max Ostro, Dre Dimura, Drewsif, Luke Jeansonne, Sophie Burrell, Rabea Massaad, Steve Terreberry, Paula Carregosa, Will Swan, Neil Swanson, Seth Grey, Stel Andre, Syndrone, Trey Xavier, Kevin Frasard, Rudy Ayoub, and Alan Gogoll.

Underoath Announce U.S. Tour With Periphery & Loathe

Underoath have announced a headlining U.S. tour. Periphery and Loathe will open.

Tour Dates:

03/03 Silver Spring, MD – The Fillmore
03/04 Stroudsburg, PA – The Sherman Theater
03/05 Huntington, NY – The Paramount
03/07 Indianapolis, IN – Egyptian Room
03/08 McKees Rock, PA – The Roxian
03/10 East Moline, IL – The Rust Belt
03/11 Milwaukee, WI – The Eagles Club
03/13 Grand Rapids, MI – 20 Monroe Live
03/14 St. Louis, MO – The Pageant
03/15 Kansas City, MO – Uptown Theater
03/17 Wichita, KS – The Cotillion
03/18 Denver, CO – The Ogden Theatre
03/20 Boise, ID – Revolution Concert House & Event Centre
03/21 Portland, OR – Roseland Theater
03/23 Wheatland, CA – Hard Rock Live
03/24 Anaheim, CA – House Of Blues
03/25 Las Vegas, NV – Brooklyn Bowl
03/26 San Diego, CA – Soma
03/29 Albuquerque, NM – Rialto Theatre
03/31 Oklahoma City, OK – The Historic El Rey Theater
04/01 Little Rock, AR – The Hall
04/02 Nashville, TN – Marathon Music Works

Underoath commented:

“We dig Periphery and Loathe a ton so we asked them if they wanted to do this. They said yes. 2023 is gonna be wild and this is just the start. Presale and VIP tickets are on sale TODAY at 12pm ET with code BLINDOBEDIENCE

We wanted to do something really different for our VIP people on this tour so check this out:?

We’re working on new music (as always). Some songs are done. Some are close. Some have just gotten started… but we wanted to find a way to bring you inside that creative process. At every VIP meet & greet on the Blind Obedience tour, we’re going to be having a listening party of unreleased music we’re currently working on (in various stages of completion) *as well as* never before heard demos of songs you know well. You’ll get a taste of what’s to come as well as see how far songs you already love had to come to get to your ears. We think this is going to be rad for us *and* you because if one of our favorite band was doing it, we’d jump on it (which is always our mindset going into this sort of thing).

Periphery Finish Mixing New Album

Periphery have officially finished the mixing process for their new album. Jake Bowen confirmed the news on Twitter: