Boris To Release New Album “Heavy Rocks” In August, Announce North American Tour

Boris will be releasing a new album, titled “Heavy Rocks,” on August 12. You can find a video for the effort’s first single, “She Is Burning,” below:

“Heavy Rocks” Track Listing:

01. “She Is Burning”
02. “Cramper”
03. “My Name Is Blank”
04. “Blah Blah Blah”
05. “Question 1”
06. “Nosferatou”
07. “Ruins”
08. “Ghostly Imagination”
09. “Chained”
10. “(Not) Last Song”

The band commented:

“The world has changed over the last two years. Everyone’s thinking is simpler and pragmatic. Now, it is easier for everyone to grasp what is important to each of us.

We leave it to the future and pass it on. The soul of rock music is constantly evolving. A soul that transcends words and meaning to reach you – instinct, intuition, and fangs.

This is the heavy rock of Boris now.

As we land on our 30th anniversary, Boris continues to evolve, accelerating the latest and universal.

Boris does not lead anyone anywhere.
We just keep showing this attitude.”

In other news, the group have also announced a North American tour:

08/19 Phoenix, AZ Crescent Ballroom (feat. The Body)
08/19-21 Las Vegas, NV – Psycho Las Vegas

With Nothing:

08/22 Albuquerque, NM – Sister
08/24 Dallas, TX – Studio at the Factory
08/25 Austin, TX – Empire Garage
08/26 Houston, TX – White Oak Music Hall
08/27 Baton Rouge, LA – Chelsea’s Live (no Nothing)
08/29 Atlanta, GA – Terminal West
08/30 Carrboro, NC – Cat’s Cradle
08/31 Washington DC – 9:30 Club
09/01 Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer
09/02 New York, NY – Webster Hall
09/03 Boston, MA – Paradise Rock Club
09/06 Pittsburgh, PA – Mr. Small’s Theatre
09/07 Detroit, MI – Magic Stick
09/08 Cleveland, OH – Beachland Ballroom
09/09 Indianapolis, IN – Post. Festival @ The Vogue
09/10 St. Louis, MO – Delmar Hall
09/11 Chicago, IL – Metro
09/12 Minneapolis, MN – Fine Line
09/14 Denver, CO – Bluebird Theater
09/15 Salt Lake City, UT – Metro Music Hall
09/17 Portland, OR – Revolution Hall
09/18 Seattle, WA – The Crocodile
09/24 Mexico City, MEX – House of Vans

Boris Premiere “Beyond Good And Evil” Music Video

Boris have premiered a new video for their new song “Beyond Good And Evil.” This track is from the band’s new album “W,” which will be released on January 21. The group said the following:

“There is a vast magnitude in a huge mushroom cloud and in decaying ruins. We feel both the sadness and beauty of these things at the same time; that is who we are. This video was made from the perspective of a mushroom cloud. The album ‘W‘ focuses on Wata’s vocals – and she is from HIROSHIMA.”

Boris Release New Christmas Single “Noël”

Boris have released a new Christmas single titled “Noël.” The effort, which can be found on Bandcamp, features Lauren Auder and Dviance’s rendition of “Pardon?” and a cover of Wham!‘s “Last Christmas.“

Boris commented:

“When Lauren Auder replied to our post and told us ‘I love this album very much,’ we were very excited. We really like Lauren‘s voice, atmosphere, music and video work. We replied back that we would like to work together someday soon. ‘New Album’ is an album that has received various criticisms before, however, like Lauren, we also happen to love this album very much. Now, ten years later, we have asked Lauren to sing a new interpretation from it.”

Auder added:

“I’ve been a long-time fan of Boris‘s work and ‘New Album’ has been particularly influential on my musical style. When this came up, Atsuo from the band proposed I take a shot at making a new version of the track. I was at the time working on my debut full length with my long-time co-writer Dviance and knowing how much he has also been inspired by Boris‘s work it only made sense for us to work on this one together. I’m extremely excited for this to have come together and hoping to continue this collaboration in the future.”

This news comes as Boris are preparing to release their new album “W” on January 21.

Boris Premiere “Drowning By Numbers” Video

Boris have premiered a new video for their new song “Drowning By Numbers.” This track is from the band’s new album “W,” which will be released on January 21. The group said the following about the video:

“This video was filmed at a private showcase with limited invitation in April of 2021. It is a collaborative performance with a contemporary dance team. The song was transformed from its original performance and visualized; a big hat dances symbolically at the beginning of the new album.”

“W” Track Listing:

01. “I Want To Go To The Side Where You Can Touch…”
02. “Icelina”
03. “Drowning By Numbers”
04. “Invitation”
05. “The Fallen”
06. “Beyond Good And Evil”
07. “Old Projector”
08. “You Will Know” (Ohayo version)
09 “Jozan”

Boris Premiere “Reincarnation Rose” Music Video

Boris have premiered a new video for their new song “Reincarnation Rose.” The clip was released to promote a new Hizumitas fuzz pedal from EarthQuaker Devices, which creates a sound similar to guitarist Wata‘s Elk BM Sustainar pedal. The single will be available on CD on November 17, along with a 20-minute track called “You Will Know (“Oyasumi” Full Version).”

Boris Announce “Flood” & “NO” Reissues, Premiere “Loveless” Live Video

Boris have announced that they will be reissuing “Flood” and “NO” on vinyl on August 27. “NO” will also receive a wide digital release on the same day. In other news, the band have also shared footage of “Loveless” from their April livestream event “NO World Tour In Your Head”:

Boris To Stream 360° Concert Tomorrow

Boris have announced a virtual event, which they are calling “NO World Tour In Your Head 2021.” The 360° performance will stream on YouTube tomorrow (May 1) at 8:00am PDT / 11:00am EDT. Fans will also be able to purchase exclusive merchandise and donate via PayPal. Atsuo commented:

“Since the Coronavirus is still ruling the world, we are unable to tour overseas. With this NO stream, we are taking a new approach and we are going to visit you directly in your head. I’m looking forward to it. Mosh in your room. Mosh alone!”

Boris & Merzbow To Release Collaborative Album “2R0I2P0” In December

Boris and Merzbow will be releasing a new collaborative album titled “2R0I2P0” on December 11. A video for the first single “Away From You” can be found below:

“2R0I2P0” Track Listing:

01. “Away From You”
02. “To The Beach”
03. “Coma”
04. “Love”
05. “Absolutego”
06. “Journey”
07. “Uzume”
08. “Evol”
09. “Boris”
10. “Shadow Of Skull”

The following was said about the album:

“The 10 track album showcases every bit of the excitement and pulse-pounding rock and metal heard throughout the inimitable, expansive Boris catalog, as it meets the signature harsh noise and soundscapes of the equally prolific Merzbow.

An album that is at once familiar and unique for its time, melodic and harsh in equal parts, 2R0I2P0 aims to find sonic harmony. After all, 2R0I2P0 translates to ‘Twenty Twenty R.I.P.'”

Boris themselves added:

“This year was a period of trial for everyone in the world. This work becomes a monument to the requiem of the previous era. From here, a new world begins again.”