Metal Allegiance To Cover Black Sabbath’s Debut Album Live At Brooklyn, NY Show

Metal Allegiance, the metal supergroup featuring core members David Ellefson (Megadeth), Alex Skolnick (Testament), Mike Portnoy (ex-Dream Theater, etc.), and Mark Menghi, along with multiple special guests, have announced a special Brooklyn, NY show in which they will be covering Black Sabbath‘s 1970 self-titled album in its entirety. The event will take place at the Brooklyn Bowl on October 27 and Judas Priestess, Alehkaine’s Gun, and Magus Beast will serve as support. It’s worth noting that Ellefson will miss the show due to his commitments to Megadeth. So far, Overkill’s Bobby Blitz has been the only guest to be announced.

Child Bite To Release “Burnt Offerings” Compilation In May

Child Bite will be releasing a new 2-CD covers/rarities compilation on May 11, via Phil Anselmo‘s Housecore Records. It will come with 28 tracks recorded throughout the band’s career, including some covers featuring Anselmo.

Shawn Knight commented:

“Here we have all of our loose ends. Lots of great stuff that’s either out-of-print or never came out for one reason or another. This serves as a mass grave for all of our musical orphans… This whole project came to mind when both our guitarist and drummer left the band last summer. We had put out so many random bits and pieces over the years, not to mention a full album’s worth of unreleased songs, that it really felt like a good time to take stock and officially wrap up that chapter of the band.

The first six tracks [from disc 1] are from vinyl-only split EPs we’ve put out. We’ve found that our strongest writing comes in small batches. These songs were written and recorded as pairs, and are some of our best tunes, not to mention some of the best sounding recordings we’ve ever had. Tracks seven through ten were meant for what became Negative Noise, but soon after we recorded these demos we got a new drummer and we started moving in a different direction.

These quick studio recordings have been collecting dust now for nearly five years… Tracks eleven through thirteen were recorded down at Anselmo‘s place on our way south for a big tour with Voivod and King Parrot. A couple members felt that the songs weren’t ready for prime time so we held off from using them until now. I wouldn’t be surprised if we revisited one or two of these in the future.”

“Burnt Offerings” Track Listing:

Disc 1:

01. “The Will To Disappear”
02. “Stag Thrall”
03. “Gang Omega”
04. “Sick & Subhuman”
05. “Prowl”
06. “Modern Torment”
07. “Abstract Interior Putrefaction”
08. “Feeding Tube Blues”
09. “Stroke the Negative”
10. “Carrion Tabernacle”
11. “Throb Forever”
12. “Corrosive Devotion”
13. “As I Approach The Void”
14. “Jerk Off Your Life”

Disc 2:

01. “My War”
02. “Police Truck”
03. “Earth A.D. / We Bite”
04. “I Against I / Jam”
05. “Guilty of Being White / It Follows”
06. “Hey!”
07. “Don’t”
08. “Unbridled”
09. “Siege” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
10. “Morrisey” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
11. “Chump Change” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
12. “Radio Hit” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
13. “Song #5” (feat. Phil Anselmo)
14. “The Usurper” (feat. Phil Anselmo)

Rex Brown (Pantera, Etc.) Is Thinking About Recording A Covers Release

Rex Brown (Pantera, etc.) was recently interviewed by Full Metal Jackie, and revealed that he is thinking about recording a new covers release. He said the following about that [via Loudwire]:

“…I want to continue in the direction I am headed now. In fact I might head into the studio and do some covers, something to kind of feel just more material and also to give the fans something cool.”


Stone Sour, Trivium, Escape The Fate, Etc. Cover Iron Maiden For Kerrang!’s New Tribute Album

The latest issue of Kerrang! comes with a follow up to their “Maiden Heaven” Iron Maiden covers album. The latest effort features covers from Stone Sour, Trivium, Escape The Fate, Fozzy and more.


Track Listing:

01. STONE SOUR – “Running Free”
02. REIGNING DAYS – “Speed Of Light”
03. ESCAPE THE FATE – “Hallowed By Thy Name”
04. LONELY THE BRAVE – “Fear Of The Dark”
05. TRIVIUM – “For The Greater Good Of God”
06. STEVEN BATTELLE – “The Red And The Black”
07. CREEPER – “The Evil That Men Do”
08. LOWER THAN ATLANTIS – “Number Of The Beast”
09. ANAAL NATHRAKH – “Powerslave”
10. CRY VENOM – “Aces High”
11. FOZZY – “Sun And Steel”
12. MUNCIE GIRLS – “The Wicker Man”
13. HECK – “The Trooper”
14. UNCLE ACID & THE DEADBEATS – “Remember Tomorrow”
15. ANATHEMA – “Wasted Years”

Halestorm, Chelsea Wolfe, Etc. Contribute To Eagles Of Death Metal’s Covers Campaign

Eagles Of Death Metal previously announced a “Play It Forward” campaign, which was created to get other artists to cover “I Love You All The Time” to benefit the victims of the November 13, 2015 terrorist attacks in Paris, France. Since then, a lot more artists have contributed. Here’s who added covers for round two of the campaign: Halestorm, Chelsea Wolfe, Nada Surf, Matt Cameron (Pearl Jam), ‪Liam Lynch‬, Petra Haden, The Beta Machine, The Beaches, The Whigs, brackets, Sonny Boy Thorn, Yard of Blondes, Ian Clement, Keith Kenny, The People Between, ‪and ‎Buffalo Brothers.

You can find all those covers at

The horrific attacks resulted in the deaths 0f over 100 people, including 89 at at the Bataclan, where Eagles Of Death Metal were playing.

Previous artists that contributed to the campaign can be found HERE.

Adrenaline Mob To Release Dearly Departed In February

Adrenaline Mob have announced that they will be releasing a new covers/rarities disc on February 10, titled Dearly Departed. The compilation will include four covers, three acoustic tracks, an edited version of “Dearly Departed” and one unrealeased song.


Dearly Departed Track Listing:

01. “Snortin’ Whiskey” (Pat Travers cover)
02. “Dearly Departed” (edited version of Men Of Honor track)
03. “The Devil Went Down To Georgia” (Charlie Daniels Band cover)
04. ‘Crystal Clear” (acoustic version of Men Of Honor track)
05. “Sabbath Medley” (Black Sabbath cover)
06. “Gets You Through The Night” (unreleased track from Men Of Honor sessions)
07. “Angel Sky” (acoustic version of Omerta track)
08. “All On The Line” (acoustic version of Omerta track)
09. “Tie Your Mother Down” (Queen cover)