Elegant Weapons (Judas Priest, Etc.) Share Animated Video For New Song “Blind Leading The Blind”

Elegant Weapons (Judas Priest, Rainbow, etc.) have shared an animated video for their new song “Blind Leading The Blind.” This track is from the band’s new album “Horns For A Halo,” which will be released on May 26. Guitarist Richie Faulkner commented:

“The video is great and gives a quirky and stylistic representation of the meaning of the song. The main character is getting drunk on the power he is given by the people that trust him, only to be found out later when his followers really see the truth. When the power is taken away, he is seen for what he really is.”

“Horns For A Halo” Track Listing:

01. “Dead Man Walking”
02. “Do Or Die”
03. “Blind Leading The Blind”
04. “Ghost Of You”
05. “Bitter Pill”
06. “Lights Out”
07. “Horns For A Halo”
08. “Dirty Pig”
09. “White Horse”
10. “Downfall Rising”

Elegant Weapons (Judas Priest, Etc.) Reveal Live Lineup

Elegant Weapons, the project featuring guitarist Richie Faulkner (Judas Priest) and vocalist Ronnie Romero (Rainbow), have revealed that they will be joined by bassist Dave Rimmer (Uriah Heep) and drummer Christopher Williams (Accept) during their upcoming live dates. Those musicians will be taking over for bassist Rex Brown (Pantera) and drummer Scott Travis (Judas Priest), who performed on the band’s upcoming album “Horns For A Halo.” The group currently have the following dates booked:

06/16 Clisson, France – Hellfest
07/02 Bologna, Italy – The Return Of The Gods

[via Blabbermouth]

Judas Priest, Pantera, And Rainbow Members Join Forces For New Project Elegant Weapons

Guitarist Richie Faulkner (Judas Priest), bassist Rex Brown (Pantera), drummer Scott Travis (Judas Priest) and singer Ronnie Romero (Rainbow) have announced a new project called Elegant Weapons. The band have signed a new deal with Nuclear Blast Records and are planning to release their debut album, “Horns For A Halo,” in spring 2023.

Faulkner said the following:

“It’s exciting to be part of a label like Nuclear Blast that has such a rich history and level of respect among fans and the music industry. Monte Conner [Nuclear Blast VP A&R] knows [producer] Andy Sneap well, and Andy has always held Monte and label in very high regard. Monte has loved the record from the very early demo stages. It’s very valuable and important to me that the label I sign with understand and connect with the music. This record represents for me more of my DNA as a guitar player and a songwriter. Heavy, but moving slightly outside the realms of ‘heavy metal.’ Those roots are obvious, but I wanted to reach in a bit and see what else came out that wasn’t necessarily ‘expected.’

I’ve always wanted to make a record with Scott outside of Priest. Add to that Rex Brown’s unmistakable tone and attitude is something special. Having those guys as the rhythm section is a guitar players dream. The icing on the cake was Ronnie Romero. One of the new breed of instantly classic vocalists, Ronnie brought a character and a swagger to the songs that is instantly iconic, making these songs his own.”

He went on to say that the new material is “a mix of Jimi Hendrix, Priest, Sabbath, solo Ozzy and Black Label Society”:

“[It’s] heavy, catchy, and with melody. Sort of old school and modern at once if that makes any sense, and actually down-tuned a whole step. The Marshall Plexi basically does one thing, but you’ve got to crank it to 11 for it to have that distorted sound. It hasn’t got a lot of bells and whistles on it or different channels and effects. It basically does one thing and does it very well. But again down-tuning creates more of a modern sound, and by using the classic sound of the Marshall Plexi, you get that juxtaposition, that contrast. All told, there are a lot of guitar solos and the songs are on the heavier side. And even though there’s a lot of melody, it’s still going to shake your bones.”

He also added:

“Me and acoustic don’t really get along, so there’s only one mellow song on it, a sort of smoky, haunted, New Orleans kind of tune called ‘Ghost of You,’ with de-tuned 1920s piano on it. That one is about a memory, or ghost of a lost love. But that’s about as acoustic as it gets. I’m not really attracted to acoustic guitar in general. It’s mainly kind of heavy and full-on, really. There’s a song called ‘White Horse,’ plus ‘Horns for a Halo’, which is like Tony Iommi crossed with Alice in Chains. That’s about the way we justify the bad things we do. When we turn up on Judgement Day, will the angels kind of confuse our horns for halos, if you know what I mean.”

Monte Conner commented as well:

“I am such a huge fan of all the players involved, especially Richie. As a diehard Priest fan, I have enjoyed watching help breathe new life into the band and add to their incredible story and legacy. What an amazing player he is. People always focus on leads, and of course Richie is a master in that department, but I can listen to him play rhythm guitar all day long! His rhythm playing is just so tasteful and magical. I can’t wait for fans to hear this album and discover how multi-faceted he is.”