The Crown Part Ways With Drummer Henrik Axelsson

The Crown have parted ways with drummer Henrik Axelsson. Mikael Norén will now be taking his place.

The band issued the following statement:

“Sometimes things come to an end.

We have decided to part ways with Henrik, he has been a kickass drummer and a solid Viking Punk in this band for 7 years. We part on mutual, good terms and would like to thank him and wish him all the best for his future.

As for the rest of us – We have onboarded an amazing drummer in Mikael Norén, an old friend of ours that previously also played in Impious together with Robin. We believe that we will make one hell of a team for 2023. We can’t wait to see you all.

The Crown Never Dies!


The Crown 2023 line-up:

Mattias ”Arvid” Rasmussen – Bass
Johan Lindstrand – Vocals
Marko Tervonen – Guitars
Mikael Norén – Drums
Robin Sörqvist – Lead guitar”

Axelsson added:

“It’s been a pleasure for 7 years! I wish all the best to the boys in their future adventures. Hope to see you somewhere on the road.”

The Crown Officially Welcome Bassist Mattias ”Arvid” Rasmussen To The Band

The Crown have officially welcomed bassist Mattias ”Arvid” Rasmussen to the band. The group commented:

“Viking Punks! Let’s all welcome Mattias ”Arvid” Rasmussen as a permanent member of The Crown! The Deathrace Machine is once again ready to kill!! We have some really cool plans how to approach the next album regarding recordings etc, but more about that later on. We have also started to work on a solid live schedule for 2023 together with Dragon Productions and Metal Blade Records! Forwards, FIRE!!! Let’s go 2023!! //The Crown never dies!”

Bassist Magnus Olsfelt Exits The Crown

Bassist Magnus Olsfelt has announced his departure from The Crown. A replacement has yet to be chosen.

The band issued the following statement:

“Hello Viking Punks!!

We are very sorry to inform you that our bassplayer, one of the founding members of The Crown, Magnus Olsfelt has decided to leave the band. After 32 years we go separate ways. We are very sad about this, he has always put in 110 % and has written tons of memorably songs and he will be missed.

But this will definitely not be the end of The Crown. This will mark the first step writing a new chapter and we are extremely determined and focused to continue our journey.

We are already deep into writing the follow up to Royal Destroyer and we feel that we definitely have some new Death Metal magic coming up!!

The process of finding a replacement will start soon.

The Crown never dies!!

/Johan, Marko, Robin, Henrik”

Olsfelt added:

“The Crown has been a part of my life since I was 14 years old, it’s had its highs and its lows and it has overall been a damn good race, but for me this is over now. I just don’t have the heart and inner drive to keep on doing this anymore, and that leaves me with no other alternative than to leave the band. I am grateful for all the people who have supported us in any way over the years and I hope that the band can keep on doing good in the future.

Goodbye and thanks for all the memories!


The Crown Premiere “We Drift On” Video

The Crown have premiered a new video for their new song “We Drift On.” This track is from the band’s new album “Royal Destroyer,” which will be released on March 12. Guitarist Marko Tervonen commented:

“I think that after 30 years, people are aware that we can play pretty brutal music. But we also sometimes like to take it down a notch and explore other areas. I guess in 2021, it’s pretty difficult to ‘surprise’ people with a brutal song, so we hope to surprise you with this more mellow tune. Dare I even use the word ‘ballad’ *insert-fear-here* Ok. Lean back, drift on and enjoy.”

The Crown Stream New Song “Driven To Disaster”

The Crown are streaming a new song titled “Driven To Disaster.” The non-album track will be available as a flexi disc in a new issue of Decibel Magazine. As previously reported, the band’s new album “Royal Destroyer” will be released on March 12.

The Crown Premiere “Motordeath” Video, Reveal Details For New Album “Royal Destroyer”

The Crown have premiered a new video for their new song “Motordeath.” This track is from the band’s new album “Royal Destroyer,” which will be released on March 12. The group said the following about that effort:

“It is our album number ten, so now we are in the big boys club. I think it in some ways is our crowning achievement, and it encompasses our sound across all albums on one defining record. It’s got it all – the early 90s death metal stuff, the haunting melodies, the thrash, the punk, the grind, the heavy metal and the more epic and doomy stuff.”

“Royal Destroyer” Track Listing:

01. “Baptized In Violence”
02. “Let The Hammering Begin!”
03. “Motordeath”
04. “Ultra Faust”
05. “Glorious Hades”
06. “Full Metal Justice”
07. “Scandinavian Satan”
08. “Devoid Of Light”
09. “We Drift On”
10. “Beyond The Frail”

The CD version will also come with a demos release titled “Deathrace 13.” Here’s the track listing for that:

01. “Deathexplosion” (demo)
02. “No Tomorrow” (demo)
03. “Executioner” (demo)
04. “Face Of Destruction” (demo)
05. “I Won’t Follow” (demo)
06. “Deliverance” (demo)
07. “Vengeance” (demo)
08. “Natashead Overdrive” (demo)
09. “Dead Man’s Song” (demo)
10. “Are You Morbid” (demo)
11. “Bow To None” (demo)
12. “Cold Is The Grave” (demo)
13. “Rebel Angel” (demo)

The Crown Begin Recording New Album

The Crown have officially started the recording process for their new album. The sessions are taking place at Studio Fredman in Gothenburg, Sweden. Bassist Magnus Olsfelt said the following:

“As it is known a sequel should follow up the themes of the original but being more violent and brutal, more of everything. This also mark album No. 10 as well as the 30th Anniversary of The Crown. It all aligns to be a defining and iconic album of our career. Expect no mercy!”

The Crown Announce December European Dates

The Crown have announced some December European shows with Svart Crown, Bleeding Gods, Temnein, and Bleeding Utopia. Here’s the dates:

12/10 Aarhus, Denmark – Voxhall
12/11 Hamburg, Germany – Bambi Galore
12/12 Erfurt, Germany – From Hell
12/13 Mannheim, Germany – MS Connexion
12/14 Sursee, Switzerland – Kulturwerk 118
12/15 Chapelle-lez-Herlaimont, Belgium – Le Cercle

The Crown Premiere “In The Name Of Death” Video

The Crown have premiered a new video for their song “In The Name Of Death.” This track is from their latest album “Cobra Speed Venom.” The group commented:

“The Crown gives you a death-chillin’ tune as a counter action for this ridiciously hot season – ‘In The Name Of Death‘! A tune that will automatically make you drink more beer!”