Mike Patton & Jean-Claude Vannier Premiere “Chansons D’Amour” Video

Mike Patton (Faith No More, Dead Cross, etc.) and French composer Jean-Claude Vannier have premiered a new video for their new song “Chansons D’Amour.” This track is from the duo’s new collaborative album “Corpse Flower,“ which will be released on September 13.

Vannier commented:

“When I was a little boy, love songs terrified me, with their stupid Ophelias, faded flowers of melodramatics singers, quavering vocalists of another time, barbaric rituals, screams of impatient sexes, furious and bloody refrains, like in this beautiful and poisonous video. Afterwards, I lived some love stories and it was even worse, all a bazaar puppet show that moved me despite myself, took me hostage and blames me for these crimes that I did not commit.”

Director Eric Livingston added:

“The melody on ‘Chansons D’Amour’ chased me around in the back of my head for a few days after listening. I found it to be a haunting and unapologetically honest version of Vannier’s original piece. When I was given the choice between a few songs to shoot a video accompaniment for, I gravitated towards this one. Mainly, because I knew it would be a challenge for me. To film something that is subtle, yet demands attention.”


Mike Patton And Jean-Claude Vannier Team Up For New Album “Corpse Flower”

Mike Patton (Faith No More, Dead Cross, etc.) has joined forces with French composer Jean-Claude Vannier for a new album called “Corpse Flower.“ The effort will be released on September 13 and the first single “On Top Of The World” can be streamed below:

The record was recorded in Los Angeles, CA and Paris, France with a number of different musicians including: Smokey Hormel (Beck, Johnny Cash), Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Beck, Air, Nine Inch Nails), James Gadson (Beck, Jamie Lidell), Denys Lable, Bernard Paganotti (Magma), Daniel Ciampolini, Didier Malherbe, Léonard Le Cloarec, and The Bécon Palace String Ensemble. Patton said the following about the project:

“Jean-Claude and I met while working together on a [Serge] Gainsbourg retrospective at the Hollywood Bowl in 2011. We bonded immediately. I could see he had a dedication and attention to detail that was relentless so the respect I had for him in my mind was magnified in person. We spoke loosely about working together in the future… and it took some time, but after a few years I contacted him and we began to ignite some sparks.”

Vannier added:

“I would send Mike rough versions of the songs to get his thoughts, then I’d wait impatiently, staring at the clock, until I received his response. He made my music awaken with his unique perspective and interpretations of my songs. A formidable vocalist, with a sense of humor, Mike and I created a strong, beautiful and sincere collection of music, as well as a friendship.”

“Corpse Flower” Track Listing:

01. “Ballad C.3.3.”
02. “Camion”
03. “Chansons D’Amour”
04. “Cold Sun Warm Beer”
05. “Browning”
06. “Ghost”
07. “Corpse Flower”
08. “Insolubles”
09. “On Top Of The World”
10. “A Schoolgirl’s Day”
11. “Pink And Bleue”
12. “Yard Bull”

Mike Patton Composes Theme For New AMC TV Series “NOS4A2”

Mike Patton (Faith No More, etc.) has composed the opening theme for the new AMC series “NOS4A2.” The show, which stars Zachary Quinto, will debut on June 2. It’s worth noting that the first episode will also include a score by Patton. Here’s a description of the series:

“The supernatural horror series NOS4A2, based on Joe Hill‘s bestselling novel of the same name, tells the story of Charlie Manx, a seductive immortal who feeds off the souls of children, then deposits what remains of them into Christmasland – an icy, twisted Christmas village of Manx’s imagination where every day is Christmas Day and unhappiness is against the law. Manx finds his whole world threatened when a young woman in New England discovers she has a dangerous gift.”

[via The PRP]

Mike Patton (Faith No More) Cancels Appearance At Chris Cornell Tribute Show

Mike Patton (Faith No More, Dead Cross, etc.) has announced that he will no longer be taking part in tonight’s (January 16) Chris Cornell tribute concert. That show, which is being called “I Am The Highway: A Tribute To Chris Cornell,” will be held at The Forum in Inglewood, CA and it will feature members of Soundgarden, Audioslave, Temple Of The Dog, Foo Fighters, Metallica, Maroon 5, Queens Of The Stone Age, and more. Patton said the following:

“Unfortunately Im not going to be able to make the Chris Cornell tribute concert Wednesday night. Best wishes to my friends Ben, Kim and Matt and to Chris‘s family. It is going to be quite an evening. I also want to thank the Los Angeles Rams for the invitation to sing the national anthem last weekend. A bad week to not be feeling good.”

Faith No More’s Mike Patton To Take Part In Upcoming Chris Cornell Tribute Show, Cancels National Anthem Performance At NFL Game

Mike Patton (Faith No More, Dead Cross, etc.) has announced that he will be taking part in the upcoming Chris Cornell tribute concert at The Forum in Inglewood, CA on January 16. That show, which is being called “I Am The Highway: A Tribute To Chris Cornell,” will also feature members of Soundgarden, Audioslave, Temple Of The Dog, Foo Fighters, and Metallica, as well as Ryan Adams. Jimmy Kimmel will host the event along with special guests. Proceeds will go towards the Epidermolysis Bullosa Medical Research Foundation. In other news, Patton was also scheduled to sing the U.S. national anthem at today’s (January 12) Los Angeles Rams and Dallas Cowboys NFL game at the L.A. Memorial Coliseum in Los Angeles, CA, but he cancelled after he “woke up feeling horrible.”

Watch Mike Patton Perform Mr. Bungle’s “Retrovertigo” With Uri Caine In Italy

Mike Patton (Faith No More, Dead Cross, etc.) recently took the stage with Uri Caine for two “Forgotten Songs” performances in Modena, Italy. One of the tracks they played was Mr. Bungle’s “Retrovertigo.“ You can see footage of that below:

[via The PRP]