Rancid, Pennywise, & Suicidal Tendencies Join Forces As The Crew, Release New Benefit Single “One Voice”

Rancid‘s Tim Armstrong and Matt Freeman, Pennywise‘s Fletcher Dragge and Byron McMackin, and Suicidal Tendencies’ Mike Muir have joined forces in a new band called The Crew. The group have released a new benefit single titled “One Voice.“ The track is available digitally and can also be pre-ordered as a limited edition 7 inch with proceeds set to go towards Musack, an organization that works to “give kids and teens a voice through music by providing musical instruments and support for teachers.” The 7 inch will also include a track, titled “One In A Million,” by Rippy And The Sillyettes, who feature kids from Musack. Dragge said the following about “One Voice”:

“Collaborating with Tim Armstrong, Mike Muir, and Matt Freeman has been an awesome experience, obviously Byron Mcmackin and I go way back. Byron and I had a demo of ‘One Voice’ laying around for couple years, and I thought it would be cool to bring a couple old friends on board to breath some new life into it. Watching these guys lay down their own personal trademark styles on this song was nothing short of amazing! I think it’s safe to safe we’re all pretty fucking stoked on the final product, and being able to donate proceeds to Musack feels pretty awesome as well. Find it, crank it up, and enjoy!”

Charlie Benante (Anthrax), Carla Harvey (Butcher Babies), Etc. Featured In “Punk Rock & Paintbrushes” Art Book

Punk Rock & Paintbrushes will be releasing a new coffee table art book titled “Punk Rock & Paintbrushes: The Insides Of Artists Written By Outsiders” on April 15. The book, which was co-created by Emily T. Nielsen (Punk Rock & Paintbrushes) and Warren Fitzgerald (The Vandals), can be pre-ordered HERE.

Here’s the artists and chapters featured in the book:

* Tim Armstrong: Punk, Passion & Paint
* Chali 2na: Manphibian Missions
* Jason Cruz: Screaming Smoke and Paintings Sung in the Key of A Minor
* Natalia Fabia: Lady Painter
* Sarah & Eric Melvin: A Couple That Paints Together
* Mark deSalvo: Leftover Liner Notes
* Steve Caballero: Skate and Create
* Paul Kobriger: The Footprint of Humans as Told Through a Ball Point Pen
* Carla Harvey: Sex & Transgressions
* Charlie Benante: Persistence Gets Surreal
* Chris Shary & Lori Herbst: Folie a Deux
* Christian Hosoi: Unrestricted Expression
* Jim Lindberg: Every Single Day
* Brent Broza: Time For a Change
* Danielle Donohue: The Great Gatsby or the GREATEST Gatsby???
* Dan Smith: Heart and Soul
* Olya & Vira – Mad Twins: Twins of Madness
* Matt Hensley: Under Pressure
* Jason Adams: Destination Nowheresville USA
* Jennie Cotterill: Bad Cop, Good Cake
* Tokyo Hiro: From Taboo to Tattoo
* Mike Gallo: My Life. My Way Everyday
* Shawn Foley: Chaotic Ambition
* Brian Bent: Bent Not Broken
* Soma Snakeoil: DominARTrix: Intersection of Sex, Art & Politics
* Warren Fitzgerald: An All Access Sanctuary of Self Expression & Autonomy

[via Blabbermouth]

Madball Premiere “The Fog” Music Video Feat. Rancid’s Tim Armstrong

Madball have premiered a new video for their song “The Fog.” This track features Rancid’s Tim Armstrong and it appears on the band’s new album “For The Cause,” which was released today (June 15).

Madball Begin Recording New Album “For The Cause”

Madball have officially started the recording process for their new album “For The Cause.” Rancid’s Tim Armstrong is producing the effort, while Tue Madsen is set to handle the mixing and mastering. Former Madball guitarist Matt Henderson will be tracking guitars for the album, but is not going to join them on tour.

Madball To Begin Recording New Album “For The Cause” Next Month

Madball are planning to start the recording process for their new album “For The Cause” next month. Rancid’s Tim Armstrong will produce the effort, while Tue Madsen will handle the mixing and mastering. Former Madball guitarist Matt Henderson will be tracking guitars for the album, but is not going to join them on tour.

Armstrongs (Green Day, Rancid, Etc.) Stream New Song “If There Was Ever A Time”

Armstrongs, the band featuring Billie Joe Armstrong (Green Day), Tim Armstrong (Rancid), Joey Armstrong (SWMRS), and Rey Armstrong, are streaming their new song “If There Was Ever A Time.” The song, which was written for the “Turn It Around: The Story of East Bay Punk” documentary, will officially be available on July 28, with 1000 copies available on flexi-disc via Pirates Press. Proceeds from sales will go towards 924 Gilman.

[via Alternative Press]