Epica To Release Official Book “The Essence Of Epica”

Epica have announced that they are working on a new book called “The Essence Of Epica.” The following description was posted on epicabook.com:

“This unique book tells the story of the remarkable musical journey of Epica in their own words, and is illustrated throughout with rare, candid and classic photographs. ‘The Essence of Epica’ contains first-person testimony from Simone, Mark, Coen, Ariën, Isaac and Rob along with that of former members, friends and colleagues of the band. The story of Epica’s rise from Dutch newcomers to international symphonic metal giants is described in majestic and mesmerising style in this official, exclusive book.”

More info can be found HERE.


Epica Stream “Crimson Bow And Arrow” From “Epica Vs. Attack On Titan” EP

Epica are streaming “Crimson Bow And Arrow” from their “Epica Vs. Attack On Titan” EP. That effort, which features metal versions of the theme songs from “Attack On Titan,” will officially be released outside Japan on July 20.

Epica’s “Epica Vs. Attack On Titan” EP To Receive Worldwide Release

After previously only being available in Japan, Epica’s “Epica Vs. Attack On Titan” EP will now be released worldwide on July 20. The effort features metal versions of the theme songs from “Attack On Titan.” Keyboardist Coen Janssen commented:

“The ‘Attack On Titan’ EP is a project very close to my heart. More than ever, I was involved in arranging and producing and I am very proud of the result! Very cool to see how these Japanese anime songs turned into Epica songs more and more every step of the way!!! I’m very excited that our ‘Attack On Titan’ EP will be available outside of Japan!

“Epica Vs. Attack On Titan” Track Listing:

01. “Crimson Bow And Arrow”
02. “Wings Of Freedom”
03. “If Inside These Walls Was A House”
04. “Dedicate Your Heart!”
05. “Crimson Bow And Arrow” (Instrumental)
06. “Wings Of Freedom” (Instrumental)
07. “If Inside These Walls Was A House” (Instrumental)
08. “Dedicate Your Heart!” (Instrumental)

Epica Premiere “Universal Love Squad” Video

Epica have premiered a new video for “Universal Love Squad.” This song is an acoustic version of “The Holographic Principle” track “Universal Death Squad.” The clip was filmed during the band’s 1000th show at the 013 in Tilburg, Netherlands. Mark Jansen commented:

“At the 1000th show, we performed for the first time ever the acoustic version of ‘Universal Death Squad’, which became ‘Universal Love Squad’. As many fans kept asking us to play something acoustic live, we couldn’t resist any longer. We want to thank our fans from all over the world for all these fantastic shows and hopefully there will be a 1000 more to come!”

Amaranthe, Heaven Shall Burn, Epica, Etc. Cover Powerwolf For “Communio Lupatum” Album

A number of artists have covered Powerwolf songs for a new covers album called “Communio Lupatum.” That effort will be included with select editions of Powerwolf’s new album “The Sacrament Of Sin” and the details for it can be found below. “The Sacrament Of Sin” is expected to be released on August 3, and the cover art and track listing can be found HERE.

“Communio Lupatum” Track Listing:

01. Epica – “Sacred & Wild”
02. Saltatio Mortis – “We Drink Your Blood”
03. Caliban – “Kiss Of The Cobra King”
04. Battle Beast – “Resurrection By Erection”
05. Heaven Shall Burn – “Night Of The Werewolves”
06. KADAVAR – “The Evil Made Me Do It”
07. Kissin’ Dynamite – “Let There Be Night”
08. Amaranthe – “Army Of The Night”
09. Mille Petrozza (Kreator) & Marc Görtz (Caliban) – “Amen & Attack”
10. Eluveitie – “Nata vimpi cvrmi da / Ira Sancti (When the Saints Are Going Wild)”

Watch Footage Of Lacuna Coil’s Cristina Scabbia Joining Epica Onstage In Tilburg

During Epica’s 1000th show at 013 in Tilburg, the Netherlands, Lacuna Coil’s Cristina Scabbia joined the band onstage for a performance of “Storm The Sorrow.” You can see footage of that below:

Epica Premiere Animated Video For “Decoded Poetry”

Epica have premiered a new animated video for “Decoded Poetry” off their “The Solace System” EP. Keyboardist Coen Janssen commented:

“It has been a great pleasure working with the talented Davide Cilloni on this unique video trilogy. In this final part, we finally find out what will happen to our dimension and if the Universal Death Squad will conquer our planet… Let’s hope for the best!! I hope you enjoy this last part as much as I have enjoyed seeing myself as a cartoon, haha!”