Weezer Release “SZNZ: Autumn” EP

Weezer have released a new EP titled “SZNZ: Autumn.” The effort is currently available digitally and can be pre-ordered on vinyl and CD HERE. The record is the third EP in a series of releases focusing on the four seasons.

“SZNZ: Autumn” Track Listing:

01. “Can’t Dance, Don’t Ask Me”
02. “Get Off On The Pain”
03. “What Happens After You”
04. “Francesca”
05. “Should She Stay Or Should She Go”
06. “Taste Like Pain”
07. “Run, Raven, Run”

You can see footage of the band performing “What Happens After You” from the EP on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” below:

Weezer Cancel Broadway Residency “Due To Low Ticket Sales”

Weezer have cancelled their upcoming Broadway Residency “due to low ticket sales.” Frontman Rivers Cuomo issued the following statement [via Pitchfork]:

“I just learned that our Broadway shows have been cancelled (due to low ticket sales and unbelievably high expenses.) I’m very sorry to be telling you this now after we’ve already invested so much time, thought, and emotion. Extra apologies to those of you who cleared schedules and made travel plans to be with us. Thanks to @Broadway Producer for all your hard work and great ideas. I loved where we were going and I hope we can find a way to resurrect our vision.”

Weezer Release “SZNZ: Summer” EP, Announce Broadway Residency

Weezer have released a new EP titled “SZNZ: Summer.” The effort is the second in a series of EPs focusing on the four seasons. You can see footage of the band performing “Records” from the EP on “Jimmy Kimmel Live!” below:

“SZNZ: Summer” Track Listing:

01. “Lawn Chair”
02. “Records”
03. “Blue Like Jazz”
04. “The Opposite of Me”
05. “What’s the Good of Being Good”
06. “Cuomoville”
07. “Thank You and Good Night”
08. “Portia” (vinyl only)

In other news, the band have also announced a Broadway residency. Here’s the dates:

09/13 New York, NY – Broadway Theatre (“Spring”)
09/14 New York, NY – Broadway Theatre (“Summer”)
09/15 New York, NY – Broadway Theatre (“Autumn)”
09/16 New York, NY – Broadway Theatre (“Winter”)
09/17 New York, NY – Broadway Theatre (“Encore”)

Weezer Premiere New Song “A Little Bit Of Love”

Weezer have premiered a new song titled “A Little Bit Of Love.” This track is from the band’s new EP “SZNZ: Spring,” which will be released on March 20. The effort will be the first in a series of EPs focusing on the four seasons.

“SZNZ: Spring” Track Listing:

01. “Opening Night”
02. “Angels On Vacation”
03. “A Little Bit of Love”
04. “The Garden Of Eden”
05. “The Sound Of Drums”
06. “All This Love”
07. “Wild At Heart”
08. “Across The Meadow” (vinyl only)

Concert Review: Green Day, Fall Out Boy, Weezer, And The Interrupters Rock Oracle Park In San Francisco, CA

Last night (August 27), Green Day, Fall Out Boy, Weezer, and The Interrupters brought their “Hella Mega” tour to Oracle Park in San Francisco, CA. The show was one of the biggest Bay Area concerts since the start of the pandemic and it was nothing short of incredible.

The Interrupters opened the show with a fun ska punk set. The short, energetic performance helped set the tone for the evening and those who showed up early were not disappointed. Some highlights from their set included “She’s Kerosene” and a rockin’ cover of Billie Eilish’s “Bad Guy.”

After The Interrupters, it was time for Weezer to take the stage. The band really got things going with shredding songs from their latest album “Van Weezer” mixed with all of their hits. The crowd really went nuts for tracks like “Hash Pipe,” “Say It Ain’t So,” “Buddy Holly,” and the band’s cover of Toto’s “Africa,” which all turned into giant singalongs. By the time they finished, the audience was already at a high that only extended when Fall Out Boy took the stage.

Fall Out Boy were especially impressive with a set full of hit songs backed by cool visuals and massive amounts of pyro. Pete Wentz even performed with a flame throwing bass, reminiscent of the one famously used by Mötley Crüe’s Nikki Sixx, while frontman Patrick Stump performed some tracks on a flaming piano. The band were one of the most entertaining acts of the night, keeping everyone dancing with hits like “Uma Thurman,” “My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light Em Up),” “Dance, Dance,” “Sugar, We’re Goin’ Down,” “Thnks fr the Mmrs,” and “This Ain’t A Scene, It’s An Arms Race.”

As soon as Fall Out Boy were done, it was time for the most explosive band of the night, the Bay Area’s own Green Day. The group kicked off the high-octane set with “American Idiot” much to the delight of the audience. Before finishing up the song, frontman Billie Joe Armstrong encouraged everyone to put their phones away, saying that we spent all of quarantine on our devices and that it was time to be together. From there, the group powered through “Holiday” and “Know Your Enemy,” before playing their newest single “Pollyanna,” which promised that “everything’s gonna be alright” in these unprecedented times. From there, it was just hit after hit with songs like “Boulevard Of Broken Dreams,” which saw the crowd light up the whole stadium with their phones, “Longview,” which sent everyone into a frenzy with Mike Dirnt’s iconic bass line, and “Basket Case,” which had everyone in full-on party mode. Aside from those tracks, other highlights included ballads like “21 Guns” and “Wake Me Up When September Ends,” rockers like “Minority,” and the group’s nine-minute epic “Jesus Of Suburbia.” The show appropriately wrapped up with “Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)” and a blast of fireworks.

All in all, it was an amazing show full of great music that helped bring everyone together, while also providing a much needed escape from the outside world.

Weezer & The Interrupters Both Covered Fall Out Boy’s “Sugar We’re Goin’ Down” During New York “Hella Mega” Show

As previously reported, Fall Out Boy were forced to drop off the Queens, NY and Boston, MA dates of their “Hella Mega” tour with Green Day, Weezer, and The Interrupters due to a positive COVID-19 case within their camp. Despite this, Weezer and The Interrupters tried to make it up to the New York crowd last night (August 4) by performing covers of Fall Out Boy’s “Sugar We’re Goin’ Down.” You can find fan-filmed footage of both covers below:

Listen To Weezer’s Cover Of Metallica’s “Enter Sandman”

Weezer have released their cover of Metallica’s “Enter Sandman.” This track is from Metallica’s massive “Black Album” tribute album, “The Metallica Blacklist.“ That effort will be released on September 10 alongside a 30th anniversary expanded edition of “The Black Album.”

Weezer Plan To Release Four New Albums In 2022

During a recent appearance on “Good Morning America,” Weezer’s Rivers Cuomo revealed that the band are planning to release four new albums next year. He said the following about that:

“I guess I’ve had a lot of time on my hands so I wrote four albums that we’ll put out next year. It’s called ‘Seasons,’ and each album comes out on the first day of the season. Spring is kind of like happy chill. And then we move through to dance rock, like a Strokes-style album for the fall, and then sad acoustic, Elliott Smith-style for winter.”

[via Loudwire]

Weezer’s Rivers Cuomo Says He Offered “Hash Pipe” To Ozzy Osbourne In 2000

In an alternate universe, Weezer’s “Hash Pipe” could have ended up being an Ozzy Osbourne song. During a recent interview with Guitar World, Weezer’s Rivers Cuomo revealed that he actually offered Osbourne the track back in 2000, but he ultimately rejected it:

“Once, I think it was in 2000, he asked if I had any songs for him, and I just happened to have written ‘Hash Pipe.’ I sent it to him, but he didn’t end up using it. In another reality, it might be interesting to hear him singing that song.”