Ben Orum (All Shall Perish, Oblivion) Recovering From Neck Surgery

Ben Orum (All Shall Perish, Oblivion, etc.) has revealed that he is currently recovering after undergoing neck surgery. He said the following about that on Facebook:

“Over the last 3 years I’ve had shooting electrical pains down my left arm and my fingers on my left hand have become completely numb (certifical radiculopathy). after two MRIs we descovered a pinched nerve in my neck with my discs almost completely eroded at my c5-c7 with severe spinal stenosis on top of this. I wasn’t comfortable sitting, standing, laying down but worst of all, picking up a guitar was almost impossible for me and that was very emotional. I decided it was finally time for neck surgery to fix it. Yesterday they replaced two of my cervical discs with artificial discs, and I’m happy to report I am already feeling relief. Time to slow down a bit and recover.. Send good vibes, Love you all.”

[via The PRP]

Oblivion Premiere “Threshold” Lyric Video

Oblivion have premiered a lyric video for their new song “Threshold.” This track is from the band’s new self-titled album, which will be released on January 21. Guitarist Nick Vasallo commented:

“Our new track “Threshold” is our bleakest and darkest track to date. It is about the consumption of the earth and end of humanity. I composed it while battling the peak of the 2016 flu virus, fever ridden and unable to sleep. The harmonies and angular melodies are unstable. The lyrics as sung in my lowest register. Ben and Ted played with their darkest guitar tones. Behold…THRESHOLD”

[via Metal Injection]

Oblivion To Release New Album In January, Premiere “True Awakening” Lyric Video

Oblivion (All Shall Perish, etc.) have announced that they will be releasing their new self-titled album on January 21. You can find a lyric video for the band’s new song “True Awakening” below, along with the effort’s cover art and track listing:

Track Listing:

01. “True Awakening”
02. “Fear What is Unknown”
03. “Forgotten Brotherhood”
04. “Witnessing a Glorious Dawn”
05. “Insurrection”
06. “Aliens Among Us”
07. “Threshold”
08. “Expand the Hive”
09. “Negative Mass”

Guitarist Ted O’Neil said the following about the new album:

“One of the hallmarks of the Oblivion sound has been the blending of many styles of extreme music. Encompassing elements of Black Metal, OSDM, Technical Death Metal as well as Classical music that may be thought of as Modern Chamber Music. Nick Vasallo‘s background as a PhD in music theory and his experience as a classical composer gives us a huge boost in creating our material.

So, for this album we really wanted Nick to go all the way with it and do what he does best. He is tremendous at creating tension, counter point and brutal arrangements while maintaining a structure that is still accessible. On that same note Ben Orum is a great writer in his own respect.

Ben brings to the table the ability to create crushing rhythms and massive chord progressions that create the backbone of many of the songs. Luis “The Human Drum Machine” Martinez is just a unique talent with an eclectic style that blends perfectly with what we do.

So, the idea was to really have everyone bring to the table their best skills and blend it all together. I think people are going to love this album. It’s very diverse but doesn’t lose focus. It’s brutally heavy throughout but not fatiguing. It’s dark and in spots bleak but not depressing as it is LOADED with hook after hook and tons of groove.”

Oblivion Premiere “It Has Become” Video

Oblivion have premiered a new video for their new song “It Has Become.“ This track is from the band’s latest album “The Path Towards…“

Vocalist/bassist Nick Vasallo commented:

“‘It Has Become‘ represents some of the main themes from ‘The Path Towards…‘: Despite the billions of years of evolution leading to humanity’s total preeminence, we have created a technological dominion that is quickly growing out of our reach.

The intertribal conflict and desire for material wealth that benefitted us millenia ago in a harsher, simpler world now chains us to the bottom of a rising ocean in which survival demands unity and order at a higher level. Our failure to surpass our limitations leaves a clear niche for a superior competitor to fill, to displace us, and to continue the cycle of oblivion.”

[via No Clean Singing]

Oblivion Premiere New Song “Concrete Thrones” Feat. Eddie Hermida (Suicide Silence)

Oblivion have premiered a new song titled “Concrete Thrones,“ via Metal Injection. This track features guest vocals from guitarist Ben Orum’s All Shall Perish bandmate, Eddie Hermida (Suicide Silence), and it will appear on the band’s new album “The Path Towards…“, which will be released on November 17.