Oblivion To Release New Album In January, Premiere “True Awakening” Lyric Video

Oblivion (All Shall Perish, etc.) have announced that they will be releasing their new self-titled album on January 21. You can find a lyric video for the band’s new song “True Awakening” below, along with the effort’s cover art and track listing:

Track Listing:

01. “True Awakening”
02. “Fear What is Unknown”
03. “Forgotten Brotherhood”
04. “Witnessing a Glorious Dawn”
05. “Insurrection”
06. “Aliens Among Us”
07. “Threshold”
08. “Expand the Hive”
09. “Negative Mass”

Guitarist Ted O’Neil said the following about the new album:

“One of the hallmarks of the Oblivion sound has been the blending of many styles of extreme music. Encompassing elements of Black Metal, OSDM, Technical Death Metal as well as Classical music that may be thought of as Modern Chamber Music. Nick Vasallo‘s background as a PhD in music theory and his experience as a classical composer gives us a huge boost in creating our material.

So, for this album we really wanted Nick to go all the way with it and do what he does best. He is tremendous at creating tension, counter point and brutal arrangements while maintaining a structure that is still accessible. On that same note Ben Orum is a great writer in his own respect.

Ben brings to the table the ability to create crushing rhythms and massive chord progressions that create the backbone of many of the songs. Luis “The Human Drum Machine” Martinez is just a unique talent with an eclectic style that blends perfectly with what we do.

So, the idea was to really have everyone bring to the table their best skills and blend it all together. I think people are going to love this album. It’s very diverse but doesn’t lose focus. It’s brutally heavy throughout but not fatiguing. It’s dark and in spots bleak but not depressing as it is LOADED with hook after hook and tons of groove.”


Comments are closed.