Myrkur Announces Two Livestream Concerts

Myrkur will be playing two virtual concerts this month. The first one will be available to stream from May 21-23, while the second one will be available to stream from May 28-30. Myrkur commented:

“I am so exited to announce I have 2 live stream concerts coming up! Tickets:

Act I : Acoustic and Solitary in Copenhagen shows Myrkur in an intimate, solo setting, playing select songs from her entire catalog.

Act II : Nature Reclaims – The Folkesange Live Experience takes place in an abandoned military camp swimming hall. Myrkur performs with a full band and two choir singers, playing the new Folkesange album from start to finish.”

Myrkur Releases New Single “Dronning Ellisiv”

Myrkur has released a new single titled “Dronning Ellisiv.“ The track was recorded during the sessions for her latest album “Folkesange“ and the following was said about it:

“The single, a reimagining of a song by the great Harald Foss, tells the tale of the Grand Prince Yaroslav of Novgorod and his daughter Elisiv of Kiev. Elisiv would later marry King Harald of Norway and become Queen Consort of Norway in the 1040’s.”

Myrkur And Anna von Hausswolff Cover Björk’s “All Is Full Of Love”

Myrkur and Anna von Hausswolff have shared a cover of Björk‘s “All Is Full Of Love.“ Myrkur commented:

“From our homes in Denmark and Sweden we decided to record a simple, fragile and raw version of Björk‘s ‘All Is Full Of Love‘. A song we consider to be one of the most beautiful and encouraging songs, that is a reminder to stay open to receive love even in times like these.”

Myrkur Premieres New Song “Gudernes Vilje”

Myrkur has premiered a new song titled “Gudernes Vilje.” This track is from her new album “Folkesange,” which will be released on March 20. Myrkur said the following:

“I wrote this song about being given the biggest gift in life and then having it taken away from you. ‘Alt går som Gudernes Vilje’ means Everything goes according to the will of the Gods. We are only human and some of the biggest most important things in this life, are completely out of our control.”

Myrkur Premieres “Leaves Of Yggdrasil” Music Video

Myrkur has premiered a new video for her new song “Leaves Of Yggdrasil.” This track is from her new album “Folkesange,” which will be released on March 20. Myrkur said the following:

“I wrote ‘Leaves Of Yggdrasil‘ about being apart from the one you love because of circumstances that are completely out of your control. The Norns weave the fates of Gods and man and sometimes that means very tough life situations. I wanted to create a song with the feeling of an old folk-tale, but with words that resonated with my own life today.”

Myrkur Premieres New Song “Ella”, Reveals Details For New Album “Folkesange”

Myrkur has premiered a new song titled “Ella.” This track is from her new album “Folkesange,” which will be released on March 20.

Myrkur said the following about the new track:

“[This is] the result of years of studying, playing and listening to traditional Nordic folk music. This is my version of a new folk-song, with roots planted in history and in the past. It is my ode to mankind and our connection with nature – a rite of passage as a woman and a rebirth-ritual in the sea.”

She continued:

“Three years ago I decided to share a video where I performed an old Scandinavian folk-song on the nyckelharpa. After this I realized that I had a strong need to create an album within this universe and that other people also wished to hear this. So I started working on picking out what old songs to reinterpret as well as write my own version of this. ‘Ella‘ is this.”

“Folkesange” Track Listing:

01. “Ella”
02. “Fager Som En Ros”
03. “Leaves Of Yggdrasil”
04. “Ramund”
05. “Tor I Helheim”
06. “Svea”
07. “Harpens Kraft”
08. “Gammelkäring”
09. “House Carpenter”
10. “Reiar”
11. “Gudernes Vilje Vinter”

Watch The Smashing Pumpkins Cover Black Sabbath’s “Snowblind” With Myrkur

During Smashing Pumpkins’ June 16 set at the UK Download Festival, the band were joined onstage by Myrkur for a cover of Black Sabbath’s “Snowblind.” You can see footage of that below:

Myrkur Recording New Folk Album

Myrkur has been in the studio recording a new folk album. She posted the following about that:

Myrkur Shares Cover Of Danish Folk Song “Bonden og Kragen”

Myrkur has shared her cover of the Danish folk song “Bonden og Kragen.” This track is from her new EP “Juniper,” which will be released on December 7.

Myrkur said the following:

“The song dates back to around 1600. It exists in many different versions, including Swedish and Norwegian. The tale features a peasant/farmer who ventures into the woods and shoots a crow. A local Church Bishop gets word of this and demands to know what the peasant will use the dead crow for.

Back then, the Church would take from the farmers and they were not fully allowed to own their livestock and crops. In response, the peasant starts making up a very long and unrealistic list of every part of the crow that he will use as a way refusing a tribute.”