Tobias Forge On Ghost’s New Album Progress: “I’ve Only Recorded, So Far, A Demo Of One Track”

During a recent interview with Ultimate Guitar, Tobias Forge offered an update on the new Ghost album. So far, the frontman has recorded one demo track for the effort and he is planning to start the “real process” in January.

Forge said the following:

“I’m still yet to start the real process. The real process being: in January, I go into the studio, Monday through Friday, every week, just finishing tracks. That’s how it works.

So up until then, I don’t know, there might be a song in my head but it’s not finished until it’s recorded. I’ve only recorded, so far, a demo of one track, just to get my rocks off and feel that I’ve started doing something.

So one track is sort of listenable and then I have maybe 50 ideas for tracks but generally, in order to make a song, you need about three ideas to be put together into a song. So I feel that four months from now, the pile of ideas – riffs, vignettes, lyric ideas, and all these different things.

‘From the Pinnacle to the Pit’ [from Ghost’s third album, 2015’s ‘Meliora’] was written on bass. That’s why it sounds like that. Some are written as a drum idea, like ‘Death Knell’ [from Ghost’s 2010 debut ‘Opus Eponymous’] was written as a drum idea. So there are so many different angles that the songs can start from.

But now, knowing that I have one song I can listen to and the pile of ideas, I feel very confident that [I can get a new album done] from January to September [2020] – that’s the production window – January is starting and September is mastering, basically. I feel as prepared now as I have going in to make any of the previous albums.”

He also added the following when asked if “Kiss The Go-Goat” and “Mary On A Cross” are any indication of the band’s new material:

“Well, they were recorded 50 years ago so they have nothing to do with the new record.”


Former Ghost Members To Have Their Appeal Heard In March 2020

The lawsuit filed against Ghost frontman Tobias Forge (aka Cardinal Copia/Papa Emertius) by ex-members Simon Söderberg, Mauro Rubino, Henrik Palm, and Martin Hjertstedt was dismissed following a trial in the Linköping District Court in Linköping, Sweden back in October 2018, but the former members have now requested a retrial before the Swedish court of appeals. Their appeal will be heard in a Jönköping court in March 2020.

The ex-members previously tried to get a new trial after claiming there was a conflict of interest due to Forge and Judge Henrik Ibold both having ties to the same branch of the Swedish Order Of Freemasons, but that argument was ultimately rejected. The court essentially said Forge and Ibold‘s membership did not influence the ruling and that they did not break any local laws.

The former members originally filed the lawsuit after claiming they did not receive proper payment for their musical contributions and tours, and that they were not allowed to see any financial records from 2011-2016. They also claimed that the band was a partnership despite the fact that Forge denied those claims repeatedly.

Once the case went to trial, testimony by various key witnesses was heard and the district court decided there was not enough convincing evidence to prove a partnership existed. They also ordered the former members to pay Forge‘s legal fees. Forge claimed over 2 million kronor in fees, but the court decided 1.3 million kronor (roughly $145,000 USD) was more reasonable. However, Forge has filed for a cross-appeal in an effort to get the full amount.

[via Ultimate Guitar]

Ghost Perform “Kiss The Go-Goat” & “Mary On A Cross” Live For The First Time

During Ghost’s September 13 show at the Rabobank Arena in Bakersfield, CA, the band performed “Kiss The Go-Goat” and “Mary On A Cross” live for the first time. Both tracks are from the group’s “Seven Inches Of Satanic Panic” release, which is available in digital outlets now. The effort will also be released as a limited edition 7 inch on September 27, the same day the band are releasing their “Prequelle Exalted” box set.

Ghost Stream New Song “Mary On A Cross”

Ghost’s new seven inch release, “Seven Inches Of Satanic Panic,” has officially been made available in digital outlets. The effort, which will also be released on limited edition vinyl on September 27, features two tracks including “Kiss The Go-Goat,” which debuted earlier today, and “Mary On A Cross,” which can be streamed below:

The band said the following about the new release:

“Back during the summer of 1969, an up-and-coming band called Ghost, fronted by Papa Nihil, played its first date at The Whiskey A Go-Go on Hollywood’s Sunset Strip. The show was to celebrate Ghost‘s first release on Galaxy Recordings, “Seven Inches of Satanic Panic,” the double-A-side 7-inch single featuring “Kiss The Go Goat” and “Mary on A Cross.”

It’s worth noting that both songs are also expected to be included in the group’s “Prequelle Exalted” release, which will be available on September 27 as well.

Ghost Premiere Music Video For New Song “Kiss The Go-Goat”

Ghost have premiered a new video for their new song “Kiss The Go-Goat.” The track from the band’s new limited edition seven inch release, “Seven Inches Of Satanic Panic,” which will be available on September 27. That effort will also include another new track called “Mary On A Cross.” The songs are also expected to be included in the group’s “Prequelle Exalted” release, which will be available on September 27 as well.

Ghost To Release Limited Edition “Prequelle” Deluxe Box Set

Ghost will be releasing a deluxe box set edition of their latest album “Prequelle“ on September 27. The set, which is called “Prequelle Exalted,” will be limited to 5,000 copies and pre-orders can be found HERE.

Here’s all the contents:

  • Prequelle Limited Edition Transparent Orange with Black Smoke Colored Vinyl
  • 60-page arena tour photo book, hardbound and wrapped in black gator skin
  • Exclusive die-cut Prequelle artwork with a 12-page booklet featuring brand-new, mind-blowing illustrations
  • Four 12″ X 12″ live photo prints
  • Bonus 7″ with two Ghost rarities
  • Ghost 7″ vinyl adapter

A press release also provided more info on the books and artwork:

“For the arena tour hardbound photo book and the exquisite, suitable-for-framing 12″ X 12″ prints, Ryan Chang photographed Ghost on tour over the course of a year, documenting the band’s live performances throughout Europe, the UK, Canada, and the United States, including the Special Guest spots on Metallica European ‘WorldWired‘ Stadium tour this summer.

The 12-page booklet of new prints was created by Ghost‘s longtime visual collaborator Zbigniew M. Bielak, offering 10 stunning illustrations, each one a visual representation of the 10 songs on Prequelle.”

Furthermore, it is assumed that the two rarities included in the set will be “Kiss The Go-Goat” and “Mary On A Cross.“ A leaked product listing previously suggested that the tracks will also be available as a standalone 7” on September 27 as well.