Intronaut Drummer Matt Lynch Tests Positive For COVID-19, Band Cancel “Psycho Las Vegas” & San Diego Performances

Intronaut drummer Matt Lynch has tested positive for COVID-19. As a result, the band have been forced to cancel their appearance at Psycho Las Vegas and their August 18 performance at Brick By Brick in San Diego, CA.

Intronaut said the following:

“Hey everyone – unfortunately our drummer Matt tested positive for Covid shortly before his scheduled trip out to LA to rehearse for our upcoming shows, which naturally means we had to cancel our sets at Psycho LV and in San Diego with High On Fire.

To say we are disappointed is a giant understatement, and we are sorry to anyone who was looking forward to seeing us. We were looking forward to it too. But both shows are still surely going to be incredible and we hope you all have a great time. In the meantime we are working on finishing a new record, and hope to see you soon.”

Intronaut Working On New Album

Intronaut have confirmed that they are working a new album. The band are currently “finishing up the demos” for the effort.

Intronaut said the following:

“Hey everyone. It’s been a crazy 12 months huh? We hope you’re all doing well, all things considered. And that maybe some time, even this year, live music will be a thing again and we can come play the shows we have booked. “Fluid Existential Inversions” (a title that ended up being more accurate than we ever wanted it to be) came out almost one year ago.

We had to cancel a whole bunch of cool tours and festivals. We were supposed to play in Mexico with Def Fucking Leppard. We had two shows with Opeth on two different continents. We rescheduled a tour with Enslaved three times. We were even willing to play India again with some gnarly black metal bands. Thankfully we got to do a very fun run with @cultofluna and @emmaruthrundle which ended literally the day the world got canceled.

Two of us got coronavirus at least once. But we are gonna be fine in the long run. And we decided that we were gonna go ahead and write another fucking album because after 18 years of being a band we still love making this music. We are finishing up the demos now for what will be our 7th full length album as we speak, and I know this is a crazy thing to say so just stay with me here, but it’s going to be our BEST ALBUM YET.

I approximate with full confidence that we are at least the 35th best metal band to ever exist, so that means statistically it’s got to be a pretty good album. We just want to thank @metalbladerecords, our manager EJ, all the promoters who booked us and then had to cancel but will hopefully re-book us, everyone who played drums for us in the span of like 6 months last year (@alexrudinger @ash_revocation @matte_lynch), and of course everyone who listened to our records, bought something, all the amazing bands who we’ve been lucky enough to tour with, and everyone who just helped spread the word about Intronaut since 2003.

Sorry this is such a long post but I feel like we haven’t talked in a while. But let’s talk more in the near future as this new record comes together.”

Intronaut Release Cover Of Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Run Through The Jungle”

Intronaut have released a cover of Creedence Clearwater Revival‘s “Run Through The Jungle.“ Frontman Sacha Dunable said the following about that:

“Sometime during the writing process for ‘Fluid Existental Inversions‘, I had the idea to cover this song, from one of my favorite bands and songwriters of all time. The relatively simple harmonic structure of the original recording made for a great blank canvas for us to ‘Intronaut‘ the song up quite a bit. We tracked most of the song during the ‘FEI’ session but didn’t have time to finish until this spring.”

Intronaut’s “The Challenger” To Be Released On Vinyl For The First Time

Intronaut will be releasing their 2007 EP “The Challenger” on vinyl for the first time on September 25. You can pre-order the effort in three different variants HERE.

Intronaut Recruit Cynic Drummer Matt Lynch For 2020 Touring

Intronaut have recruited Matt Lynch (Cynic, etc.) to handle drumming duties on their 2020 dates. The band issued the following statement:

“Happy to announce that the great @matte_lynch will be drumming for us on the upcoming tour as well as all scheduled dates for 2020 as long as we don’t drive him insane. Many thanks to him for stepping up since [Alex Rüdinger] is busy with Whitechapel.”

Intronaut Premiere “Cubensis” Music Video, Reveal Details For New Album “Fluid Existential Inversions”

Intronaut have premiered a new video for their new song “Cubensis.” This track is from the band’s new album “Fluid Existential Inversions,” which will be released on February 28 via Metal Blade Records.

“Fluid Existential Inversions” Track Listing:

01. “Procurement Of The Victuals”
02. “Cubensis”
03. “The Cull” (feat. Cloudkicker‘s Ben Sharp)
04. “Contrapasso”
05. “Speaking Of Orbs”
06. “Tripolar”
07. “Check Your Misfortune”
08. “Pangloss”
09. “Sour Everythings” (feat. Cloudkicker‘s Ben Sharp)

Sacha Dunable said the following about the new record:

“We pushed ourselves to be bigger and better, musically speaking, and to me that’s the essence of progressive music. I love bands like Motörhead and AC/DC that give you the same thing over and over, but Intronaut is all about trying to break whatever mold exists – especially for ourselves – and give you something you haven’t heard before. On this album, there are drums played in ways I’ve never heard before.

There are synths used in contexts I’ve never heard before. Intronaut has the most unique bass player in all of heavy metal as far as I’m concerned, and I even practiced guitar to get myself out of my comfort zone. So I think we progressed and made the best album ever. I don’t even care if no one else hears it, if it was all for me I’d be satisfied.”

“The title is a phrase we came up with while discussing the involuntary instability facing humans, and all life is ever-evolving on Earth in these turbulent, uncertain times. Whether it’s real, imagined, being simulated, who knows, but we do know that our existence itself is confusing and absurd.”

Intronaut Tease New Song “Cubensis”

Intronaut have posted a teaser for their new song “Cubensis.” The full track will debut on December 11 and it will serve as the first single from the band’s upcoming album.