Silver Lake (Amorphis) Premiere Video For New Song “Ray Of Light” Featuring Einar Solberg (Leprous)

Amorphis guitarist Esa Holopainen has shared a new song, titled “Ray Of Light”, from his Silver Lake solo project. This track features Einar Solberg (Leprous) and an official video for it can be found below. Silver Lake’s debut self-titled album will be released on May 28. Holopainen commented:

“‘Ray Of Light‘ was one of the first songs that I wrote for the album. The only vocalist I imagined to sing this song was Einar Solberg. We have toured together in the past and besides he is a true gentleman he is absolutely one of the most unique singers that I know. I hope you all enjoy this song and the music video as much as I do.”

Silver Lake (Amorphis) Premiere New Video For “Storm” Featuring Nordman’s Håkan Hemlin

Amorphis guitarist Esa Holopainen has shared a new song, titled “Storm”, from his Silver Lake solo project. This track features Nordman’s Håkan Hemlin and an official video for it can be found below. Silver Lake’s debut self-titled album will be released on May 28.

Amorphis Guitarist Esa Holopainen Recruits Soilwork, Katatonia, Leprous, Etc. Members For Debut Silver Lake Album

Amorphis guitarist Esa Holopainen has revealed the details for the debut album from his solo project Silver Lake. The self-titled effort will be released on May 28 and it will feature members of Soilwork, Katatonia, Leprous, and more.

“Silver Lake” Track Listing:

01. “Silver Lake” (instrumental)
02. “Sentiment” (feat. Jonas Renkse of Katatonia)
03. “Storm” (feat. Håkan Hemlin of Nordman)
04. “Ray Of Light” (feat. Einar Solberg of Leprous)
05. “Alkusointu” (feat. Vesa-Matti Loiri)
06. “In Her Solitude” (feat. Tomi Joutsen of Amorphis)
07. “Promising Sun” (feat. Björn ‘Speed’ Strid of Soilwork / The Night Flight Orchestra)
08. “Fading Moon” (feat. Anneke Van Giersbergen)
09. “Apprentice” (feat. Jonas Renkse of Katatonia)

Holopainen commented:

“At first, I really didn’t know if the album would turn out to be purely instrumental or would there be vocalists as well. However, one thing was certain, I wouldn’t be the singer of Silver Lake. Many times, when people think about a guitarist’s solo album, they get the impression of technical stuff with a huge amounts of notes played extremely fast. Well, I‘m not a big fan of that kind of music. Whenever I write, I always want to pile up interesting songs, and not just shred for the sake of it.”

Amorphis Guitarist Esa Holopainen Signs With Nuclear Blast For New Solo Project Silver Lake

Amorphis guitarist Esa Holopainen has signed a new deal with Nuclear Blast Records for his new solo project Silver Lake. The band’s new album was recorded at Sonic Pump Studios in Helsinki, Finland and it is expected to be released later this year.

Holopainen commented:

“As some of you might have noticed, I’ve been working on my first solo album. Well actually, I’d rather call this a project which I’m leading as it includes different musicians and vocalists that I’ve had great privilege to meet during these years. I’ve had this idea in the back of my head for years and now that Covid-19 hit hard on all of us, it was time to be creative and start this project.

The project is titled Silver Lake by Esa Holopainen and I am really happy to announce that Silver Lake is now signed to Nuclear Blast, which was a very obvious choice as NB is also Amorphis’ record label and I know all the label-personnel super well. Another natural move is that Grey Beard Concerts & Management is managing my solo stuff as well. I look forward to revealing more news about the artists who are collaborating with me in Silver Lake.”

Markus Staiger, owner and CEO of Nuclear Blast Tonträger Produktion und Vertriebs GmbH, added:

“An old friendship of almost three decades that goes back to the very beginnings of Amorphis connects me to Esa Holopainen. Back then we just licenced the band from Relapse for the European market.

Esa Holopainen is a remarkable guitarist, whose innovative way of playing is super recognizable. You can hear it right away if he’s involved, and it was just natural for us to work together in releasing his solo album.

I was so surprised of how diverse the final product sounded and how Esa keeps revealing hidden sides of his music. The fact that many friends worked on the album as guests just makes this fantastic record complete and I’m convinced that not only fans of Amorphis will love it.

I want to thank Esa for his loyalty and this truly beautiful jewel of an album.”