Scorpions Had To Abandon Their Plans To Work With Producer Greg Fidelman On Their New Album

As previously reported, Scorpions were planning to work on their new album with producer Greg Fidelman. However, it now looks like they were unable to do so.

Drummer Mikkey Dee said the following about the band having to abandon their plans to work with Fidelman during a recent appearance on Machine Head frontman Robb Flynn’s “No Fuckin’ Regrets With Robb Flynn” podcast:

“Unfortunately, because of this corona, we could not come to L.A., and [Greg] could not come to Germany. So we were trying for a whole month, via Zoom, to work on songs. And then he was with us [virtually] in the early evening, and we were working together on certain songs and arrangements. But it was almost impossible for him to get our feeling and for us to understand his feeling. So we decided that it was probably better that we were trying to do this on our own. And that’s what we’ve been doing. But I’m sure Greg would have put his magic ears to this album, and it would have been fantastic too. But, unfortunately, we had to make the best out of the situation. We were even talking about breaking in the fall, maybe in October or something already. We talked about maybe breaking the record and then come back and maybe fly to L.A. in February or March. We thought it’d be open by now. But look, here we are — it’s even worse than it was in October. So if we would have been sitting here now and broke the recording October, we would have wasted six months here.”

He also added the following about the group’s early sessions with Fidelman:

“He was listening and working on this with us. But it’s really hard to get that feeling, of course. And when he wanted to change some stuff, we were sitting in the studio going, ‘What does he fucking mean here?’ ‘But it sounds great here.’ So it’s very hard to communicate [virtually]. But maybe next record — who knows? [So] we decided to move forward and continue recording and do the best we could. And we have Hans-Martin as an engineer. He’s brilliant, by the way. He worked on a lot, a lot of stuff for a lot of musicians. And he’s so fast, and he has a great ear, and he feels everybody on their instrument, which is important. He knows drums, he knows bass, he knows guitars, and they speak German as well, so that helps out when they can go at it and work on some stuff. Now, with this done, I think this is the only way we have to do it, and I think we chose the right way. Because if we would have stuck to really have Greg on this, we couldn’t even have started now. So who knows? Maybe we could have started in June or July [of this year]. We captured a moment when we all were fresh and really wanted to make a new album. Who knows what the feeling would have been if we started in June?”

Dee went on to say that the other members of Scorpions will probably be done with all of their recordings for the album in about two weeks. The effort will then be mixed by Michael Ilbert at Hansa Studios in Berlin, Germany.

[via Blabbermouth]

Scorpions Postpone Las Vegas Residency To 2022

Scorpions have postponed their Las Vegas residency with Queensrÿche once again due to the coronavirus pandemic. The shows will now take place at the Zappos Theater at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino in 2022. Here’s the dates:

March 26 and 30

April 1, 3, 7, 9, 12, 14, and 16

Mikkey Dee Says Scorpions Are “Almost Done” With Their New Album

Scorpions drummer Mikkey Dee has confirmed that the band’s new album is “almost done.” He said the following about that:

“We are gonna finish up the album, and we are working really hard on that. And it’s coming together; we’re almost done. So, I’ve got one more little run to go here, and that’s about it. The other guys have been working while I’ve been in Sweden, of course, but there’s a few more little things to do on the drums.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Watch Scorpions Sing A Cappella Version Of Louis Armstrong’s “What A Wonderful World” In New Holiday Message

Scorpions have shared a new holiday video message for their fans. The clip includes a partial a cappella cover of Louis Armstrong’s “What A Wonderful World” and it can be seen below:

Mikkey Dee Says Scorpions Have “Over 25 Songs” Written For Their New Album

During a recent appearance on “The MetalSucks Podcast,” Mikkey Dee offered an update on the new Scorpions album. The drummer said the following:

“I actually go back to Germany here on Sunday and continue the record. We’re making a very good record. We record everything live together, and it’s coming along really nice. We’re just in the beginning of the actual recordings, because it’s quite a lot of production, demoing, doing the writing. I think we have over 25 songs, and that’s gonna be down to 12. And that’s all great. And I can’t wait to continue smacking the drums on that record.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Scorpions To Celebrate 30th Anniversary Of “Wind Of Change” With New Box Set

Scorpions will be celebrating the 30th anniversary of “Wind Of Change” with a new deluxe box set. The effort, which is titled “Wind Of Change: The Iconic Song,” will be released on October 3 and it will feature five versions of the song, which served as an anthem for the end of the Cold War. Pre-orders can be found HERE.

Here’s what the box set will come with:

* 12″ LP and CD
* 84-pages hardcover book with story written by Dr. Edgar Klüsener, former editor-in-chief of Metal Hammer and close confidant of the band
* Rare und exclusive photographs by Didi Zill, band photographer during that period
* Interview with Klaus Meine
* Material from Klaus Meine’s private archive
* Vocal and piano arrangement
* Handcrafted unique piece of the Berlin Wall customized with the red “Wind Of Change” star and a handwritten lyric by Klaus Meine.

Here’s the track listing:


01. “Wind Of Change” (“Crazy World” Version)
02. “Wind Of Change” (Scorpions & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra Version)
03. “Ветер перемен” (Russian Version)
04. “Viento De Cambio” (Spanish Version)
05. “Wind Of Change” (Unreleased Demo Version by Klaus Meine)


Side A:

01. “Wind Of Change” (“Crazy World” Version)
02. “Wind Of Change” (Scorpions & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra Version)

Side B:

01. “Ветер Перемен” (Russian Version)
02. “Viento De Cambio” (Spanish Version)
03. “Wind Of Change” (Unreleased Demo Version by Klaus Meine)

An alternate worldwide retail version of the box set will also be available in November. That version will include an 84-page book, a vocal and piano arrangement, a vinyl pressing, and a CD.

Klaus Meine had the following to say about “Wind Of Change,” which was inspired by the band’s performance at the 1989 Moscow Music Peace Festival:

“When we came on stage in the Lenin Stadium and started the show with Blackout, all the Red Army soldiers, who function as security, threw their hats and jackets in the air, turned to us and became part of the crowd. The world was changing right in front of our eyes. It was unbelievable!”

“In times of COVID-19 and all the wild conspiracy theories in these extremely trying times, Wind Of Change is like a hug, a good friend from a time when the hope for a peaceful world seemed to be fulfilled. The dream of peace lives on in this song.”

Scorpions Announce Rescheduled Dates For Las Vegas Residency With Queensrÿche

Scorpions have announced the rescheduled dates for their Las Vegas residency with Queensrÿche. The shows will take place at the Zappos Theater at Planet Hollywood Resort & Casino in May 2021.

Dates: May 8, 12, 15, 18, 20, 22, 26, 28, and 30