Red Hot Chili Peppers Pay Tribute To Eddie Van Halen With New Song “Eddie”

Red Hot Chili Peppers have premiered a new song titled “Eddie.” The track serves as a tribute to late Van Halen guitarist Eddie Van Halen and it will appear on the band’s new album “Return Of The Dream Canteen,“ which is set to be released on October 14.

Vocalist Anthony Kiedis commented:

“Sometimes we don’t realize how deeply affected and connected we are to artists until the day they die. Eddie Van Halen was a one of a kind. The day after his death Flea came into rehearsal with an emotional bassline. John, Chad and I started playing along and pretty soon with all our hearts, a song in his honor effortlessly unfolded.

It felt good to be sad and care so much about a person who had given so much to our lives. Although the song doesn’t speak to Eddie by name, it talks about his early days on the Sunset Strip and the rock n roll tapestry that Van Halen painted on our minds. In the end, our song asks that you not remember Eddie for dying but for living his wildest dream.”

Watch Red Hot Chili Peppers Perform “Black Summer” & “Can’t Stop” At 2022 “MTV Video Music Awards”

Earlier tonight (August 28), Red Hot Chili Peppers performed “Black Summer” and “Can’t Stop“ at the “MTV Video Music Awards” in Newark, NJ. You can see footage of that below. Notably, the band won the “Best Rock Video” award for “Black Summer” during the ceremony and also took home this year’s “Global Icon” award.

Red Hot Chili Peppers To Perform At 2022 “MTV Video Music Awards”

Red Hot Chili Peppers will be performing live during the “MTV Video Music Awards” at the Prudential Center in Newark, NJ on August 26. Notably, the band will also be honored with the “Global Icon” award at the event. This news comes as the group are preparing to release their new album “Return Of The Dream Canteen“ on October 14.

Red Hot Chili Peppers Premiere “Tippa My Tongue” Music Video

Red Hot Chili Peppers have premiered a new video for their new song “Tippa My Tongue.” This track is from the band’s new album “Return Of The Dream Canteen,” which will be released on October 14.

Red Hot Chili Peppers Reveal Track Listing For New Album “Return Of The Dream Canteen”

Red Hot Chili Peppers have revealed the track listing for their new album “Return Of The Dream Canteen.” That effort will be released on October 14.

“Return Of The Dream Canteen” Track Listing:

01. “Tippa My Tongue”
02. “Peace And Love”
03. “Reach Out”
04. “Eddie”
05. “Fake As Fu@k”
06. “Bella”
07. “Roulette”
08. “My Cigarette”
09. “Afterlife”
10. “Shoot Me A Smile”
11. “Handful”
12. “The Drummer”
13. “Bag Of Grins”
14. “La La La La La La La La”
15. “Copperbelly”
16. “Carry Me Home”
17. “In The Snow”

Red Hot Chili Peppers To Perform At New York’s Apollo Theater For SiriusXM Subscribers

Red Hot Chili Peppers will be playing an invitation-only concert for SiriusXM subscribers at New York’s Apollo Theater on September 13. The show is being held as part of SiriusXM’s “Small Stage Series” and it will air on the band’s Whole Lotta Red Hot station (channel 315). Further information can be found HERE. SiriusXM president and chief content officer Scott Greenstein commented:

“During our long-standing relationship with the Apollo Theater, SiriusXM has brought many of music’s most significant artists to their historic stage for the very first time, and the Red Hot Chili Peppers are no exception. The Red Hot Chili Peppers are one of the most definitive bands in rock music that continue to innovate the genre with their musical craftsmanship and we are honored to present them as they make their debut at the Apollo Theater. This is shaping up to be a September to remember for SiriusXM subscribers.”

Red Hot Chili Peppers To Release New Double Album “Return Of The Dream Canteen” In October

Red Hot Chili Peppers will be releasing a new double album, titled “Return Of The Dream Canteen,” on October 14. Fans can pre-order the effort HERE.

The band commented:

“We went in search of ourselves as the band that we have somehow always been. Just for the fun of it we jammed and learned some old songs. Before long we started the mysterious process of building new songs. A beautiful bit of chemistry meddling that had befriended us hundreds of times along the way. Once we found that slip stream of sound and vision, we just kept mining.

With time turned into an elastic waist band of oversized underwear, we had no reason to stop writing and rocking. It felt like a dream. When all was said and done, our moody love for each other and the magic of music had gifted us with more songs than we knew what to do with.

Well we figured it out. 2 double albums released back to back. The second of which is easily as meaningful as the first or should that be reversed. ‘Return of the Dream Canteen’ is everything we are and ever dreamed of being. It’s packed. Made with the blood of our hearts, yours truly, the Red Hot Chili Peppers.”

Red Hot Chili Peppers Announce 2023 Australian/New Zealand Tour With Post Malone

Red Hot Chili Peppers have announced an Australian/New Zealand tour with Post Malone. Here’s the dates:

01/21 Auckland, NZ – Mt Smart Stadium
01/26 Dunedin, NZ – Forsyth Barr Stadium
01/29 Brisbane, AUS – Suncorp Stadium
02/02 Sydney, AUS – Accor Stadium
02/07 Melbourne, AUS – Marvel Stadium
02/12 Perth, AUS – Optus Stadium

Red Hot Chili Peppers Postpone Glasgow, Scotland Show Due To Illness

Red Hot Chili Peppers have postponed their July 1 show in Glasgow, Scotland due to illness. The band commented:

“Due to illness RHCP will not be able to perform in Glasgow tonight July 1st. We are working on ways to reschedule this show. Please hold onto your tickets and wait for an update soon. RHCP love Scotland and are deeply disappointed not to be able to perform the show. Thank you for your patience and understanding.”