“The Rise Of L.A. Thrash Metal” Documentary To Be Released On DVD In January

The first part of the two-part “Inside Metal” documentary DVD “The Rise Of L.A. Thrash Metal” will be released on January 19. The film, which was directed by Bob Nalbandian and narrated by Megadeth’s David Ellefson, focuses on the early and mid-80s thrash scene, and features interviews with musicians, record executives, journalists, etc. Loudwire shared the following preview clip, which shows Gene Hoglan (Testament, etc.) talking about running into Metallica’s James Hetfield for the first time:

Here’s a list of interviewees:

  • Ann Boleyn (Hellion/New Renaissance Records)
  • Bill Metoyer (Producer)
  • Brian O’Brian (A La Carte)
  • Brian Slagel (Metal Blade Records)
  • Brian Tatler (Diamond Head)
  • Chris Poland (Megadeth/OHM)
  • Craig Locicero (Forbidden)
  • Dave Lombardo (Slayer/Suicidal Tendencies)
  • David Ellefson (Megadeth)
  • Diego Negrete (MX Machine)
  • Eric Peterson (Testament)
  • Ernie C (Body Count)
  • Felice Lococo & Kurt Markham (Overkill LA)
  • Frank Bello (Anthrax)
  • Gene Hoglan (Dark Angel/Testament)
  • Greg Durschlag (The Weasels)
  • Jay Reynolds (Malice)
  • Joey Vera (Armored Saint)
  • John Bush (Armored Saint/Anthrax)
  • John Gallagher (Raven)
  • Juan Garcia (Agent Steel/Abattoir/Body Count)
  • Katon DePena (Hirax)
  • Kevin Estrada (Photographer)
  • Lars Ulrich (Metallica)
  • Lloyd Grant (Defcon)
  • Malcolm Dome (Journalist)
  • Marty Friedman (Hawaii/Cacophony/Megadeth)
  • Mike Inez (Alice In Chains)
  • Monte Pittman (Prong/Madonna)
  • Peter Baltes & Wolf Hoffmann (Accept)
  • Phil Sandoval (Armored Saint)
  • Phyllis Pollack (Journalist)
  • Rocky George (Suicidal Tendencies)
  • Scott Peterson (Cryptic Slaughter)
  • Steven Craig (former manager of Slayer & Dark Angel)
  • Stryper (Robert Sweet, Michael Sweet, Oz Fox, Tim Gaines)
  • Tracey “Spacey T” Singleton (Sound Barrier/Gangland)
  • Tracy Barnes (Radio PD)
  • Vincent Price (Steel Prophet/Body Count)
  • William Howell (KNAC Radio Host a.k.a. DJ Will, former A&R Capitol Records and Metal Blade Records)

Mastodon Share Full 75-Minute Documentary On “Emperor Of Sand”

Mastodon have shared the full 75-minute documentary on their latest album “Emperor Of Sand.” The film features the original 12-part series the band previously released, along with over 30 more minutes of unseen footage.

The band commented:

“Earlier this year we released a 12-part series showing the making of our album ‘Emperor of Sand.’ We’ve cut it all together, added over 30 minutes of never before seen footage and turned it into a documentary! This is a deep look into the making of the album and the inspiration behind the music. With the GRAMMY nominations Emperor of Sand has received this week, we thought it was the perfect time to release it. We hope you enjoy the documentary. If you do, feel free to share it!

Thanks to Jimmy Hubbard helping us put this together!”

Joan Jett Documentary “Bad Reputation” To Premiere At 2018 Sundance Film Festival

A new Joan Jett documentary, titled “Bad Reputation,” will be premiered at the 2018 Sundance Film Festival, which is set to take place in Park City, UT on January 18-28. The film was directed by Kevin Kerslake and will offer “a look at the life of Joan Jett, from her early years as the founder of The Runaways and first meeting collaborator Kenny Laguna in 1980 to her enduring presence in pop culture as a rock ‘n’ roll pioneer.”

Rob Zombie Narrates Charles Manson Documentary “Charles Manson: His Final Words”

Rob Zombie has narrated a new Charles Manson documentary called “Charles Manson: His Final Words.” The film will air on the Reelz channel on December 3, and you can find a trailer and an official description for it below:

Description [via Reelz]:

Narrated by musician and director Rob Zombie, the documentary focuses on the Manson family murders told from Manson’s perspective using never-before-seen case files, pictures and exclusive interviews with Manson himself from inside California State Prison.

Charles Manson: The Final Words includes Manson’s eerie and disturbing conversations about modern society, justice, his decades behind bars, the Bernard Crowe shooting and the murders along with digitally restored audio recordings from the original investigations to reconstruct a path of events that led to the brutal slayings of movie star Sharon Tate and four of her friends on August 8, 1969 in addition to the murders of Gary Hinman and Donald “Shorty” Shea.

The documentary also includes compelling new interviews with members of the Manson family which reveal never-before-heard details that help uncover the real story and motives behind the grisly murder spree. Viewers will hear from accused Manson family members Bobby Beausoleil, Barbara Hoyt and Catherine “Cappi” Gillies along with prosecutor Stephen Kay, defense attorney Gary Fleischman, music producer Phil Kaufman as well as other investigators and authors.

Watch Short Version Of Documentary On Cult Of Luna & Julie Christmas’ “Mariner”

A short version of a documentary about Cult Of Luna and Julie Christmas’ collaborative album “Mariner” has been shared via Revolver. The full length version will come with a new live album that was recorded in De Kreun, Belgium in November 2016. That live release will be available in April.