Joe Lynn Turner (Ex-Rainbow, Etc.) Working On “Deep, Dark And Heavy” Album With Peter Tägtgren (Hypocrisy, Etc.)

During a recent interview with Ginza, Joe Lynn Turner (ex-Rainbow, ex-Deep Purple, etc.) revealed that he is working on a new album with Peter Tägtgren (Hypocrisy, Pain, etc.). The effort is expected to be released in early 2020.

Turner said the following:

“I actually did a show for [Peter’s] brother’s birthday once; his brother’s a big fan. And the next thing you know, we were hooking up. He sent me a track, and I wrote lyrics and melodies, and he came back and he loved it, and we started to do a record. So now we’re about seven tracks into the record. Our schedules are pretty tough, with touring and all, but we’re getting together the beginning of October [to] finish the record [and then we’ll be] shopping the record.”

He continued:

“I think people are gonna be extremely surprised, because it’s a whole another side of me. [It’s] very heavy. It’s kind of classic rock meets industrial metal — or, as I would say, it’s kind of like DEEP PURPLE meets PAIN. It’s the best of both worlds, and it doesn’t sound like anyone… There’s no filler; it’s all great songs. Deep content — none of this ‘rock me, baby’ stuff. It’s really deep, dark and heavy stuff.”

He also added the following about release plans:

“I would say, to be fair, very early spring next year, because a label needs 90 days. They always need 90 days. I don’t know why they need 90 days, but they need 90 days.”

He went on to say that there are “absolutely” plans for him and Tägtgren to tour, but did add that they are “not gonna put the cart before the horse.” For now, they are just focusing on “getting the music down.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Joe Lynn Turner “Has Every Intention Of Returning To The Stage” Following Heart Attack

As previously reported, former Deep Purple and Rainbow singer Joe Lynn Turner was hospitalized after having a heart attack while in Belarus. The singer was then forced to cancel his upcoming shows. Now, a new statement on his Facebook page, which you can read below, says he “has every intention of returning to the stage.”

Here’s the statement:

“Dear Friends and fans,

I would like to start with two great thoughts that would describe our state of mind:

“My relationship with my body has changed. I used to consider it as a servant who should obey, function, give pleasure. In sickness you realise you are not the boss. It is the other way around.” Federico Fellini

“He who learns must suffer. And even in our sleep pain that can not forget falls drop by drop upon the heart, and in our own despair, against our own will comes wisdom to us by the awful grace of God.” Aeschylus

Thank you for being patient and so supportive through these hard days for us… We are truly humbled by the amount of love and concern that has poured from every part of the planet! It truly warms our hearts and inspires us to win!

As many of you are aware by now, Joe Lynn Turner experienced a myocardial infarction last week. It happened without any prior warning signs… He is in the hospital, stable and in very good spirits. He will continue to receive medical care and full physical rehabilitation for several weeks and afterwards will take some time off to recover.

We cannot always control what happens to us in this life, but can control how we respond.

As a very strong personality, Joe has every intention of returning to the stage in the near future and is taking this unfortunate experience as a learning lesson in life… As a true Artist, He tries to find motivation and inspiration in everything that he is going through to make his Spirit even stronger… The pain he experienced has nourished his courage!

Joe is being assisted by his wife and closest Family members to ensure he is very comfortable and fully provided with the best!
Please send your pure love and best wishes for his fast recovery. He lives and breathes through his music and his true loving fans! He is looking forward to being back on the stage with great anticipation.

We will be keeping you posted and updated through his much desired recovery.

With love and thanks, Joe and Maya.”

Joe Lynn Turner Cancels Tour Dates Following Apparent Heart Attack, Turner’s Sunstorm Project Premiere New Song “Only The Good Will Survive”

Former Rainbow and Deep Purple singer Joe Lynn Turner has cancelled his upcoming tour dates for the next few months following an apparent heart attack. Finnish booking agent, Thomas Ståhl (Stahl Entertainment) said the following:

“Due to an unplanned medical procedure, Joe Lynn Turner is postponing all activities for the next few months as he is not allowed to travel or fly right now. We are working on rescheduling all club shows and will announce new dates as soon as possible, bought tickets is valid. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. No fear, only love and positive thoughts!”

In other news, Turner’s Sunstorm project have premiered a new song titled “Only The Good Will Survive.” This track is from the band’s new album “The Road To Hell,” which will be released on June 8 via Frontiers Music Srl.

“The Road To Hell” Track Listing:

01. “Only The Good Will Survive”
02. “The Road To Hell”
03. “On The Edge”
04. “Blind The Sky”
05. “My Eyes On You”
06. “Future To Come”
07. “Everywhere”
08. “Resurrection”
09. “Calling”
10. “State Of The Heart”
11. “Still Fighting”

Frontiers commented on Turner’s health issues:

“[The] press release [announcing the new Sunstorm album] and the release of this song were scheduled well ahead of this weekend’s news that Joe Lynn Turner was hospitalized. We at Frontiers, who have worked with Joe for years, wish to extend our sincere and heartfelt wishes that Joe has a speedy recovery and is back to commanding the stage soon, as he has done for decades. Get well soon, JLT!”