Devin Townsend Plans To Start Performing Strapping Young Lad Songs Live Again In 2020

It looks like Devin Townsend is going to start performing Strapping Young Lad songs live again in 2020. The frontman confirmed the news during a recent interview on the “Everblack” podcast.

Townsend said the following:

“I’m doing a tour in November that’s gonna be a very selfish tour for me — a ton of people onstage, playing a bunch of stuff that I’ve wanted to play for years, a lot of improv, a lot of really interesting things.

But starting next year, I’m gonna be touring everything, and that includes the Strapping stuff. I’m gonna be doing what equates to… like, what’s a ‘best of’ what I’ve done over the past few years. Let’s make this live venture for me the best it can possibly be and learn from your past and come back out.”

He also added:

“I think there’s a lot of musicians that fall away from metal. But I kind of fell back in love with it recently. But in no way does that mean that it’s taking over.

It’s a big part of what I do and it’s a big part of who I am, and I think I’ve denied that for a certain amount of time. But it’s everything, man. It’s like ‘Empath‘ was for me — the metal part of it is just as big a part of my trip as the mellow part of it. It’s not one over the other; it’s just who I am.

I don’t wanna get rid of [the metal side of my music.] I love it. It has to play ball with the other stuff, and that stuff has to play ball with the other stuff. It’s healthy for me to recognize that it’s a part of my nature as opposed to denying it.”

[via Blabbermouth]


Devin Townsend To Release Fourth Part Of “Eras” Vinyl Box Set In August

Devin Townsend has announced that he will be releasing the fourth part of his “Eras” vinyl collection series on August 23. This set will feature “Ziltoid The Omniscient,” “Z² – Dark Matters,” “Ziltoid Live At The Royal Albert Hall,” and “The Retinal Circus,“ as well as a booklet with new liner notes from Townsend himself. Pre-orders can be found HERE. Townsend commented:

“Continuing in the ERAS series is volume 4, these box sets have been very special to me in that commemorating the times and experiences of the past work allows me-for once- to stop and reflect on all the effort and time that went into documenting these moments. I’m exceptionally proud of these albums, and to have a complete set of the work at this level of quality is a dream come true for me.”

Devin Townsend Premieres “Spirits Will Collide” Video

Devin Townsend has premiered a new video for his song “Spirits Will Collide.” This track is from his new album “Empath,” which was released today (March 29).

Townsend commented:

“Here is the video for my Enya influenced, ‘commercial’ song. I love this type of mid-tempo, big, romantic heavy music. I would love to do a full album in this style somewhere down the line, and it’s the only one of its kind on the Empath record.

‘Spirits Will Collide’ as a song is pretty standard fare for me if you’ve followed what I’ve done over the past few years. It’s ultimately an ‘anti-suicide’ statement and it’s meant to be melodic and straightforward. A video with CGI Gorillas playing bass and Elephants playing drums in front of a billion people is so ridiculously dumb that I’m surprised it makes me feel as happy as it does, but the theme of the song is essentially about trying to convince kids or teens to ‘hang on’ when they feel depression or suicidal thoughts. The story of the video is that a kid that has a fantasy about playing at a massive concert with thousands of people as a choir, animals etc…just the biggest concert he can imagine, and the strength of the sound and the intention of a bunch of people singing together is such that the sound blows away the darkness.

It’s admittedly a bit ridiculous, but I guess in a way I feel that beauty is much harder to be expressed quietly in this day and age, so the video is about saying it louder than ANYTHING. Without a multi-million dollar budget, it was hard to do. However, Kudos to iCode Team and the hundreds of extras for really pulling this out on a shoestring budget, I think it gets the point across.

The only thing I would say that if I was a kid imagining playing the universes biggest concert, I would have added a full head of hair in there for good measure =)”

Devin Townsend Shares Seventh Episode Of “Empath” Documentary Series, Says He Spent $170,000 Of His Own Money To Make The Album

Devin Townsend has shared the seventh episode of the documentary series for his new album “Empath.” That effort will be released March 29.

In other news, Townsend has also taken to Twitter to encourage fans to buy the album, while also revealing that he spent $170,000 of his own money to make it:

[via The PRP]

Haken Added To Devin Townsend’s European/UK Tour

Haken have been added to Devin Townsend’s European/UK tour. You can find the dates for that run below. Townsend will be touring in support of his new album “Empath” (out on March 29).

Tour Dates:

11/15 Paris, FRA – Salle Pleyel
11/16 Antwerp, BEL – Trix
11/17 Tilburg, NET – 013
11/18 Hamburg, GER – Gruenspan
11/20 Turku, FIN – Logomo (no Haken)
11/21 Helsinki, FIN – Cirkus (no Haken)
11/23 Stockholm, SWE – Munchenbryggeriet
11/24 Oslo, NOR – Sentrum Scene
11/25 Copenhagen, DEN – Amager Bio
11/27 Berlin, GER – Astra
11/28 Prague, CZE – Roxy
11/29 Wroclaw, POL – A2
11/30 Budapest, HUN – Barba Negra
12/02 Vienna, AUT – Simm City
12/03 Zurich, SWI – X-Tra
12/05 Cardiff, UK – Great Hall
12/06 Dublin, IRE – Academy
12/07 Belfast, IRE – Academy
12/09 Glasgow, UK – SWG3 Galvanisers
12/10 Manchester, UK – Albert Hall
12/12 London, UK – Roundhouse
12/13 Nottingham, UK – Rock City

Devin Townsend Premieres “Evermore” Video

Devin Townsend has premiered a new video for his new song “Evermore.” This track is from his new album “Empath,” which will be released March 29.

Townsend commented:

“So with the release of ‘Empath’ fast approaching and people having had various chances to hear the album, the reactions are pretty much what I expected: those interested in the more artistic and free form side of what I do really seem to like and understand it, and those looking for the more commercial or rocking side of what I do are maybe not so convinced 🙂

The initial plan was to release a more commercial song next (the sole one on the album, ‘Spirits Will Collide’) but the video we’ve been working on for that is hilariously ambitious and we needed a bit more time. Therefore, we opted to release this song, ‘Evermore’, as a way to bridge that gap. It’s slightly in the same vein as ‘Genesis’ on some level, I suppose, but a little more groovy and a bit less fractured in terms of structure.

The lyrics are not as much about a bored space cat crash landing on ‘planet fear’ in a literal sense, but I guess that’s easier to articulate with visuals at this stage than ‘yet another song about trying to work through one’s own midlife bullshit to find some sense of self-actualization,’ though perhaps with more time, it will resonate further with that. Thanks to Wayne, Josh and Miles for the tag team animations.

The drums on this particular track are all Anup Sastry (who is a great guy who loves his dog) and the Elektra choir helps out a lot again. I’ve got a strange relationship with singing at this stage of my career so I really appreciated the support.

I encourage you (if you like this sort of stuff, that is) to check it out in headphones. There’s a fair amount of candy in this song I spent a long time on. I think it’s streaming now too…

Thank you sincerely. The album is meant to be of some help in a weird way.”