Cryptodira Premiere New Song “What Can’t Be Taken Back”

Cryptodira have premiered a new song titled “What Can’t Be Taken Back.” This track is from the band’s new album “The Angel Of History,” which will be released on December 4.

Matthew Taibi commented:

“The most valuable resource anyone has at their disposal is time. What makes it so valuable is the fact that it can’t be reversed—time cannot be taken back. Barring the larger philosophical implications of time’s unreserved movement, suffice it to say that an hour of time should be worth far more than $15.”

Scott Acquavella added:

“Despite most of our songs having an ever changing series of moods, there is something about ‘What Can’t Be Taken Back‘ that we feel represents our sonic and emotional spectrum particularly well. It is as furious as it is delicate and there is a common emotive thread running through each section that well-expresses the urgent and weighty nature of the lyrical content.”

Cryptodira Premiere “A Tendency To Fall” Video

Cryptodira have premiered a new video for their new song “A Tendency To Fall.” This track is from the band’s new album “The Angel Of History,” which will be released on December 4.

“The Angel Of History” Track Listing:

01. “Self-(Affect/Efface)”
02. “Dante’s Inspiration”
03. “Ontology Of Pain”
04. “The Blame For Being Alive”
05. “A Tendency To Fall”
06. “What Can’t Be Taken Back”
07. “The White Mask Speaks”
08. “Something Other Than Sacrifice”

Cryptodira Release New EP “Better Left Unsaid”

Cryptodira have surprise released a new EP titled “Better Left Unsaid.” The effort features two new songs including the title track and “Unequal Exchange.“ A new album titled “The Angel Of History” is expected to follow later this year.

Frontman Scott Acquavella commented:

“There’s been no shortage of inspiration throughout our recent writing process, and upon stepping back and looking at the body of work we had amassed, there was a sense that these two songs fit together in an extraordinary way that makes them stand out on their own. We’ve always been a band that writes with a much larger picture in mind, but there was something uniquely rewarding about telling a sonically short story. So the Better Left Unsaid EP is our way of exploring that territory.”

Drummer Matthew Taibi added:

“As it was written in the Grundrisse, “language is the presence of community,” and a genuinely livable community begins where individualism ends. Language is not only a bridge between members of a community; language embeds communal being into the most private corners of mental life. An individual (or ego) can only know their hopes and desires by using language, i.e., something their community gifted them. Living in a community and using language properly both mean knowing where and when to decenter yourself. Sustainable happiness will be found sooner on the margins.”