Tool Reveal Track Listing For New Album “Fear Inoculum”

Tool have officially revealed the track listing for their new album “Fear Inoculum.” The effort will be released on August 30 and pre-orders can be found HERE.

“Fear Inoculum” Track Listing:

Physical Edition:

01. “Fear Inoculum”
02. “Pneuma”
03. “Invincible”
04. “Descending”
05. “Culling Voices”
06. “Chocolate Chip Trip”
07. “7empest”

Digital Edition:

01. “Fear Inoculum”
02. “Pneuma”
03. “Litanie Contre La Peur”
04. “Invincible”
05. “Legion Inoculant”
06. “Descending”
07. “Culling Voices”
08. “Chocolate Chip Trip”
09. “7empest”
10. “Mockingbeat”


All Of Tool’s Albums Re-Enter The Top 20 On The Billboard 200 Chart

Tool finally released their music in digital/streaming outlets earlier this month and it has had significant impact on the charts. All of the band’s albums have re-entered the top 20 on the Billboard 200 chart with “Ænima” hitting #10, “Lateralus” hitting #16, “10,000 Days” hitting #18, and “Undertow” hitting #19. On top of that, their debut EP “Opiate” also hit #59 on the chart. Furthermore, Billboard are also reporting that the title track of the group’s new album “Fear Inoculum” (out August 30) has entered the Billboard Hot 100 at #93, making it the longest track to ever enter the chart.

Tool Premiere New Song “Fear Inoculum”

Tool have premiered a new song titled “Fear Inoculum.” This is the title track of the band’s new album, which is set to be released on August 30. You can pre-order that effort HERE. It’s worth noting that the deluxe CD edition of the album “features a 4” HD rechargeable screen with exclusive video footage, charging cable, 2 watt speaker, a 36-page booklet and a digital download card.” That version of the effort was conceived and directed by Adam Jones. Furthermore, a vinyl edition of the record is expected to be announced soon.

Tool Members Discuss The Themes Behind Their New Album “Fear Inoculum”

Tool were recently interviewed for a lengthy 20-page cover story in the new issue of Revolver and talked a bit about the themes behind their new album “Fear Inoculum” (out August 30). According to the band, the effort essentially deals with aging and the wisdom that comes with it.

Adam Jones said the following:

“That has to do with getting older, too. Things like, ‘I’m gonna wear socks with sandals. I don’t give a fuck what people think. I’m just gonna be comfortable.’ [Laughs] So it’s about the little things in life. It’s making those choices that are important to you and moving on and growing.

There’s a little bit of Frank Herbert‘s ‘Dune‘ in that, so I’m into it. I’m so excited for this new record. The songs are very long, but they’re like movements. It’s like two or three songs in one, but they relate. They flow. So I don’t know. We’ll see how it goes. But I’m ecstatic.”

Danny Carey made similar comments:

“Well, I Suppose the main overview of it is getting older and more comfortable with yourself. That seems to be the result. I mean it’s called ‘Fear Inoculum‘, so it’s kind of like being able to choose your fears and making them work for you rather than actually living in fear.

You grow through that, and as you get older you kinda don’t give a shit. I mean, I’m not afraid of anything — or what people would think of my playing. It’s kind of an evolution in that way, getting through and getting over criticisms and our fears of various kinds, I suppose.”

Maynard James Keenan also added:

“I can give you some broad strokes, but I don’t want to ruin the experience for you. I feel like that’s always an individual’s right to process things in the way they wanna process them, and I wouldn’t want to take that from you.

But I can give you pieces. Again, it goes back to experience: I feel like this is [about] wisdom through age, through experience.

Hopefully through aging you do find wisdom in some of the things you’ve encountered. Learning from your mistakes, learning from your successes.

So if anything is a broad stroke of this album, it would be embracing where we are right now, acknowledging where we’ve come from and some of the things we’ve grown through.”

He later continued:

“There’s gonna be a lot of people who might not get this album because it does take engagement. if you don’t have the patience for that, you’re probably not gonna get this album.”

It’s worth noting that Jones previously said that the number seven also plays a significant role in the album’s concept.

Tool Reveal Cover Art For New Album “Fear Inoculum”, Plan To Release New Song This Week

Tool have revealed the cover art for their new album “Fear Inoculum.” The effort will be released on August 30 and the band are planning to release the title track on Wednesday (August 7). Pre-orders will launch that day as well. As previously reported, Adam Jones has confirmed that the record will run for 80 minutes across seven songs.

Adam Jones Says The Number Seven Played A Significant Role In The Concept Of Tool’s New Album “Fear Inoculum”

Tool guitarist Adam Jones was recently interviewed for the upcoming issue of Guitar World and he offered some more information on the band’s new album “Fear Inoculum” (out August 30). According to him, the effort will feature seven songs and that it will run for 80 minutes. He also revealed that the number seven played a significant role in the record’s concept.

Jones said the following [via The PRP]:

“I took a picture pointing to the number seven while we were recording, and a lot of the riffs Justin and I brought in were in seven. You don’t really go ‘I’m going to write a riff in seven!’

You just write a riff and you count it out and it turns out to be in seven. Without being too descriptive about the concept, the main thing is that the seven beat just kept coming up, and riffs in seven kept coming up. It was really weird!

When we finished recording, I went to the guys and said ‘I think we should called the record Volume 7’ because a lot of the songs are in seven and there are seven tracks on the record.

Then Maynard told me about a whole concept he had about the number seven. We were all like, ‘Oh My God! This is too weird!’ Then Alex Grey [Tool album artist] basically said the same thing and he has a concept that will reveal itself through video.

So there are a lot of rhythms and polyrhythms where we explore 7/4 or 7/3, and there’s a riff we count in 21 — which we count as three rounds of seven. I wrote a four-minute lead over something counted in 21, which is crazy!”

Tool Reveal New Album Title, Plan To Release Back Catalog On Streaming Services

Tool have officially confirmed that their new album will be called “Fear Inoculum.” That effort will be the band’s first since 2006’s “10,000 Days“ and it will be available on August 30. In other news, the group have also revealed that their back catalog will finally arrive on streaming services this Friday (August 2).