Metal Blade Records To Release Retrospective Vinyl Set “The Story Of Metal Blade”

Metal Blade Records have announced that they will be releasing a retrospective vinyl box set, titled “The Story Of Metal Blade,” in May. The limited edition set will feature eight albums from the label’s history, a podcast series, deluxe liner notes, and a photo booklet. Pre-orders can be found HERE.

Courtney Catagnus, Sr Director, Business Development & Partnerships, VMP, commented:

“In the 80’s, when Brian Slagel released Metal Massacre – the inaugural Metal Blade compilation that featured a little local band called Metallica – he altered the course of music history as we know it. So, there was a resounding ‘hell yes’ from the VMP team to partner with Metal Blade to release our first-ever heavy music Anthology. In true Anthology form, we brought in the connoisseurs of the genre to guide us through the history of the label, as told through these eight key albums from Metal Blade, with guidance from legendary magazine, Revolver. We’re so proud to bring you this next chapter in our Anthology series and can’t wait to dive in together to unpack the rich history and influence of Metal Blade.”

Here’s the records that will be included:

01. Omen – “Warning Of Danger” (1985)
02. Fates Warning – “The Spectre Within” (1985)
03. GWAR – “America Must Be Destroyed” (1991)
04. Cannibal Corpse – “Butchered At Birth” (1991)
05. King Diamond – “Voodoo” (1998)
06. The Black Dahlia Murder – “Miasma” (2005)
07. Amon Amarth – “Twilight Of The Thunder God” (2008)
08. Armored Saint – “La Raza” (2010)

Listen To Live Versions Of Black Sabbath’s “Neon Knights” And “Voodoo” From Deluxe Editions Of “Heaven And Hell” And “Mob Rules”

Black Sabbath are streaming a live version of “Neon Knights,” which was recorded during an August 10, 1980 show in Hartford, CT, and a live version of “Voodoo,” which was recorded during a December 31, 1981 show in London, U.K. “Neon Knights” will appear on the new deluxe edition of “Heaven And Hell,” while “Voodoo” will appear on the new deluxe edition of “Mob Rules.” Those releases will be available on March 5 and more details on them can be found HERE.

Album Review: Lullwater’s “Voodoo”

Lullwater released their new album “Voodoo” earlier this month and it is a must have for any rock fan.

The effort busts right of the gate with the hard-hitting “Curtain Call.” This track showcases masterful riffing, pounding drums, chugging bass, and soulful vocals that give the listener an idea of what to expect from the next 10 songs, grungy hard rock with a southern tinge.

This trend continues on “Dark Divided,” a killer track with an awesome guitar solo. It is just something you have to listen to with your speakers at full volume.

As one moves towards the middle of the album, they will find more solid tracks such as “Similar Skin,” which is an extremely catchy song that you can’t help but singing along to and “This Life,” which features a sick drum intro mixed with roaring guitars. In fact those are some of the highlights of the effort.

Other highlights from the album include “Buzzards” and “Fight Of Your Life.” “Buzzards” is a rockin’ track that kind of has a dancey vibe mixed with aggressive vocals. Once it ends, “Fight Of Your Life” comes in to expand upon the band’s sound with the addition of horns, while also showcasing some heartfelt lyrics.

Everything culminates in the lengthy closing track “Suffer Not.” It clocks in at 10 minutes and 15 seconds and is probably the most different song on the album, but it is still just as great as the rest. The addition of violin makes this one especially cool.

All in all, “Voodoo” is an amazing album that proves Lullwater will be force to be reckoned with in the rock world.

King Diamond To Release “Voodoo,” “House Of God,” & “Abigail II: The Revenge” Picture Discs

King Diamond will be reissuing “Voodoo,” “House Of God,” and “Abigail II: The Revenge” as picture discs on August 17, via Metal Blade Records. You can pre-order those HERE.

[via The PRP]