Zao Reveal Track Listing For New Album “The Crimson Corridor”

Zao have revealed the track listing for their new album “The Crimson Corridor.“ That effort will be released on April 9 and pre-orders are expected to launch on March 5.

“The Crimson Corridor” Track Listing:

01. “Into The Jaws Of Dread”
02. “Ship Of Theseus”
03. “Croatoan”
04. “The Final Ghost”
05. “R.I.P.W.”
06. “The Crimson Corridor”
07. “Transitions”
08. “Nothing’s From”
09. “Creator/Destroyer”
10. “Lost Star”
11. “The Web”

Zao Team Up With Speciation Artisan Ales For “Croatoan” Beer

Zao have teamed up with Speciation Artisan Ales to create their own beer called “Croatoan.” The beverage is named after a song from the band’s new album “The Crimson Corridor,“ which will be released on April 9. The group commented:

“The folks at Speciation Artisan Ales are not so secret metalheads. When our 2019 tour took us through Michigan we gathered to blend a beer. The resulting blend of two oak barrels was named ‘Croatoan‘ after a song on our upcoming album. Croatoan is an exceedingly complex wild ale with notes of vanilla, herbal gin botanicals, tart cherry and charred oak. The can art is by our very own Dan Weyandt.”

Zao To Release Remastered Versions Of “The Splinter Shards The Birth Of Separation” And “Where Blood And Fire Bring Rest” On Vinyl

Zao have announced that they are planning to release new vinyl pressings of “The Splinter Shards The Birth Of Separation” and “Where Blood And Fire Bring Rest.” Both albums have been remastered and fans will be able to purchase them on September 23.

Zao shared the below information on the releases:

“Availble this Wed (23rd) at 2pm EST. make sure you click “see more” for all the info Solid State will have an exclusive variant of each at MerchNow

We will have an exclusive variant of each at Holy Mountain (in addition to shirts)

“The Splinter Shards the Birth of Separation”:

Solid State Records exclusive variant via MerchNow: Clear Green with White Smoke /506
Zao exclusive version via Holy Mountain: Clear Blue with White Smoke /500

“Where Blood And Fire Bring Rest”:

Solid State Records exclusive variant via MerchNow: Clear Orange with White Smoke /512
Zao exclusive version via Holy Mountain: Clear with Blue and Orange Smoke /527

Solid State Records, in partnership with ALL members, past & present of Zao, are extremely proud announce a vinyl record repressing of “The Splinter Shards The Birth of Separation” and their legendary follow-up “Where Blood and Fire Bring Rest.”

Collaborated from-start-to-finish with the musicians on the albums & overseen by the current line up of Zao, these LPs:

– Have, for the first time, been mastered specifically for vinyl.

– Have partnered Zao back up with inceptive design illustrator David Rankin to unearth & restore the original paintings for these albums. While in the process of unarchiving these iconic masterpieces from the their 20+ year hiding places behind attic armoires in Pennsylvania, more unused artwork was found & restored for this reissue series.

– Feature a lush, matte finish jacket.

– Contain lengthy retrospective essays for each release’s insert written by David about “creating the nightmarish art of Zao.”

– Include full-sized, 12×12 card stock, double sided art prints (2 double-sided art prints included with “Splinter”) of high detail, high resolution restored artwork created at the time of the original releases, & in some cases, reimagined (1 double-sided art print included in “Blood & Fire”) to dial up the intensity of these already-ferocious records.

Co-Produced & faithfully-restored by Unoriginal Vinyl to ensure the ultimate fan experience, Zao will also be selling their own exclusive vinyl color variant of each record via their Holy Mountain Webstore in addition to shirts featuring David’s art. Available copies of these represses are sure to immolate faster than… well.. you know. Not even Brandon Ebel could believe the lengths we went to in order to get these ones right.”

Zao Reveal Details For New Rarities Collection “Preface: Early Recordings 1995-1996”

Zao have revealed the details for their new rarities collection “Preface: Early Recordings 1995-1996.” The effort will be released on October 9 and it can be pre-ordered on Bandcamp.

The band commented:

“14 recordings documenting the earliest days of the band. Opening with a set of previously unreleased demos fronted by founding vocalist Eric Reeder along with 2 tracks that appeared on The Tie That Binds 7”/Split CD.

The second set features 7 tracks fronted by vocalist Shawn Jonas. Including a previously unreleased alternate recording of All Else Failed standout Exchange and the Treadwater 7” version of song Repressed.

The CD format contains two bonus tracks from early Zao side project Monroe. Initially meant for a 7” back in 1996 that never came to fruition and are being shared for the first time ever as a part of this collection.

The source audio has been masterfully restored and given new life by Adam Boose at Cauliflower Audio. Album Lacquer Masters cut by Bob Weston at Chicago Mastering Service and vinyl pressed in Cleveland, Ohio at Gotta Groove Records.”

“Preface: Early Recordings 1995-1996” Track Listing:

01. “Conflict”
02. “Rest”
03. “Sickness”
04. “Increased”
05. “Deep”
06. “Flight”
07. “Security”
08. “Exchange”
09. “Sorrow”
10. “Need”
11. “Captive”
12. “Deep”
13. “Nobin”
14. “Repressed”

The effort’s first single, “Repressed,” can be streamed below. In other news, Zao will also be releasing a 25th anniversary vinyl pressing of “All Else Failed“ on October 9 as well. New vinyl pressings of “The Splinter Shards The Birth of Separation” and “Where Blood And Fire Bring Rest” are also being planned.

Zao Announce Rarities Collection & Vinyl Reissues

Zao have revealed that they are lining up some releases for this summer/fall. This includes some vinyl reissues and a rarities collection.

The band said the following about the releases:

“Coming Soon:

These will be released in pairs late summer and/or fall

Pair #1

Preface: Early Recordings 1995-1996

Newly unearthed/remastered archival recordings of the early years of the band.Included are the early “split release” tracks released by Steadfast in addition to 6 unreleased Shawn Jonas era recordings and 5 unreleased Eric Reeder (original Zao vocalist) recordings. Also available on Digital, cassette and CD (with 2 bonus tracks)

All Else Failed “25th Anniversary edition”

New 2LP 45rpm cut done at Chicago Mastering. Packaged in gatefold with printed booklet. 2 new variants (one is a limited 180gram version). There will also be a new Cassette and CD issue to go with this

Pair #2

The Splinter Shards The Birth Of Separation (Vinyl reissue)

New Vinyl Master, Updated artwork and liner notes by original cover artist Dave Rankin. Overseen and endorsed by the band

Where Blood And Fire Bring Rest (vinyl reissue)

New Vinyl Master, updated artwork and liner notes by artist cover artist Dave Rankin. Overseen and endorsed by the band”

Zao Recording New Album

Zao have revealed that they have been recording a new album at The Church Recording Studio in Pittsburgh, PA. The band posted the following:

Zao Post Teaser For “Reformat/Reboot”

Zao have posted a new teaser for their remix release, “Reformat/Reboot.” The band recruited Zombi‘s Steve Moore, Anberlin‘s Joseph Milligan, etc. for the effort, which will be available on November 15.