Tom Petty’s Cause Of Death Revealed To Be Accidental Overdose On Pain Medication

It has officially been confirmed that Tom Petty’s death was a result of accidental overdose on pain medication. A statement from the Los Angeles County Department of Medical Examiner said Petty was taking various medications including Fentanyl, oxycodone, Xanax, Restoril, and Celexa. The drugs were prescribed for emphysema, knee problems, and a fractured hip, which eventually turned into a full on break with unbearable pain. Petty was found unconscious, unable to breath, and in full cardiac arrest at his Mailbu, CA home on October 1, 2017. EMTs rushed him to the hospital, but he was taken off life support after no brain activity was detected. He died on October 2, 2017. R.I.P.

Petty’s family issued the following statement:

Our family sat together this morning with the Medical Examiner – Coroner’s office and we were informed of their final analysis that Tom Petty passed away due to an accidental drug overdose as a result of taking a variety of medications.

Unfortunately Tom’s body suffered from many serious ailments including emphysema, knee problems and most significantly a fractured hip.

Despite this painful injury he insisted on keeping his commitment to his fans and he toured for 53 dates with a fractured hip and, as he did, it worsened to a more serious injury.

On the day he died he was informed his hip had graduated to a full on break and it is our feeling that the pain was simply unbearable and was the cause for his over use of medication.

We knew before the report was shared with us that he was prescribed various pain medications for a multitude of issues including Fentanyl patches and we feel confident that this was, as the coroner found, an unfortunate accident.

As a family we recognize this report may spark a further discussion on the opioid crisis and we feel that it is a healthy and necessary discussion and we hope in some way this report can save lives. Many people who overdose begin with a legitimate injury or simply do not understand the potency and deadly nature of these medications.

On a positive note we now know for certain he went painlessly and beautifully exhausted after doing what he loved the most, for one last time, performing live with his unmatchable rock band for his loyal fans on the biggest tour of his 40 plus year career. He was extremely proud of that achievement in the days before he passed.

We continue to mourn with you and marvel at Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers’ incredible positive impact on music and the world. And we thank you all for your love and support over the last months.

Thank you also for respecting the memory of a man who was truly great during his time on this planet both publicly and privately.

We would be grateful if you could respect the privacy of the entire Heartbreaker family during this difficult time.

Dana Petty and Adria Petty

[via Blabbermouth]


Tom Petty Dead At 66

Tom Petty has sadly passed away at the age of 66. The rock legend was found unconscious, unable to breath, and in full cardiac arrest at his Mailbu, CA home last night (October 1). EMTs rushed him to the hospital, but he was taken off life support after no brain activity was detected. Petty died today at 8:40 p.m. PT. R.I.P.

Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers manager Tony Dimitriades commented:

“On behalf of the Tom Petty family. We are devastated to announce the untimely death of of our father, husband, brother, leader and friend Tom Petty. He suffered cardiac arrest at his home in Malibu in the early hours of this morning and was taken to UCLA Medical Center but could not be revived. He died peacefully at 8:40 p.m. PT surrounded by family, his bandmates and friends.”


Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers Announce 40th Anniversary Tour With Joe Walsh

Tom Petty And The Heartbreakers have announced their 40th anniversary tour. Joe Walsh (Eagles) will serve as support on most dates.


Tour Dates:

4/20 Oklahoma City, Okla. – Chesapeake Energy Center*
4/22 Dallas, Texas – American Airlines Arena*
4/23 Little Rock, Ark. – Verizon Wireless Arena*
4/25 Nashville, Tenn. – Bridgestone Arena*
4/27 Atlanta, Ga. – Philips Arena*
4/29 Houston – Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion*
5/02 Austin, Texas – Frank Erwin Center
5/05 West Palm Beach, Fla. – Perfect Vodka Amphitheatre*
5/06 Tampa, Fla. – Amalie Arena*
5/08 Memphis, Tenn. – Fedex Forum*
5/12 St. Louis – Scottrade Center*
5/13 Indianapolis, Ind. – Klipsch Music Center*
5/29-30 Morrison, Colo. – Red Rocks Amphitheatre
6/02 Kansas City, Mo. – Sprint Center*
6/03 St. Paul, Minn. – Xcel Energy Center*
6/05 Des Moines, Iowa – Wells Fargo Arena*
6/07 Columbus, Ohio – Schottenstein Center*
6/09 Pittsburgh – PPG Paints Arena*
6/10 Cleveland – Quicken Loans Arena*
6/12 Cincinnati – US Bank Arena*
6/14 Hartford, Conn. – Xfinity Theatre*
6/16 Newark, N.J. – Prudential Center*
6/17 Hunter Mountain, N.Y. – Mountain Jam Festival
6/29 Chicago – Wrigley Field
7/01 Philadelphia – Wells Fargo Arena
7/02 Canandaigua, N.Y. – CMAC Performing Arts Center
7/05-06: Milwaukee, Wis. – Summerfest
7/18 Clarkston, Mich. – DTE Energy Music Theatre
7/20 Boston – TD Garden
7/23 Baltimore – Royal Farms Arena
7/26-27 Queens, N.Y. – Forest Hills Stadium

* with Joe Walsh