Tom Petty Posthumous Box Set “An American Treasure” To Be Released In September

A new Tom Petty box set called “An American Treasure” is set to be released on September 28 via Reprise Records. The career-spanning set will come with 60 tracks including previously unreleased recordings, alternate versions of classics, rarities, live performances, and deep tracks. A video for the first single, “Keep A Little Soul,” can be found below. That song was recorded during the 1982 sessions for Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers’ “Long After Dark.”

Petty’s widow Dana Petty and his daughter Adria Petty helped put together the release and serve as it’s executive producers. Petty’s bandmates Mike Campbell and Benmont Tench, and his studio collaborator Ryan Ulyate also served as producers and were involved in curating the track listing as well.

Dana Petty commented:

“Everyone involved in this project chose each track with tremendous care and deep respect for the body of work Tom Petty created over the course of 40 years. He also accumulated a wealth of unreleased music in his vaults, and we have collectively uncovered one gem after another that will keep us all listening and discovering new facets of Tom’s talent for many years to come. We can’t wait to share with Tom’s fans this musical portrait of an artist who deeply affected our culture and indelibly touched the lives of fans the world over.”

Blabbermouth shared a list of the available formats:

* “An American Treasure: Deluxe Edition” — A 4-CD set that features all 60 tracks, plus a 52-page booklet with rare and previously unseen photographs of Tom, his bandmates, family and friends. The booklet also features detailed track-by-track liner notes by noted journalist and Tom Petty aficionado Bud Scoppa, who drew upon his previous interviews with Tom and new conversations with Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench and Ryan Ulyate, as well as Adria and Dana Petty.

* “An American Treasure: Super Deluxe Limited Edition” — A 4-CD set that features all 60 tracks and an 84-page hardbound book expanded from the Deluxe Edition to include many additional photographs and an essay by renowned author Nicholas Dawidoff — written especially for “An American Treasure” — that speaks to Tom Petty’s presence in our lives and influence on our culture for more than 40 years. This special package also includes a newly-created lithograph of Shepard Fairey’s cover artwork, as well as custom reproductions of Tom Petty’s handwritten lyrics to four songs featured in this collection and a numbered certificate of authenticity.

* “An American Treasure: Vinyl Edition” — A 6-LP set that features all 60 tracks and a 48-page booklet containing all of the photographic and editorial elements found in the CD Deluxe Edition. This set also includes the Nicholas Dawidoff essay. This special vinyl edition will be released on Friday, November 23, but is available for pre-order now.

* “An American Treasure: Standard Edition” — A 2-CD set that features 26 career spanning tracks chosen from the Deluxe editions, as well as Bud Scoppa’s detailed track-by-track.

The newly released recordings were mixed by Ryan Ulyate and all 60 tracks have been remastered by Chris Bellman.

Shepard Fairey created the cover art, which is based on an image from photographer Mark Seliger.


Comments are closed.