Abnormality Call It Quits

Abnormality have officially called it quits. The band said they have been “growing apart, and the pandemic and travel bans were the final nail in the coffin.”

Here’s the group’s full statement:

“It is with a heavy heart today we inform you that we are closing this chapter of our lives and Abnormality is no more. This was a difficult but mutual decision by all the members and there are no hard feelings. It has been going on for a while that we felt we were growing apart, and the pandemic and travel bans were the final nail in the coffin.

We are grateful for these past 15 years of making heavy music for you all and playing stages across the country and across the globe. We will never forget the awesome memories and the friendships forged.

A huge thank you to Metal Blade Records, and to all of our fans for the love and support over all these years. Most of us will continue making music in other projects, so rest assured you will see us individually in one form or another.”

Abnormality’s Mallika Sundaramurthy: “Due To Some Personal Circumstances And Medical Reasons, I Will Not Be Touring With The Band This Year”

Abnormality frontwoman Mallika Sundaramurthy has announced that she will be missing most of the band’s 2019 dates due to “personal circumstances and medical reasons.” During her absence, Daniela Neumanová (Diligence) will be filling in.

Sundaramurthy commented:

“Mallika from Abnormality here. Due to some personal circumstances and medical reasons, I will not be touring with the band this year.

We are sorry to say we will be CANCELLING our planned performance at CHICAGO DOMINATION FEST 2019.

OUR EUROPEAN TOUR IN JULY WILL CONTINUE AS PLANNED. I will be performing with Abnormality at only one tour-date, that is at OBSCENE EXTREME FESTIVAL. The rest of the dates the band will be performing with a fill-in vocalist.

We have enlisted Czech based vocalist Daniela Neumanová (DILIGENCE, ex- KEEP ON ROTTING). She is a very brutal and aggressive vocalist, please check out her prior work and see her live with Abnormality this summer, she won’t disappoint! We encourage all our fans to please continue to support Abnormality and the entire tour package (Also with GORGASM, CENOTAPH, and UNBIRTH). Tour dates listed below.

I’m very sorry for any disappointment this may cause our fans. I look forward to seeing some of you at OEF and at a future shows. Thank you for the continued support. \m/ \m/ \m/


JULY 6- Obscene Extreme Festival – Trutnov, Czech Republic

July 7- Graz, Austria
Club Q

July 8- Zagreb, Croatia
AKC Attack

July 9- Bologna, Italy
Freakout club

July 10- Torino, Italy
Ziggy club

July 11- Milano, Italy
Circolo Svolta

July 12- Montpellier, France
Secret Place

July 13- Move your fucking brain fest – Barcelona, Spain
Death Field

July 14- Lorraine, France
No Man’s Land

July 15- Charleroi, Belgium
MCP Apache

July 16- Zurich, Switzerland

July 17- Vienna, Austria
Viper Room

July 18- Budapest, Hungary
Durer Kert

July 19- Death Metal Supremacy No 6 – Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Flying Circus”

Abnormality Premiere New Song “A Catastrophic And Catalyzing Event”

Abnormality have premiered a new song titled “A Catastrophic And Catalyzing Event.” This track is from the band’s new album “Sociopathic Constructs,” which will be released on May 10.

Abnormality Premiere “Curb Stomp” Music Video, Reveal Details For New Album “Sociopathic Constructs”

Abnormality have premiered a new video for their new song “Curb Stomp.” This track is from the band’s new album “Sociopathic Constructs,” which will be released on May 10.

“Sociopathic Constructs” Track Listing:

01. “Monarch Alpha”
02. “Penance”
03. “Kakistocracy”
04. “Transmogrification of the Echoborgs”
05. “A Catastrophic and Catalyzing Event”
06. “Aeturnum”
07. “Dying Breed”
08. “A Seething Perversion”
09. “Curb Stomp”

Frontwoman Mallika Sundaramurthy said the following about the album:

“‘Sociopathic Constructs‘ is the result of tons of hard work and shows the progress we have made as a band since ‘Mechanisms‘. We feel the time is now for such an album, the brutality perfectly reflects the darkness, violence, and harsh reality of our world.”

Guitarist Jeremy Henry added:

“I think this record we felt free enough to just go where we wanted to within a song. We had no qualms with switching styles and approaches from riff to riff. To have a whole section grinding away and then just switch gears, hit the brakes and drop a slow, old school Morbid Angel warship groove in there. We felt free to follow our instincts, and just let our influences shine through.”

Abnormality Recording New Album

Abnormality have started the recording process for their new album at The Brick Hithouse in Barnstable, Massachusetts. The band posted the following:

Abnormality Premiere “Cymatic Hallucinations” Music Video

Abnormality have premiered a new video for their song “Cymatic Hallucinations.” This song is from the band’s latest album, “Mechanisms Of Omniscience,” which is available now.

Jay Blaisdell said the following:

“We’re excited to release our new music video for ‘Cymatic Hallucinations.’ Again we teamed up with Red 13 Media who delivered our previous video ‘Mechanisms of Omniscience.’ Overall, the song is about applying the concept of cymatics (the effects of sound & vibrational frequency on matter), to tripping hard on shrooms. Basically it’s describing the trip of all trips.

A hallucinogenic experience so intense that the auditory hallucinations experienced actually cause a cymatic alteration to the person’s physical reality and existence, or even everyone’s physical reality and existence. It’s a pretty fucked up scenario. I personally have had really intense trips with both visual and auditory hallucinations.

The sounds hallucinated are always indistinguishable from the real vibrational sounds. The whole concept has always intrigued me.”

Members Of Soulfly, Suffocation, Battlecross, Abnormality, & Lody Kong Perform Motörhead‘s “Ace Of Spades” Live

Members of Soulfly, Suffocation, Battlecross, Abnormality, and Lody Kong covered Motörhead‘s “Ace Of Spades” live during their show in Fayetteville, NC last night (April 27). Battlecross shared the following footage of that, via Facebook:

Abnormality Share Behind The Scenes Look At The Making Of “Mechanisms Of Omniscience”

Abnormality have shared  behind the scenes look at the making of their new album, “Mechanisms Of Omniscience.” The effort will be released on April 29.