Annihilator Recruit Dave Lombardo (Ex-Slayer) And Stu Block (Ex-Iced Earth) For “Metal II”

Annihilator will be releasing a reworked version of their 2007 album, “Metal,” on February 18. The effort, which has be retitled “Metal II,” will feature new contributions from ex-Slayer drummer Dave Lombardo and ex-Iced Earth singer Stu Block. They will join the star-studded guest lineup that appeared on the original record.

“Metal II” Track Listing:

01. “Chasing The High” [feat. Willie Adler (Lamb Of God)]
02. “Downright Dominate” [feat. Alexi Laiho (Children Of Bodom)]
03. “Army Of One” [feat. Steve “Lips” Kudlow (Anvil)]
04. “Couple Suicide” [feat. Angela Gossow (ex-Arch Enemy) and Danko Jones]
05. “Heavy Metal Maniac” [feat. Dan Beehler (Exciter) and Allan Johnson)
06. “Haunted” [feat. Jesper Strömblad (ex-In Flames)]
07. “Romeo Delight”
08. “Detonation” [feat. Jacob Lynam]
09. “Clown Parade” [feat. Jeff Loomis (Arch Enemy)]
10. “Smothered” [feat. Anders Björler (ex-The Haunted)]
11. “Kicked” [feat. Corey Beaulieu (Trivium)]

Guitarist Jeff Waters had the following to say about reworking the album with Lombardo and Block:

“Dave was in my favorite band ever (Slayer) and continues to evolve and play in many diverse bands, like Misfits, Suicidal Tendencies, Dead Cross, Mr. Bungle and many other projects. It was an honor to be on the same record as Lombardo. And he uses the ‘Reign In Blood’ ride cymbal!! Yes! The ACTUAL ride cymbal we hear on that classic record.

Stu has been the vocalist that I have (publicly) wanted to be Annihilator’s singer, ever since I heard him in the Canadian band Into Eternity, but I never got the opportunity to get him! He is the next generation of amazing vocalists that is grabbing the microphone from such icons as [Bruce] Dickinson and [Rob] Halford. And our paths SHOULD have crossed a long time ago, but we are here now!

So I got a hold of them both and they both loved the tunes and both said ‘FUCK YES’! And I said to Stu, ‘You’ve got three takes’, so there’s blemishes and warts and fuck-ups everywhere. And I said the same to Dave, ‘get it done’. And watching pros do this is mind-blowing because you don’t have the best sounds, but you have the best players.”

“Metal II” will be released ahead of an extensive reissue campaign covering 18 records and long-lost rarities.

Repentance Premiere New Song “Reborn” Featuring Trivium’s Corey Beaulieu

Repentance have signed a new worldwide deal with Noble Demon Records. With this news, the band have also premiered a lyric video for their new song “Reborn,” which features Trivium guitarist Corey Beaulieu.

Guitarist Shaun Glass said the following about signing with Noble Demon:

“Repentance is thrilled to be with the mighty Noble Demon Records for our new releases! I was so impressed with how such a newer label was making waves, and with such a diverse roster of metal/rock, it was the obvious place for this to be our new home. With a professional staff and Patrick [Walch]’s amazing history in the metal industry, it’s a breath of fresh air.”

Walch continued:

“When I discovered Repentance last year listening to their first single and then the full-length album ‘God for A Day’, I instantly knew I was on to something there. After having spoken with Shaun Glass for a while, we knew that the vibe was more than right between us, so it didn’t need much negotation in order to work together on their next songs. I’m proud to welcome another member to the Noble Demon family, this time with a pure U.S. metal sound which I’ve always been appreciating by bands like Trivium, Lamb Of God, DevilDriver etc., all bands I grew up with as well. And having Corey of Trivium play the solo on this new single is a huge honor for all of us. Check out Repentance, you won’t be disappointed!”

Vocalist Adam Gilley also added the following about the new song:

“When I first heard the track for ‘Reborn’, I knew I wanted to be a part of Repentance. This song is a straight punch to your face. I love the intensity of this song and Corey absolutely shreds on the guest solo…So whether you’re at home, work, the gym or wherever you are. CRANK this!!!”

Trivium Are Already Working On Music For Their Next Album

Trivium barely released their new album “What The Dead Men Say” on April 24, but it looks like they are already working on new material. Guitarist Corey Beaulieu said the following about that on the Interview Under Fire podcast:

“Since we’ve been stuck at home and there’s no tour plans, we’ve already been throwing around new song ideas and writing. ‘Cause we’re, like, hey, if we can’t tour, we might as well write some new tunes and get started on eventually what could be album ten. There was, like, three years between these two records [2017’s ‘The Sin And The Sentence’ and 2020’s ‘What The Dead Men Say’] that I think we’ll get around to dropping another one sooner than people think. We’re just kind of using the time to be productive. And already the stuff I’ve written and then also some of the stuff I’ve heard that Paolo [Gregoletto, bass] has written, everything sounded really pissed off.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Trivium’s Next Album Will Probably Arrive In 2020

During a recent interview with WSMC 90.3’s The Metal Teddy Bear Experience, Trivium’s Corey Beaulieu offered an update on the band’s new album plans. He said the following:

“We always are writing during downtime, so there’s always demos of riffs or songs or half a song. So we do have stuff to get started on, but we still have more touring later next year for this record. So, realistically, there probably won’t be anything until the following year. But maybe there will be a single for the record whenever – sometime later in the year. We’re definitely excited to start on new material, but we’re not gonna rush anything out at the moment. Matt’s [Heafy] having kids, so we got parental leave from touring for a little while.”

[via Loudwire]