Overkill To Begin Recording New Album This Month

Overkill will be hitting the studio this month to start the recording process for their new album. Jason Bittner recently confirmed the news in the below Instagram post. The record is tentatively set to be released in April 2021.

Overkill Planning To Release New Album In April 2021

During a recent interview with A&P-REACTS, Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth offered an update on the new Overkill album. According to him, the band currently have 10 songs for the effort and they are hoping to release it in April 2021.

Ellsworth said the following:

“There’s 10 songs right now. I’m messing around with them, Dave Linsk [guitar] is messing around with them. Listen, there’s no better time to have the old norm for us during a time when the new normal is obviously right around the corner for all of us in the world.

So I think that we’re gonna have more time to write it, and I think this also gives us the opportunity to scrutinize it a little bit more, which we didn’t do on the last record, and I’m happy to have that extra time.”

He went on to discuss the album’s sound:

“I see it as a natural progression from ‘The Grinding Wheel‘ and ‘The Wings Of War‘. It think when we had done the ‘Ironbound‘ record, it almost became like a trilogy in there — it was kind of like ‘Ironbound‘, ‘The Electric Age‘ and ‘White Devil Armory‘, and they seemed to be the Father, Son and the Holy Ghost kind of a thing.

I think we kind of broke the mold a little bit with ‘The Grinding Wheel‘, and then I think a little bit more with ‘The Wings Of War‘. And on this one, I see it way more. And what I mean by that is that we’ve used other tools from our toolshed in the past, and that’s the slow grind that is coupled with that fast gallop. So it feels like a natural progression, but maybe two records ahead of what ‘The Wings Of War‘ is. And that’s probably as objective as I can be.”

He also added the following about release plans:

“April 2021 is what we’re targeting. We’re looking to start mixing it mid-December, so it should be done somewhere around the holidays or delivered in the first week of January type of thing. We’ve also gone so far as to tentatively search out [tour] dates on the release — 2021 in the U.S., or in North America for that matter.

And then Europe would be October of 2021. But we have the whole festival season that’s been canceled from this summer, is gonna be shifted to summer of 2021, so we’re gonna slide over into that Wacken and the Wacken cruise and a bunch of other things that we have on the plate.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Overkill Announce U.S. Tour With Exhorder & Hydraform

Overkill have announced a headlining U.S. tour. Exhorder and Hydraform will open.

Tour Dates:

02/26 Anaheim CA – House of Blues
02/27 San Francisco CA – Slims
02/28 Las Vegas NV – House of Blues
02/29 San Diego CA – House of Blues
03/01 Phoenix AZ – Crecent Ballroom
03/02 Albuquerque NM – Sunshine Theater
03/04 San Antonio TX – Aztec
03/05 Corpus Christi TX – House of Rock
03/06 Houston TX – Warehouse
03/07 Dallas TX – Gas Monkey
03/08 New Orleans LA – House of Blues
03/09 Tampa FL – The Ritz
03/10 Orlando FL – House of Blues
03/11 Atlanta GA – Buckhead
03/12 Charlotte NC – Underground @ The Fillmore
03/13 Silver Springs MD – The Fillmore
03/14 Montclair NJ – Wellmont Theater (with M.O.D. featuring Billy Milano and Demolition Hammer)

Watch Overkill’s Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth Perform Motörhead’s “Overkill” With A Tribute Band

Overkill’s Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth joined Motörhead tribute band Headmotör onstage for a cover of Motörhead’s “Overkill.” The performance took place on February 22 in Jamesburg, New Jersey as part of an album release party for Overkill’s new album “The Wings Of War.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Overkill Premiere “Welcome To The Garden State” Music Video

Overkill have premiered a new video for their new song “Welcome To The Garden State.” This track is from the band’s new album “The Wings Of War,“ which was released today (February 22). Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth commented:

“Not before in our video history have we presented something so artistically-seedy. This due to the brilliant yet twisted, vision of the editing room genius, behind the camera magic and damn tenacity of Mr. Tommy Jones; a good standing card carrying Jersey Boy, who did the band and the state proud. We had verbalized the story line to Tommy, who fully got it and we all created something to be proud of. So when you visit the Garden State, see or hear something that is different for you and you think, ‘hmmmm that’s not the way we do it at home.’ Remember this, you’re not at home anymore… are you?”

Watch Parts Five And Six Of Overkill’s “Welcome To The Garden State” Documentary

Overkill have shared part five and part six of their documentary series “Welcome To The Garden State.” You can check those out below. The band’s new album “The Wings Of War” will be released tomorrow (February 22).

Overkill Share Part Four Of “Welcome To The Garden State” Documentary Series

Overkill have shared part four of their documentary series “Welcome To The Garden State.” You can check that out below. The band’s new album “The Wings Of War” will be released on February 22.

Overkill Announce U.S. Tour With Death Angel & Act Of Defiance

Overkill have announced a headlining tour in support of their album “The Wings Of War“ (out February 22). Death Angel and Act Of Defiance will serve as support.

Tour Dates:

04/25 Baltimore, MD – Soundstage/Rams Head Live!
04/26 Philadelphia, PA – Theatre Of The Living Arts
04/27 Pittsburgh, PA – Rex Theater
04/28 Cleveland, OH – House Of Blues
04/29 Louisville, KY – Mercury Ballroom
04/30 Detroit, MI – St. Andrews Hall
05/01 Grand Rapids, MI – Intersection
05/02 Chicago, IL – House Of Blues
05/03 Minneapolis, MN – Varsity Theater
05/04 Milwaukee, WI – The Rave
05/05 St. Louis, MO – Delmar Hall
05/06 Nashville, TN – The Cannery Ballroom
05/08 Cincinnati, OH – Bogarts
05/09 Rochester, NY – Montage Music Hall
05/10 New York, NY – PlayStation Theater (feat. Life Of Agony)
05/11 Boston, MA – Paradise

Overkill Share Part Three Of “Welcome To The Garden State” Documentary Series

Overkill have shared part three of their documentary series “Welcome To The Garden State.” You can check that out below. The band’s new album “The Wings Of War” will be released on February 22.

Overkill Premiere “Head Of A Pin” Lyric Video

Overkill have premiered a lyric video for their new song “Head Of A Pin.” This track is from the band’s new album, “The Wings Of War,“ which will be released on February 22. Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth commented:

“‘Head Of A Pin‘ took a long time to come together, it is probably the tune that went through the most changes and the last one I finished. Looking back on its development, the time invested was all well worth it. The tonality of the guitar shines on it and the song goes ‘other places’, traditional with a touch of the down-low-dirty riff, and a sing-along chorus…personally, one of my favorites off ‘The Wings Of War.’”