Anthrax Cancel European Tour Plans

According to a Facebook post from In Flames’ Borgholm Brinner festival, Anthrax have cancelled their European touring plans. The band were scheduled to perform at the event, which is set to take place on July 27-28 at the Borgholm Castle in Borgholm, Sweden. The following statement was issued:

“Unfortunately, Anthrax announces it has to cancel its upcoming European tour due to scheduling conflicts. The band members sincerely apologise to all of their fans and hope to see them very soon.”


Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine Says Metallica Are The Hold Outs For More Big Four Shows, Suggests Doing Big Three Shows

Considering the fact that Slayer will be retiring soon, Megadeth‘s Dave Mustaine has said he would like to do at least one more Big Four show with Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, and Anthrax before that happens. Now, during a recent interview with Eddie Trunk, Mustaine talked more about that idea, and the possibility of doing Big Three shows without Metallica, since they seem to be the hold outs.

Mustaine said the following:

“I think if you asked the three of us that, our camps would probably say yes. If Anthrax, Slayer and Megadeth all want to do it, and Metallica doesn’t, then what do we do? The Big Three? I’m sure that a lot of people would like to see that, and that may be what it is. You know, you may end up having it be the Big Three plus No. 5 if we have Exodus play with it.

But it’s not about just doing concerts for the sake of concerts. It was about the movement. It was about what we did together as a group.

Excluding Anthrax, we’re all like neighbors almost ’cause we all lived so close. It was just a half hour to an hour at at most between each other’s houses on the freeway. So, I think it would be great to do more Big Four stuff—do one in Japan. Do one in South America—we never did one in South America; we haven’t done one in Asia. Give the people an opportunity to see it before it goes away forever.”

On another note, it looks like Scott Ian (Anthrax) would like to do some shows as well:

[via The PRP]

Anthrax Premiere “Caught In A Mosh” Live Video From “Kings Among Scotland” DVD

Anthrax have premiered a new live video for “Caught In A Mosh.” The footage is from the band’s new DVD “Kings Among Scotland,“ which will be released on April 27. That effort features the group’s February 15, 2017 show at the Barrowland Ballroom in Glasgow, Scotland, where they played a regular set as well as an “Among The Living” set. It will also come with interviews, gear rundowns, and behind the scenes footage.

Gary Holt On The Possibility Of A New Slayer Album: “I’d Say It’s A No”

Gary Holt (Slayer, Exodus) was recently interviewed by Jimmy Kay of Canada’s The Metal Voice and was asked about Slayer’s “final” world tour. At first he said the following: “My middle name is ‘No Comment.’ See you at the shows. Seriously, no comment,” but then added the following after Kay mentioned how some bands, like Scorpions, change their minds about retirement:

“Noooo. C’mon! But I love the Scorpions. I hope [their tour] never ends. We are wrapping it up. The tour dates have been announced. The tour is huge. It’s gonna be awesome. And I’m honored and proud to be a part of it. And we’re gonna make it something for people to remember. It’s gonna be epic.”

He also said the following when asked about the possibility of a new album:

“No. No, there’s no new album. I’d say it’s a no. But my name is Gary ‘No Comment’ Holt today. I don’t know nothing. You’ve seen the dates, you saw the press releases. And come out and celebrate the mighty history of Slayer, which I’m lucky to have been part of for the last seven years now. It’s been a ride, it’s been remarkable, and we’re gonna end it in gloriously violent fashion.”

[via Blabbermouth]

Megadeth’s Dave Mustaine Hopes To Do One More Big Four Show Before Slayer Retire

As previously reported, Slayer will be calling it quits after one last world tour, but before that happens Megadeth‘s Dave Mustaine wants to do one more Big Four show with Metallica, Slayer, Megadeth, and Anthrax. He tweeted the following;

[via The PRP]

Anthrax To Release New Live DVD “Kings Among Scotland” In April

Anthrax will release their new DVD “Kings Among Scotland“ on April 27. The effort features the band’s February 15, 2017 show at the Barrowland Ballroom in Glasgow, Scotland, as well as interviews, gear rundowns, and behind the scenes footage. It was filmed and directed by Paul M. Green, who used 17 cameras to capture the performance, and mixed by Jay Ruston

The concert featured the following setlist:

01. “A.I.R.”
02. “Madhouse”
03. “Evil Twin”
04. “Medusa”
05. “Blood Eagle Wings”
06. “Fight ‘Em ‘Til You Can’t”
07. “Be All, End All”
08. “Breathe Lightning”
09. “Among The Living”
10. “Caught In A Mosh”
11. “One World”
12. “I Am The Law”
13. “A Skeleton In The Closet”
14. “Efilnikufesin (N.F.L.)”
15. “A.D.I./Horror Of It All”
16. “Indians”
17. “Imitation Of Life”
18. “Antisocial” (Trust cover)

Frank Bello said the following:

“Playing for our friends at the Barrowlands has always been very special. We all know we’re going to get together and have an insanely great time, and we think that incredible interaction and energy really comes through on this video.”

Charlie Benante also added:

“It was a challenge for all of us to play ‘Among The Living‘ live. “We’ve played a number of that album’s songs in our shows over the years, but not all of them, and playing a song in a recording studio is not the same as playing it live on stage. So we put in a lot of time to get all of the tracks down perfectly. And I’ll tell you, after we finished that set, as arduous as it was, we all felt a sense of exhiliration, like we could go out and do it again.”