Snowblind (Mastodon) To Debut New Video On “The Slaughter Que Late Night Extravaganza”

Snowblind, the arctic themed project featuring Mastodon‘s Brent Hinds, will be debuting a new video during “The Slaughter Que Late Night Extravaganza.” That show will stream live on Facebook on December 26 and it will feature “celebrity interviews, live music performances, outrageous sideshow acts and more.” Hinds and Syd Howell will host.

[via The PRP]

West End Motel (Mastodon) Working On New Music

Mastodon’s Brent Hinds has been working on new music for his West End Motel project. He said the following about that:

“…We got some real bangers almost ready to mix and a mountain of music releases in progress -working in the studio most weeks now. Should be exciting end of 2020 and 2021”

View this post on Instagram

Hey everyone. Please read the whole post… From West End Motel team -We pulled our merchandise push for the last 4 months because it seemed pretty tone deaf to be pushing music product while people were fighting and dying in the street, people suffering of a horrible disease, people suffering financial and socially, and incredible growing polarity between sides of humanity growing when we all know most of us sitting down in person together over a beer or coffee brings the true connection that matters among differing opinions. -and what better than music to bridge that. So with our West End Motel "2020 Choose Awesome" shirt -which now has a totally different meaning based on where we are -we'd like to reoffer them and other vinyl, CDs and a bunch of free stuff like double skull and raven stickers with your purchase… and we will donate a portion of the proceeds to a Covid survivor charity. We have everysize in stock (Women sizes too)-no waiting ready to ship -& we preshipped a few extra shirts to Europe 2 months ago to Gethin to store in UK to be able to get shirts out fast for Europe orders. MODEL: Sexy Ass Brent doing his Blue Steel in the Choose Awesome 2020 Shirt. We also have original poster art available too -some of that will go to help @mcstevenish finally get a honeymoon once the pandemic is over Email: for a full list of WEM related stuff & we will get it out to ya fast! And lastly we got some real bangers almost ready to mix and a mountain of music releases in progress -working in the studio most weeks now. Should be exciting end of 2020 and 2021 -stay tuned, stay positive, and give everyone a little grace during these stressful times. Pretty sure Lemmy & Strummer both said something like "kindness to others doesnt cost you anything" "Life can either suck or be awesome -i choose awesome" -the great @bubbersparties 'future President of the USA @gethiwethi @raisamrn @dicknickel @tom.w.tapley @mrbankercustom @orangeamplifiers @_pacella_ @fiend.without.a.face @richeybeckett @dogboy701 @raybird_ @cocoalexander @runeramone @ginagleasongtr @jessmargera @dustindznuts @markwijering @the_real_dr_worm @marcuskingband

A post shared by West End Motel Band (@westendmotelband) on

[via The PRP]

Watch Mastodon’s Brent Hinds Cover Black Sabbath’s “Electric Funeral” With Marcus King

During his livestream show in Nashville, TN last night (July 27), Marcus King was joined onstage by Mastodon’s Brent Hinds for covers of ZZ Top‘s “Thunderbird” and Black Sabbath‘s “Electric Funeral.“ Footage of the Black Sabbath cover is available below. The performance was part of King’s benefit show series for MusiCares.

[via The PRP]

Matt Pike (High On Fire) & Brent Hinds (Mastodon) Have Two Hours Worth Of Song Ideas For New Project

In addition to collaborating on a new guitar pedal, Matt Pike (High On Fire) and Brent Hinds (Mastodon) have also been working on new music together. According to Pike, the duo already have two hours worth of material.

Pike and his wife Alyssa Maucere-Pike (Lord Dying), who also contributed to the project, recently discussed the collaboration on “Hot-Blooded With Cat Jones” with Matt having said:

“Well, it was supposed to ramp up here and it’s going a little slow now [due to] quarantine. ‘Cause I planned on going back there [to Brent‘s] after this next Sleep tour or something and hanging out and sitting down.

‘Cause we got some stuff done, but it wasn’t a major lot. But there’s definitely all these… there’s like two hours worth of ideas, it’s just putting them all together you know? And feeling each other out and having different… We kind want to make it like so we can have different people, like different bass players, different drummers, different singers, different people playing tambourine, whatever [laughs]. Like some sax guys… ‘oh, what’s that dude doing over there, he’s choking a goose!’ [imitates sax] [laughs].”

[via The PRP]

Mastodon’s Brent Hinds And High On Fire’s Matt Pike Join Forces For “Unicorn Blood II” Guitar Pedal

Mastodon’s Brent Hinds and High On Fire‘s Matt Pike have teamed up to create a KHDK “Unicorn Blood II” guitar pedal. You can pre-order that at Here’s a description of the pedal:

“Unicorn Blood II is a space-themed brother to the original Unicorn Blood. Now covered in cosmic glitter, with an even tighter fuzz and all the versatility that made its predecessor a collector’s item.”

“Unicorn Blood’s design uses discrete transistors and germanium diodes for an authentic vintage fuzz tone. Each of the 420-piece limited series is hand-wired in KHDK’s custom shop.”

Mastodon’s Brent Hinds Is “Cooking Up Something Special” With High On Fire’s Matt Pike

It looks like Mastodon’s Brent Hinds and High On Fire‘s Matt Pike are working on something together. Hinds shared the below post regarding that:

Slipknot, Mastodon, Trivium, Etc. Members To Guest On New Me And That Man (Behemoth) Album “New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol. 1”

Behemoth frontman Adam “Nergal” Darski has revealed the details for his new Me And That Man album “New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol. 1.” The effort, which will be released on March 27, features a number of guests including Slipknot’s Corey Taylor, Mastodon’s Brent Hinds, Trivium’s Matt Heafy, and more.

“New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol. 1” Track Listing:

01. “Run With The Devil” (feat. Jørgen Munkeby of Shining)
02. “Coming Home” (feat. Siver Høyem of Madrugada)
03. “Burning Churches” (feat. Mat McNerney of Grave Pleasures)
04. “By The River” (feat. Ihsahn of Emperor)
05. “Męstwo”
06. “Surrender” (feat. Anders Landelius of Dead Soul / Rob Caggiano of Volbeat)
07. “Deep Down South” (feat. Nicke Anderson of Entombed / Johanna Sadonis of Lucifer)
08. “Man Of The Cross” (feat. Jerome Reuter of Rome)
09. “You Will Be Mine” (feat. Matt Heafy of Trivium)
10. “How Come?” (feat. Corey Taylor of Slipknot and Stone Sour / Brent Hinds of Mastodon)
11. “Confession” (feat. Niklas Kvarforth of Shining)

Nergal commented:

“With the utmost pride and… kind of relief;,I present to you, the second ME AND THAT MAN album — ‘New Man, New Songs, Same Shit, Vol. 1′. This time ’round, I wanted to take on a different challenge and curated an album of 11 songs — each with their own character and vibe, alongside the most talented and important individuals across the whole scene. Together, we take trips to the lands of blues, folk, country and even spaghetti western. Only time will tell if we hit the mark, but I deeply believe so. I’m very proud of this piece of work and it has been a monumental task to achieve.

I would like to thank EACH one of our guests for being part of this project: Mat and Matt, Niklas and Jørgen, Corey, Alan, Addi, Brent, Vegard, Sivert, Anders, Rob, Jerome, Johanna and Nicke. I LOVE you all from here to the moon and back! Without the passion and heart you granted us, this wouldn’t have been possible!”

Two songs from the album, Run With The Devil” (feat. Jørgen Munkeby) and “Burning Churches” (feat. Mat McNerney), have already been released and a video for the third single, “Surrender” (feat. Anders Landelius and Rob Caggiano), can be found below: