Soen (Ex-Opeth) To Release New Album “Lotus” In February

Soen (ex-Opeth) have announced that their new album “Lotus” will be released on February 1. The band recorded the effort at Ghostward Studios and Studio 6 with producers David Castillo and Iñaki Marconi. It will be their first to feature guitarist Cody Ford and pre-orders will launch on November 16.

Vocalist Joel Ekelöf commented:

“Ultimately, ‘Lotus‘ is about rising from whatever darkness, or dark places, you might find yourself. And its inspiration comes from a deep motivation to not just settle for the situation you might find yourself in.

‘Lotus‘ is about changing life — both your own and your surroundings for which we must all take responsibility — and make them better rather than letting darkness pacify you and take you down.”

Tour Dates:

03/12 Oslo, NOR – John B
03/13 Copenhagen, DEN – TBC
03/14 Hamburg, GER – Logo
03/15 Berlin, GER – Roadrunner
03/18 Munich, GER – Backstage Werk
03/20 Aschaffenburg, GER – Colos Saal
03/21 Cologne, GER – Helios
03/22 Eindhoven, NET – De Effenaar
03/25 London, UK – O2 Academy Islington
03/28 Barcelona, SPA – Salamandra
03/29 Madrid, SPA – Caracol
03/30 Porto, POR – Hard Club
03/31 Lisbon, POR – RCA
04/03 Pratteln, SWI – Z7
04/04 Milano, ITA – Legent Club
04/05 Roma, ITA – Orion Ciampino
04/06 Fabricia, ITA – Sonic Room


Soen Stream Live Version Of “Lucidity”

Soen are streaming a live version of “Lucidity,” which was recorded in Rome, Italy back in 2017. The song is one of the bonus tracks featured on the remastered deluxe version of their latest album, “Lykaia.“ That effort is called “Lykaia Revisited“ and it will be available on September 14.

[via Decibel]

Soen To Release “Lykaia Revisited” In September

Soen will be reissuing “Lykaia” on September 14. The new version, which is called “Lykaia Revisited,” has been remastered by Gentry Studer and it will feature revised artwork and live tracks recorded during the band’s 2017 European tour. Drummer Martin Lopez said the following:

“The tour was great, and when you have the chance to play songs live night after night, they take on another perspective and on reflection, we all felt that ‘Lykaia‘ could greatly benefit from being remastered; that there were improvements which could be made that would seal the ‘Lykaia‘ era perfectly.”

“Lykaia Revisited” Track Listing:

01. “Sectarian”
02. “Orison”
03. “Lucidity”
04. “Opal”
05. “Jinn”
06. “Sister”
07. “Stray”
08. “Paragon”
09. “Vitriol”
10. “God’s Acre”
11. “Sectarian” Live (Live in Lisbon)
12. “Jinn” (Live in Lisbon)*
13. “Lucidity Live” (Live in Rome)

*only available on digital formats