Shining’s Portland, OR Show Cancelled Due To Niklas Kvarforth‘s Alleged “Offensive, Dangerous,” & “Destructive” Behavior

Shining’s May 17 show with Revenge and Wolvhammer at the Tonic Lounge in Portland, Oregon has been cancelled. The cancellation comes as a result of the venue saying that Niklas Kvarforth has “done and said many things that could be considered offensive, dangerous, or destructive.”

The Tonic Lounge said the following:

“Tonic Lounge has decided to cancel the Shining show that was scheduled for this Wednesday, May 17th.
All tickets will be refunded.

We regret having not researched this band more before approving their show. After booking them, it was brought to our attention that Shining’s singer has done and said many things that could be considered offensive, dangerous, or destructive. While we were learning about and considering these issues, the list continued to grow, including a recent report that the he may have been involved in the drugging of someone’s drink.

This morning we received a call from a trusted friend in Boise Idaho, detailing the events that took place while Shining were there on Sunday. We were told that the singer of Shining went to the local punk bar Mulligans before their concert, and was groping women and threatening to stab employees, and had to be removed.

We were also told that later, while performing at The Shredder, he used many blatant racist and homophobic slurs on stage, threatened audience members with rape, slapped audience members in the face, and was sieg heil saluting repeatedly throughout their performance.

Sometimes words and allegations on the internet can be difficult to navigate, but a story like this coming from a friend is not. The above types of behavior are simply not acceptable at Tonic Lounge. This isn’t about censorship. This is about protecting our venue, our staff, and our patrons.

This decision was not made under pressure by any individuals or political groups. We believe in freedom of expression and are not quick to pull the plug on any band booked at our club. However, we are not going to invite someone into our space to spout hate speech on our stage, and/or put our staff and patrons in harm’s way.

We are still in full support of Famine Fest Presents, the other bands who were on the bill, and all of our friends and customers who planned on attending. We hope you all can respect our decision to do what’s best for our club and those within it.”

[via The PRP]

Shining Announce 2017 North American Tour With Revenge & Wolvhammer

Shining have announced a North American tour with Revenge and Wolvhammer. Check out the dates below.

Tour Dates:

05/05 Baltimore, MD – Sparta Inn
05/06 Trenton, NJ – Backstage at Championship Bar
05/08 Montreal, QC – Foufounes Electriques
05/09 Toronto, ON – The Garrison
05/10 Detroit, MI – Harpo’s
05/11 Chicago, IL – Reggie’s
05/12 Kansas City, MO – Riot Room
05/15 Vancouver, BC – The Red Room (no Revenge)
05/16 Seattle, WA – Studio Seven
05/17 Portland, OR – Tonic Lounge
05/18 Oakland, CA – Metro Opera House
05/19 Las Vegas, NV – Adrenaline
05/20 Los Angeles, CA – Complex
05/21 Phoenix, AZ – Joe’s Grotto
05/23 Austin, TX – Grizzly Hall
05/24 Fort Worth, TX – Rail Club

Intronaut & Shining Announce European Co-Headlining Tour

Intronaut and Shining will be heading out on a European tour together. Obsidian Kingdom will serve as support for the trek.


Tour Dates:

09/06 Oslo, NOR – John Dee
09/08 Copenhagen, DEN – Loppen
09/09 Hamburg, GER – Logo
09/10 Berlin, GER – Cassiopeia
09/11 Gdansk, POL – B90
09/12 Poznan, POL – Minoga
09/13 Prague, CZE – Futurum
09/14 Munich, GER – Strom
09/15 Vienna, AUT – Szene
09/17 Milan, ITA – Lo-Fi
09/18 Rome, ITA – Init
09/19 Bologna, ITA – Freakout Club
09/20 Zurich, SWI – Werk 21
09/21 Lausanne, SWI – Les Docks
09/24 Brussels, BEL – VK
09/25 London, UK – The Dome
09/27 Haarlem, NET – Patronaat
09/28 Den Haag, NET – Paard van Troje
09/29 Leeuwarden, NET – Neushoorn
09/30 Cologne, GER – Essigfabrik (‘Euroblast Festival‘)