Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder Celebrates Joe Strummer’s 70th Birthday With Cover Of “Long Shadow.”

Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder is celebrating Joe Strummer’s 70th birthday with a cover of “Long Shadow.” The frontman said the following about that:

“I just think that what Joe did with the Mescaleros and those records, and those songs, and those words – it’s a very communal sound. The listener feels that they can just be part of that community.”

In other news, an unreleased Stummer song, titled “Fantastic,” has also been released. That track will appear on a new compilation, titled “Joe Strummer 002: The Mescaleros Years,” which will be available on September 16.

Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder Interviews Astronauts In Space

Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam) recently joined forces with NASA to interview the crewmembers aboard the International Space Station. The chat, which was organized as part of this year’s Earth Day, finds the astronauts discussing “their thoughts on having a front-row seat to the global effects of climate change” and reflecting on the “stewardship of our planet, as well as space’s remarkable ability to unite all of us in shared humanity.”

Watch Pearl Jam, Guns N’ Roses, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Etc. Members Cover The Pretenders’ “Precious”

During his February 21 show at Benaroya Hall in Seattle, WA, Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam) and his “Earthlings” backing band, Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Josh Klinghoffer (ex-Red Hot Chili Peppers), Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction), Glen Hansard (The Frames), and Andrew Watt (Post Malone, Ozzy Osbourne), were joined onstage by Duff McKagan (Guns N’ Roses) for a cover of The Pretenders’ “Precious.” You can see fan-filmed footage of that below:

Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam) Postpones Two Shows Due To Positive COVID-19 Test Within His Touring Party

Peral Jam frontman Eddie Vedder has postponed his solo shows in San Diego and Los Angeles due to a positive COVID-19 test within his touring party. The following statement was issued:

“The Eddie Vedder and The Earthlings concerts scheduled for tomorrow February 15, 2022, at the Magnolia in San Diego and Thursday, February 17, 2022, at YouTube Theater in Los Angeles have regretfully been postponed. We have been following Covid protocols but still had a positive test in our touring party. The appropriate response is to postpone the next two shows. Everyone, please take care. Previously purchased tickets are valid for the rescheduled dates. If you cannot attend the rescheduled dates and desire a refund for your ticket, ticket refunds will be issued at the point of purchase.”

Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam) Premieres New Song “Brother The Cloud”

Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam) has premiered a new song titled “Brother The Cloud.” The track will appear on his upcoming album “Earthling.” That effort will be released on February 11 and it will feature a number of guests including: Stevie Wonder, Ringo Starr, Elton John, Andrew Watt, Chad Smith, and Josh Klinghoffer.

“Earthling” Track Listing:

01. “Invincible”
02. “Power Of Right”
03. “Long Way”
04. “Brother The Cloud”
05. “Fallout Today”
06. “The Dark”
07. “The Haves”
08. “Good And Evil”
09. “Rose Of Jericho”
10. “Try”
11. “Picture” (feat. Elton John)
12. “Mrs. Mills”
13. “On My Way”

Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam) Announces February U.S. Tour

Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam) has announced a solo tour in support of his new album “Earthling” (out February 11). Notably, the frontman’s backing band will consist of Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Josh Klinghoffer (ex-Red Hot Chili Peppers), Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction), Glen Hansard (The Frames), and Andrew Watt (Post Malone, Ozzy Osbourne). Hansard will also open the shows.

Tour Dates:

02/03 New York, NY – Beacon Theatre
02/04 New York, NY – Beacon Theatre
02/06 Newark, NJ – New Jersey Performing Arts Center
02/09 Chicago, IL – Auditorium Theatre
02/15 El Cajon, CA – The Magnolia
02/17 Inglewood, CA – YouTube Theater
02/21 Seattle, WA – Benaroya Hall
02/22 Seattle, WA – Benaroya Hall

Eddie Vedder (Pearl Jam) To Perform At Tibet House US Virtual Benefit Concert

Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder is among the artists who will be performing as part of the Tibet House US virtual benefit concert on February 17. The event, which is being curated by composer and artistic director Philip Glass, will stream via Mandolin and it will also feature: Phoebe Bridgers, Brittany Howard, Valerie June, Angélique Kidjo, Laurie Anderson, Tenzin Choegyal, Rubin Kodheli, and more. Tickets can be found HERE.