Cold Premiere “Quiet Now” Music Video

Cold have premiered a new video for their song “Quiet Now.” This track is from the band’s latest album “The Things We Can’t Stop.”

Scooter Ward commented:

“I had written the song, ‘Quiet Now,’ for a Cold Army member and dear friend, who had dealt with the loss of a family member during the recording of our new album. A photo was sent to me, of him and his father holding hands while his father was in the hospital… that photograph is what inspired the song. I knew the concept for the video needed to express the intense emotion of the song.

I contacted Patrick Huven from Ghost Motel and filmmaker Alex Schroer to direct and produce the video. I had previously watched their video for a song called ‘Hush‘ that they had created and loved the eeriness of it and their aesthetic. Patrick and I got together on the concept for the video being a mother mourning the loss of her child in solitude. We felt nothing could be more painful… the silence of it all. Not hearing the little sounds of a loved one who is no longer there.

However, the only problem was that he lives in Germany, and the distance would be an obstacle. We ended up shooting the story for the video in Germany and then my part here in the states. I reached out to our dear friend and amazing photographer, Dave Jackson, to film and direct my solo part. We filmed it in his studio in Wisconsin. The end result of the two merging together ended up being seamless and powerful.

With our world now being on lockdown and everyone experiencing their own levels of solitude, and a bit of silence, and with music being the conduit that holds us together, we felt now was the time to release the song. People are going through serious loss because of this on many levels, and music sometimes helps during these moments.

Our hopes are that a song can maybe help people feel not so alone in it all. Our hopes are that with music, perseverance, and the determination that is within us to overcome, things can be somewhat back to normal again soon.

We love you all. Stay healthy and follow the guidelines to ensure your safety. Our hearts are with you.”

Cold Premiere New Video For Their Cover Of Snow Patrol’s “Run”

Cold have premiered a new video for their cover of Snow Patrol’s “Run” via Alternative Press. This track is from the band’s latest album “The Things We Can’t Stop.”

Scooter Ward said the following:

“I decided to record the song ‘Run’ as it’s always been one of my favorite songs from one of my favorite bands. The song connected with me on a deep level while missing my family during our many tours and while making records. It will always be a beautifully perfect song to me.”

He also talked about filming the clip on the band’s fall tour:

“We’ve always had a close relationship with our fanbase. With today’s social media communities as well as meeting fans and spending personal moments with them on tour, we stay connected to what they are saying and experiencing in everyday life. The Cold Army is our extended family who have been with us for decades now. We not only write songs for us but for them as well, with the intention that a song can hopefully help, heal and provide hope for someone.

This year was our first tour in many years and reconnecting with the fans. Being close to them again meant the world to us. After the tour finished, I felt the need to create a compilation video to share some moments from the Broken Human tour for our fans abroad and the cities here in the states that we missed. And lastly to commemorate the memories for the people who were able to enjoy the shows with us and make the tour something beyond special to all of us in the band.”

Cold Premiere “Without You” Music Video

Cold have premiered a new video for their song “Without You.” This track is from the band’s latest album “The Things We Can’t Stop.” Scooter Ward commented:

“This is our new video for the song ‘Without You.’ The song is about doubting blind faith. The video was created with a horror movie/cult type storyline about a lost soul finding hope in the darkness.”

Cold Premiere New Song “The Devil We Know”

Cold have premiered a new song titled “The Devil We Know.” This track is from the band’s new album “The Things We Can’t Stop,” which will be released on September 13. Frontman Scooter Ward said the following about the song:

“It evolved from me seeing people fighting on social media and on the news. People getting gaslighted daily. I had enough of all the noise from it. It’s basically a siren for the silent majority to stand up and take control back. A revolution.”

Cold Premiere New Song “Shine”, Reveal Details For New Album “The Things We Can’t Stop”

Cold have premiered a lyric video for their new song “Shine.” This track is from the band’s new album “The Things We Can’t Stop,” which will be released on September 13.

Scooter Ward said the following about the song:

“It’s about dealing with physical abuse at home and becoming triumphant over bullying. I faced bullying throughout my early formative years. I’m hoping it helps someone feel not so alone if they’re going through it right now.”

He also discussed it further with Billboard:

“Nobody wants to have their kids come home bawling and having a hard time. Just to know it still existed was heartbreaking. So, of course, I got online and started looking up things, and that just inspired me. And like with most Cold songs, I wanted to give people an outlet, make them feel like there’s a way out, that this isn’t going to last forever and it might — that’s a ‘might’ — get better. That’s why the chorus is so uplifting. I’m trying to say that you feel alone when it’s happening, but nothing lasts forever.”

He also added the following about the record, which he describes as “very moody” and “melancholy”:

“It’s a different kind of heavy. The heavy things to me in life have always been the weight of the songs — not the actual rhythms or the loudness of the guitar.”

“I wanted to bring in some elements from older Cold records. I think it’s important to go back and have that for fans, too, even if most of the album is different.”

He also talked about the eight year gap between albums:

“I needed life to happen to be able to create. There were probably around 15 years where all I did was live and breathe the band. I needed to separate from that to remember what it was like to not have it anymore. It was extremely important for me to spend time with my family. I did experience writer’s block for the first time in my life during the process though.

It was brutal, because the one thing I’ve always had—left me. It seemed the series of events in my life had taken away my soul. It turned around. I’ve remained adamant about evolving a bit with each record. Approaching every chapter as a new beginning is paramount and necessary for it to be a true Cold album.”

“The Things We Can’t Stop” Track Listing:

01. “Intro”
02. “Shine”
03. “Snowblind”
04. “The Devil We Know”
05. “Run” (Snow Patrol cover)
06. “Better Human”
07. “Without You”
08. “Quiet Now”
09. “The One That Got Away”
10. “Systems Fail”
11. “Beautiful Life”
12. “We All Love”