Umbra Vitae (Converge, The Red Chord, Etc.) Announce December Shows

Umbra Vitae (Converge, The Red Chord, Twitching Tongues, etc.) have announced their first-ever live shows. Here’s where you can catch them:

12/15 Cambridge, MA – The Middle East
12/16 Brooklyn, NY – Saint Vitus Bar

Umbra Vitae’s “Shadow Of Life” To Receive Physical Release In October

Umbra Vitae (Converge, The Red Chord, etc.) will be releasing their debut album “Shadow Of Life” on CD and vinyl on October 23. Pre-orders can be found HERE. The effort was previously released in digital outlets in May.

Umbra Vitae (Converge, The Red Chord, Etc.) Premiere “Ethereal Emptiness” Music Video

Umbra Vitae (Converge, The Red Chord, ex-Job For A Cowboy, etc.) have premiered a new video for their song “Ethereal Emptiness.” This track is from the band’s latest album “Shadow Of Life.” Jacob Bannon commented:

“‘Ethereal Emptiness‘ is about the ferocity of negativity and the complexities that life can sometimes bring. Often it can feel like the fabric of rational being is under attack. When I am faced with that adversity, rather than retreat into an archaic belief system, I regroup and recenter with the intent to find clarity and calm. I attempt to embrace what is rather than what could be. We should cherish that emptiness even though it can be intimidating. It is a true beginning and it’s up to each one of us what we do with it…”

[via Decibel]

Umbra Vitae (Converge, The Red Chord, Etc.) Premiere “Mantra Of Madness” Music Video

Umbra Vitae (Converge, The Red Chord, ex-Job For A Cowboy, etc.) have premiered a new video for their new song “Mantra Of Madness.” This track is from the band’s debut album “Shadow Of Life,” which will be released on May 1.

Converge, Ex-Job For A Cowboy, Etc. Members Join Forces In Umbra Vitae

Jacob Bannon (Converge, Wear Your Wounds, etc.), Mike “Gunface” McKenzie (The Red Chord, Wear Your Wounds, etc.), Sean Martin (Twitching Tongues, ex-Hatebreed, etc.), Greg Weeks (The Red Chord, Labor Hex, etc.), and Jon Rice (Uncle Acid & The Deadbeats, ex-Job For A Cowboy, etc.) have launched a new band called Umbra Vitae. The group’s debut album “Shadow Of Life“ will be released on May 1 and the effort’s first single “Return To Zero“ can be streamed below:

Bannon had the following to say about the band, whose name was inspired by Georg Heym‘s 1913 poem of the same name:

“After reading the piece from Heym, I immediately felt connected to it. Later, while working on the previous Wear Your Wounds album, my love for Death Metal was rekindled. This was likely a reaction to working on non-aggressive music for such a concentrated period. As these songs started to form, the ominous nature of that original poem came to mind.

In many ways it embodied the character of what we were all creating together. For me, Umbra Vitae is darkly confrontational and my own internal struggles are nested within each song. At this point in my life it is of the utmost importance to use this art and music as the vehicle for a healthy purge of emotion. By design, even in something this intense, there is righteous intent to be a better human through the process of creating it.”

He also told Revolver the following about “Return To Zero“:

“‘Return To Zero‘ is about removing resistance in one’s life in order to be best version of ‘you’ that one can be. I feel that this is a relatable topic for many. What resistance is and how it manifests is unique to every single one of us. For me, this is a constant process and essential to being a better husband, father, friend, artist and human. Below you’ll find a section of the lyrics that state this better than I can in paragraph form. Thank you to everyone who continues to listen.”

“Bite down on the chain
Bow down to no one
Destroy the ego
Radiate love
Carve out a purpose
Where there was none
Wipe up the blood
Remove resistance
And exit the cage
Climb to your feet
Accept your rage
It’s time to reclaim
What’s rightfully yours
Bite down on the chain
And bow down to no one”

“Shadow Of Life” Track Listing:

01. “Decadence Dissolves”
02. “Ethereal Emptiness”
03. “Atheist Aesthetic”
04. “Mantra Of Madness”
05. “Fear Is A Fossil”
06. “Polluted Paradise”
07. “Intimate Inferno”
08. “Return To Zero”
09. “Blood Blossom”
10. “Shadow Of Life”