Pig Destroyer‘s Blake Harrison On New Album: “I Would Just Say That This One Is A Little More Diverse”

Pig Destroyer‘s Blake Harrison was recently interviewed by Metal Hammer and talked a bit about the band’s new album. According to him, the effort “is a little more diverse than before.”

Harrison said the following:

“This is the first album we have ever made with a bass player and so that means we have a new toy to play around with. Having that extra element, those lower tones, means that the whole sonic picture is different, so we’ve been exploring that. Having John [Jarvis, bassist] really opened things up for us. We can incorporate much more stuff and really experiment on this record.”

He also added the following about the direction of the new material:

“…I would just say that this one is a little more diverse than before. [2001’s] ‘Prowler In The Yard‘ was more of a death metal record, ‘Terrifyer‘ [2004] was more of a noise rock record, ‘Book Burner‘ was a grindcore record and ‘Phantom Limb‘ [2007] was more of a thrash record, but this one has all of those things in it. Some songs have a more Melvins vibe and obviously there are some straight-up, 30-second, fast-as-hell grindcore songs.”


Pig Destroyer Recording New Album

Pig Destroyer have started recording a new album at Visceral Sound Studios in Bethesda, MD. Guitarist Scott Hull is producing the effort, which is expected to be released in summer 2018 via Relapse.

Tour Dates:

12/07 Los Angeles, CA – The Regent (with Despise You, Necrot & Call Of The Void)
12/08 San Diego, CA – Brick By Brick (with Despise You, Necrot & Call Of The Void)
12/09 Oakland, CA – Metro Operahouse (with Despise You, Necrot & Call Of The Void)
02/23 Garwood, NJ – Crossroads
02/24 Long Island, NY – Obnoxious Noise Fest
05/26 Baltimore, MD – Maryland Deathfest

Pig Destroyer Announce Three December West Coast Dates With Despise You, Necrot, & Call Of The Void

Pig Destroyer will be playing three West Coast shows in December with Despise You, Necrot, and Call Of The Void. Here’s the dates:

12/07 Los Angeles, CA – The Regent
12/08 San Diego, CA – Brick By Brick
12/09 Oakland, CA – Metro Operahouse (feat. Arterial Atrophy)

Pig Destroyer To Release Deluxe Edition Of “Painter Of Dead Girls”

Pig Destroyer will be releasing a deluxe edition of their compilation album “Painter Of Dead Girls” on May 20. The release was remastered by James Plotkin, and it will come with bonus audio, artwork, photos and lyrics. The band are currently streaming “Delusional Supremacy 2K” from the effort, via Noisey, and preorders can be found HERE.

J.R. Hayes said the following:

“‘Painter Of Dead Girls‘ is a record that really benefits from being on vinyl and the crushing new mastering job by James Plotkin makes it sound better than ever. This record combines the two EPs (split with Benumb and split with Gnob) that we released right before Prowler in the Yard.

The material for the Benumb split was written in a couple days and recorded in one quick session the weekend before we recorded Prowler, and once we did that album, we kind of forgot about these two EPs, which is a shame, ’cause I think this might be some of our most vicious stuff. Fast-forward a couple months and somebody smashes my car window and steals my backpack, which contains a bunch of my notebooks. Talk about depressing. I thought the lyrics for the Benumb split were gone, and I never bothered to sit down and try to figure them out again.

Fast-forward a few years and Robotic Empire is compiling Painter of Dead Girls for its original CD release. Andy asks for the lyrics and I’m like [tugging at shirt collar] ‘Uh… about that…’ I mean, it’s one thing to not print the lyrics on purpose, but who doesn’t even know their own lyrics? It was kind of embarrassing. Fast-forward to a couple years ago, and I discover a stash of forgotten notebooks while I’m moving.

Pinned inside one, I find a crumpled sheet that has most of the lyrics for the Benumb split, and this inspires me to actually sit down and figure the rest of them out. Fast-forward to now, and here they are, in print for the first time ever, along with some brand-new artwork from my favorite artist Chris “Crude” Taylor and first-class packaging courtesy of renowned music pimp Andy Low and the Robotic Empire. I can’t wait to hold one of these babies in my grubby hands.

Long live Grind. And Virginia.”

Track Listing:

01. “Hymn”
02. “Task Master”
03. “Black Centipede”
04. “Immune To Life”
05. “Fuck You Up And Get High” (Dwarves cover)
06. “Contagion”
07. “Blank Dice”
08. “Delusional Supremacy 2K”
09. “Blonde Prostitute”
10. “Patterns Of Failure”
11. “Rejection Fetish”
12. “Dark Satellites”
13. “Purity Undone”
14. “Forgotten Child”
15. “White Sand”
16. “Painter Of Dead Girls”
17. “Down In the Streets” (The Stooges cover)
18. “In The Meantime” (Helmet cover)
19. “Rejection Fetish” (live)

Pig Destroyer Announce September 2016 Shows With Secret Cutter

Pig Destroyer have announced a couple of shows with Secret Cutter:

09/09 Philadelphia, PA – Union Transfer
09/10 Ithaca, NY – The Haunt

Pig Destroyer To Release Deluxe Vinyl Editions Of “Terrifyer” & “Phantom Limb”

Pig Destroyer have announced that they will be releasing deluxe versions of “Terrifyer,” and “Phantom Limb” on colored vinyl. They will be available on February 12, with “Terrifyer” containing the following bonus tracks, “Dress In Gasoline,” “The Cutting Room,” “Blurface,” and “Doomspell,” and “Phantom Limb” containing the following bonus tracks: “Abraxas Annihilation,” and “Understand.” Preorders can be found HERE.