Mercury Circle (Swallow The Sun, Ex-Children Of Bodom, Etc.) Premiere “Black Mirrors” Video

Mercury Circle (Swallow The Sun, ex-Children Of Bodom, etc.) have premiered a new video for their new song “Black Mirrors.” This track is from the band’s new album “Killing Moons,” which will be released on October 8.

Jaani Peuhu commented:

“John Dee (13 July 1527 – 1608 or 1609) was an Anglo-Welsh mathematician, astronomer, astrologer, teacher, occultist, and alchemist. He was the court astronomer for, and advisor to, Elizabeth I, and spent much of his time on alchemy, divination and Hermetic philosophy. The lyrics for ‘Black Mirrors’ are a mixture of matters of the heart and occultism. In the beginning we hear a prophecy from Nostradamus before plunging into a dark and delusional world — a place for the abandoned heart, where light is reflected from John Dee’s black mirror. Musically, it’s more in vein of goth rock than doom metal. When writing the song, I envisioned how Queen with a goth rock twist would sound. I’m a fan of big choruses and ’80s goth beats. Add a little bit of spiderwebs and whispers in French and you’re good to go!”

“Killing Moons” Track Listing:

01. “The Gates Wide Open”
02. “Black Mirrors”
03. “You Open Up The Earth”
04. “Killing Moons”
05. “Seven Archangels”
06. “Call On The Dark”
07. “Avalanche”
08. “An Arrow”
09. “Like Matches”
10. “Death Poem”

Mercury Circle (Swallow The Sun, Ex-Children Of Bodom, Etc.) Premiere “You Open Up The Earth” Video

Mercury Circle (Swallow The Sun, ex-Children Of Bodom, etc.) have premiered a new video for their new song “You Open Up The Earth.” This track is from the band’s new album, which is expected to be released in September.

The group commented:

“This song is a reflection of how things take seat in our lives uninvitedly and change our fate forever. Especially during these times of incredible adversity, we hope to give a voice to the feelings those situations elicit while they oftentimes leave us speechless.”

Jaani Peuhu added:

“At a pretty early stage in the writing process, I started feeling that ‘You Open Up The Earth’ had to be the opening single of the album. Not only made the message of the song sense considering the state the world has been in for more than a year now, but it also seemed like a good introduction to the record: combining heavy, dark and melodic elements with a little piece of our unearthly atmosphere and a big chorus. We had more than 20 songs to choose from for the album and most of the tracks were about to be dropped from the record at some point, but this one felt like an important piece of our debut the whole time since I wrote it.”

“There was a funny situation during the recordings of ‘You Open Up The Earth’ when I was working on the string arrangements and realized that we need violins to compliment Teemu Mastovaara’s super-cool cellos. I mentioned it in our band chat, and then our guitar player Jussi casually answered that he could play them… Although he hadn’t played in years, he recorded the most beautiful violin tracks for this special song. My bandmates keep on surprising me with their talent. We have this mentality that everybody can do everything and there are no bad ideas. We try out every idea, and even if it doesn’t work, it might lead us to something that actually does and sounds amazing. We don’t want to play safe. Been there, done that. Never again. Not with this band.”

Jaska Raatikainen (Ex-Children Of Bodom) Joins Mercury Circle

Ex-Children Of Bodom drummer Jaska Raatikainen has officially joined Mercury Circle. That project is led by Swallow The Sun’s Jaani Peuhu and their debut EP “The Dawn Of Vitriol” is available now. Raatikainen commented:

“After hearing the demo tracks from the upcoming debut album, I thought it would be stupid not to join this band. The music was something I hadn’t heard for a long time. Dark, emotional, epic elements and big choruses. I am truly excited for the opportunity to be part of this. I know it is a long way to the top, but with these guys I feel honored and ready to do it again.”