Blood From The Soul (Napalm Death, Etc.) Premiere “Calcified Youth” Video

Blood From The Soul, the project featuring Napalm Death’s Shane Embury, have premiered a new video for their new song “Calcified Youth.” This track is from the band’s new album “DSM-5,” which will be released on November 13. Embury recorded that effort with Jacob Bannon (Converge, Wear Your Wounds), Dirk Verbeuren (Megadeth, Cadaver), and Jesper Liveröd (ex-Nasum).

Napalm Death’s Shane Embury Recruits Megadeth, Converge, Etc. Members For New Blood From The Soul Album

Blood From The Soul, the project featuring Napalm Death’s Shane Embury, will be releasing a new album titled “DSM-5” on November 13. Embury recorded the effort with Jacob Bannon (Converge), Dirk Verbeuren (Megadeth), and Jesper Liveröd (ex-Nasum). The first single, “Debris Of Dreams,” can be streamed below:

“DSM-5” Track Listing:

01. “Fang Tooth Claw”
02. “Ascend The Spine”
03. “Calcified Youth”
04. “Debris Of Dreams”
05. “Dismantle The Titan”
06. “Encephalon Escape”
07. “Subtle Fragment”
08. “Terminal Truth”
09. “Sharpened Heart”
10. “Self Deletion”
11. “Lurch Of Loss”
12. “DSM-5”

Bannon told Forbes the following about the project:

“Shane approached me to work on the project with him, and I’ve known Shane in passing from touring over the last number of years, and we’ve stayed in touch with each other here and there.

But the email kind of came out of the blue, I knew that he was working on bringing the project back to life at some point, and for the last couple of years there were some rumors about other musicians that he was trying to work on it with, so I thought he was already kind of going that route.

So when I heard from him it was surprising and welcoming, and it just sounded like a really fun challenge to be honest.

I’m used to writing material in my other bands that’s rooted in life experience, I’ve never really tried to write anything that hasn’t been ‘non-fiction,’ for lack of a better terminology in terms of lyrics.

This to me was an interesting challenge where I could write from a different perspective, and still put in my own life experiences and attach a variety of different metaphors that relate to today and contemporary society. It was a whole different animal and I was just like “yeah this sounds exciting, I’d love the opportunity and I’d love the challenge.”

So at that point, [Shane] sent me some demos and ideas and he told me who else he’d been talking to about working on the project with, and he already had Dirk [Verbeuren] from Megadeth lined up as the percussionist.

The previous record, [‘To Spite the Gland That Breeds‘], was all drum machine so that was already pretty exciting to me because you have this monster drummer doing this, and I got in touch with Dirk to just get the feel for what everybody was looking for and put the challenge on.”