Dorthia Cottrell (Windhand) To Release New Album “Death Folk Country” In April, Premieres “Family Annihilator” Video

Dorthia Cottrell (Windhand) will be releasing a new album, titled “Death Folk Country,” on April 21. Pre-orders can be found HERE.

“Death Folk Country” Track Listing:

01. “Death Is The Punishment For Love”
02. “Harvester”
03. “Black Canyon”
04. “Family Annihilator”
05. “Effigy At The Gate Of Ur”
06. “Midnight Boy”
07. “Hell In My Water”
08. “Take Up Serpents”
09. “For Alicia”
10. “Eat What I Kill”
11. “Death Is Reward For Love”

Cottrell commented:

“This album to me is about painting a picture of a place where my heart lives. The title ‘Death Folk Country’ is partly me describing a genre that fits the sound – but it’s also meant to be taken as a Naming, a coronation of the world inside me. Death Folk Country is the music and also the land where the music takes place, and the two have always been inextricable from each other.”

A video for the effort’s first single, “Family Annihilator,” can be found below. A press release added the following about that track:

“The album’s lead single “Family Annihilator” directly speaks to the unease and tension of Cottrell‘s surroundings. ‘Porch lights keep the demons at bay,’ she sings over crashing cymbals and a field recording of birds. ‘I had never played it before, I kind of brought it out of the attic,’ Cottrell says of the song.

Despite being over a decade old, ‘Family Annihilator’ spoke to the moment she was in. With the threat of another four years of conservative offices in power, Cottrell thought of family back in the South who would be voting, and remembered something her grandfather, a farmer, had told her years ago: ‘If a crop is diseased, you have to burn the whole crop. ‘Family Annihilator is a result of me wondering if the whole field must burn today, to save the flowers of tomorrow.‘”

Comments are closed.