KEN mode To Release New Album “Null” In September, Premiere “A Love Letter” Video

KEN mode will be releasing a new album, titled “Null,” on September 23. The effort will be the band’s first with Kathryn Kerr as an official member.

“Null” Track Listing:

01. “A Love Letter
02. “Throw Your Phone In The River”
03. “The Tie”
04. “But They Respect My Tactics”
05. “Not My Fault”
06. “Lost Grip”
07. “The Desperate Search For An Enemy”
08. “Unresponsive”

Jesse Matthewson said the following about the album:

“[It’s] a direct psychological reaction to the collective experience of the last two and a half years… a documentation of trying to not fall apart…the album exposes the emotional core of combating mental illness when one’s fine-tuned coping mechanisms have been involuntarily stripped away.

I’ve built my adult life around communities and activities that have both given it meaning and helped me manage my own mental health. In 1999 I didn’t know why I needed to create, I just wanted to. In 2022, it’s one of the only acts I have left that keeps away crippling depression. I need this act to concentrate and neutralize the poison in my brain.

We tried to experiment more with our sound than we ever have before. We felt like there was really no reason to do anything at all unless we were trying to push this into something new.”

He also revealed that the record will be part one of a two-album arc:

“The two album arc was written with the intention of being two separate works that could be coupled together to make one full album with a cohesive flow and feeling, with every song holding a specific place and feeling within the overarching theme.”

A video for the effort’s first single, “A Love Letter,” can be found below. Matthewson added the following about that:

“Sometimes lists of all the things you never said end up getting said in the form of a love letter.”

Comments are closed.